DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240006164 to Takeda in view of US 5897311 to Nishi.
Claims 1-4: Takeda discloses a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a processing container (203/201 reaction tube]/[process chamber], Fig. 1); a substrate holder (217 [boat]) inserted into the processing container (203/201) and configured to hold a plurality of substrates (200 [wafers]) in a plurality of tiers (Fig. 1, para. [0027]); a rotating shaft (255 [rotating shaft]) configured to rotate the substrate holder (217) inside the processing container (203/201, para. [0056]);
a gas supply pipe (249 [nozzles], Fig. 1) configured to supply a processing gas into the processing container (para. [0019]); an exhaust port (231 [exhaust pipe], para. [0052]) configured to evacuate an inside of the processing container (para. [0054]); a pair of electrodes (300 [electrode structure]) arranged outside the processing container (203/201, para. [0029]) and positioned to face each other with respect to a center of the processing container (Fig. 2, para. [0032]); and
a radio-frequency power supply (320 [high frequency power supply], Fig. 2) configured to apply a radio-frequency power to the pair of the electrodes (300, para. [0034]), thereby generating a capacitively-coupled plasma in the processing container (para. [0029]).
However Takeda does not disclose (claim 1) wherein the substrate holder includes a ring plate configured to hold the substrate, and surrounding a radial outer side of the substrate in a plan view; (claim 2) wherein the ring plate is made of an insulating material; (claim 3) wherein a plurality of ring plates is arranged in a height direction; (claim 4) wherein each of the plurality of ring plates has an annular-shaped portion configured to hold the substrate.
Nishi discloses (claim 1) wherein a substrate holder (20 [support boat], Fig. 3) includes a ring plate (48 [ring-shaped support shelves]) configured to hold the substrate (W [wafers]), and surrounding a radial outer side of the substrate in a plan view (Fig. 2); (claim 2) wherein the ring plate (48) is made of an insulating material (c. 5, l. 25-30); (claim 3) wherein a plurality of ring plates (48) is arranged in a height direction (Fig. 3); (claim 4) wherein each of the plurality of ring plates (48) has an annular-shaped portion (60 [stepped mount]) configured to hold the substrate (W). Nishi discloses the above limitations for the purpose of suppressing the faster temperature rise of the peripheral parts of wafers (c. 1, l. 35-41).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Nishi with motivation to suppress the faster temperature rise of the peripheral parts of wafers.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240006164 to Takeda in view of US 6474987 to Nakai.
Claim 1-3, 5: Takeda discloses a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a processing container (203/201 reaction tube]/[process chamber], Fig. 1); a substrate holder (217 [boat]) inserted into the processing container (203/201) and configured to hold a plurality of substrates (200 [wafers]) in a plurality of tiers (Fig. 1, para. [0027]); a rotating shaft (255 [rotating shaft]) configured to rotate the substrate holder (217) inside the processing container (203/201, para. [0056]);
a gas supply pipe (249 [nozzles], Fig. 1) configured to supply a processing gas into the processing container (para. [0019]); an exhaust port (231 [exhaust pipe], para. [0052]) configured to evacuate an inside of the processing container (para. [0054]); a pair of electrodes (300 [electrode structure]) arranged outside the processing container (203/201, para. [0029]) and positioned to face each other with respect to a center of the processing container (Fig. 2, para. [0032]); and
a radio-frequency power supply (320 [high frequency power supply], Fig. 2) configured to apply a radio-frequency power to the pair of the electrodes (300, para. [0034]), thereby generating a capacitively-coupled plasma in the processing container (para. [0029]).
However Takeda does not disclose (claim 1) wherein the substrate holder includes a ring plate configured to hold the substrate, and surrounding a radial outer side of the substrate in a plan view; (claim 2) wherein the ring plate is made of an insulating material; (claim 3) wherein a plurality of ring plates is arranged in a height direction; (claim 5) wherein the ring plate includes: an annular-shaped portion configured to hold the substrate; and a vertical wall portion provided on an upper surface of the annular-shaped portion.
Nakai discloses (claim 1) wherein a substrate holder (12/13, Fig. 5) includes a ring plate (13 [wafer holders]) configured to hold the substrate (27 [wafer]), and surrounding a radial outer side of the substrate in a plan view (Fig. 5, 7); (claim 2) wherein the ring plate (13) is made of an insulating material (c. 6, l. 15-22); (claim 3) wherein a plurality of ring plates (13) is arranged in a height direction (Fig. 5); (claim 5) wherein the ring plate (13) includes: an annular-shaped portion (24/31 [projections]/[concave ring]) configured to hold the substrate (27); and a vertical wall portion (26 [upwardly projecting convex ring]) provided on an upper surface of the annular-shaped portion (24/31). Nakai discloses the above limitations for the purpose of preventing deviation from a relevant predetermined position from having wafers of different diameters assuredly held be the same holder (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Nakai with motivation to prevent deviation from a relevant predetermined position from having wafers of different diameters assuredly held be the same holder.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240006164 to Takeda in view of US 5743967 to Kobori, and further in view of US 5897311 to Nishi.
Claims 1-3, 6-7: Takeda discloses a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a processing container (203/201 reaction tube]/[process chamber], Fig. 1); a substrate holder (217 [boat]) inserted into the processing container (203/201) and configured to hold a plurality of substrates (200 [wafers]) in a plurality of tiers (Fig. 1, para. [0027]); a rotating shaft (255 [rotating shaft]) configured to rotate the substrate holder (217) inside the processing container (203/201, para. [0056]);
a gas supply pipe (249 [nozzles], Fig. 1) configured to supply a processing gas into the processing container (para. [0019]); an exhaust port (231 [exhaust pipe], para. [0052]) configured to evacuate an inside of the processing container (para. [0054]); a pair of electrodes (300 [electrode structure]) arranged outside the processing container (203/201, para. [0029]) and positioned to face each other with respect to a center of the processing container (Fig. 2, para. [0032]); and
a radio-frequency power supply (320 [high frequency power supply], Fig. 2) configured to apply a radio-frequency power to the pair of the electrodes (300, para. [0034]), thereby generating a capacitively-coupled plasma in the processing container (para. [0029]).
However Takeda does not disclose (claim 1) wherein the substrate holder includes a ring plate configured to hold the substrate, and surrounding a radial outer side of the substrate in a plan view; (claim 2) wherein the ring plate is made of an insulating material; (claim 3) wherein a plurality of ring plates is arranged in a height direction; (claim 6) wherein the ring plate includes: a plurality of first ring plates each configured to hold the substrate; and a plurality of second ring plates each positioned between the first ring plates adjacent to each other in the height direction; (claim 7) wherein, when viewed from one electrode toward a remaining electrode, an opening height above the second ring plate is greater than an opening height below the second ring plate.
Kobori discloses (claim 1) wherein a substrate holder (103 [boats], Fig. 1) includes a plate (trays for 101 [substrates], and 102 [corrective frames], c. 2, l. 60-64) configured to hold the substrate (101); (claim 3) wherein a plurality of plates (trays for 101, and 102) is arranged in a height direction (Fig. 1-4); (claim 6) wherein the plate (trays for 101, and 102) includes: a plurality of first plates (trays for 101) each configured to hold the substrate (101); and a plurality of second ring plates (102) each positioned between the first ring plates (trays for 101) adjacent to each other in the height direction (Fig. 1);
(claim 7) wherein, when viewed from one heat component (204, Fig. 2) toward a remaining heat component (204), an opening height above the second ring plate (102) is greater than an opening height below the second ring plate (c. 3, l. 64-67—c. 4, l. 1-5). Kobori discloses the above limitations for the purpose of permitting substrate spacing to be reduced thus enhancing the throughput (c. 4, l. 3-6) and/or growth of films having uniform film thickness distribution can be conducted with high productivity (c. 3, l. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Kobori with motivation to permit substrate spacing to be reduced thus enhancing the throughput and/or growth of films having uniform film thickness distribution can be conducted with high productivity.
However Kobori does not disclose (claims 1, 6) details about the trays to be first ring plates, and surrounding a radial outer side of the substrate in a plan view; (claim 2) wherein the ring plate is made of an insulating material.
Nishi discloses (claim 1) wherein a substrate holder (20 [support boat], Fig. 3) includes a first ring plate (48 [ring-shaped support shelves]) configured to hold the substrate (W [wafers]), and surrounding a radial outer side of the substrate in a plan view (Fig. 2); (claim 2) wherein the ring plate (48) is made of an insulating material (c. 5, l. 25-30); for the purpose of suppressing the faster temperature rise of the peripheral parts of wafers (c. 1, l. 35-41).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Nishi with motivation to suppress the faster temperature rise of the peripheral parts of wafers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20250149292 discloses a similar invention with same filing date with narrower claims, drawn to ribs (220, Fig. 9) on an inner tube (200, para. [0078]).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718