Claim Interpretation
Patentable weight is given to data stored on a computer-readable medium when there exists a functional relationship between the data and its associated substrate. MPEP 2111.05 III. For example, if a claim is drawn to a computer-readable medium containing programming, a functional relationship exists if the programming “performs some function with respect to the computer with which it is associated.” Id. However, if the claim recites that the computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists and the information or data is not given patentable weight. Id.
Claims 17-20 are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a data stream which is to be used in reconstructing chroma samples according to the results of analysis steps outlined in the claim. These steps are not performed by an intended computer, and the bitstream is not a form of programming that causes functions to be performed by an intended computer. This shows that the computer-readable medium merely serves as support for the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the steps/elements that describe the generation of the bitstream and intended computer system. Therefore, those claim elements are not given patentable weight.
Additionally, the computer readable medium does not include an instruction to execute the decoding process by a computer. The limitations detailing how the stored data stream is to be analyzed is not positively recited and is considered intended use (MPEP 2111.02). Therefore, the limitation the limitations directed to intended use are not given patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bossen (US 20220360774 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Bossen discloses interface 108 may include a computer system interface that may enable a compliant video bitstream to be stored on a storage device (Bossen: paragraph [0322]).
Regarding claim 18, Bossen discloses interface 108 may include a computer system interface that may enable a compliant video bitstream to be stored on a storage device (Bossen: paragraph [0322]).
Regarding claim 19, Bossen discloses interface 108 may include a computer system interface that may enable a compliant video bitstream to be stored on a storage device (Bossen: paragraph [0322]).
Regarding claim 20, Bossen discloses interface 108 may include a computer system interface that may enable a compliant video bitstream to be stored on a storage device (Bossen: paragraph [0322]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 and 8-16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record fails to teach the decoding method of independent claim 1, the encoding method of independent claim 4, the decoding apparatus of independent claim 8, and the encoding apparatus of independent claim 11.
The prior art is particularly deficient regarding the specifically outlined analysis of image characteristics and coding conditions to determine whether or not to apply PDPC to prediction samples.
Claims 2-3, 5-7, 9-10, and 12-16 are dependent upon claims 1, 4, 8, and 11, and therefore are also allowed.
Contact
/CHRISTOPHER G FINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482