DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/19/2025 and 01/30/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,704. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application recites similar limitations as the issued patent. In other words, the current application wrote the claim limitations as a device claims instead of method claims as recited in the issued patent. The features of the current application and the issued patent are similar and obvious variant from each other.
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,605,427. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application recites similar limitations as the issued patent. In other words, the current application is broader than the issued patent.
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,742,021. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application recites similar limitations as the issued patent. In other words, the current application is broader than the issued patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2012/0106242 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches a memory device, comprising:
a memory cell array comprising a plurality of memory cells (Fig. 1, memory array 500);
a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the memory cell array (Fig. 1, Temperature detection block 100, detects the temperature of the memory device and determines a target write pulse width based on the detected temperature);
a controller coupled to the temperature sensor and configured to determine a target write pulse width based on the detected temperature of the memory cell array (Fig. 1, control block 200, will determine a target write pulse width based on the detected temperatures)
a pulse generator circuit coupled to the controller and configured to generate a write pulse having the target write pulse width (Fig. 1, write driver 300 configured to generate a write pulse having the target write pulse width); and
a write circuit coupled to the pulse generator and configured to write data into the plurality of memory cells using the write pulse (Fig. 1, switching circuit 400 write the data into the memory cells).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the memory device of claim 2, wherein the temperature of the memory cell array is the temperature of the memory device (Temperature detection block 100, detects temperature of the memory device).
Regarding claim 4, Lee further teaches the memory device of claim 2, wherein the memory cell array includes one of: ferroelectric random access memories (FRAMs), magnetic random access memories (MRAMs), resistive random access memories (RRAMs), and phase-change memories (PCMs) (Fig. 1, variable resistor random access memory 500).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Muchherla et al. (US 2016/0117216 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Lee further teaches the memory device of claim 2, wherein to determine the target write pulse width based on the detected temperature of the memory device (Fig. 1).
Lee does not explicitly teach a table to store the temperature and their corresponding pulse width. However, It is well-known in the art to use table to store information for the operation ranges and settings to operate the memory device. To expedite the prosecution of the current case, Muchherla is used to teach lookup table to store operation information such as temperature and their corresponding settings to write data into the memory device (Fig. 1. Write Temperature Information 118).
Regarding claim 6, Muchherla further teaches the memory device of claim 5, wherein to determine the target write pulse width based on the detected temperature of the memory device, the controller is configured to identify the temperature of the memory array in the temperature dependent table (Fig. 1, Write Temperature Information 118).
Regarding claim 7, Lee further teaches the memory device of claim 6, wherein to determine the target write pulse width based on the detected temperature of the memory device, the controller is configured to identify the target write pulse width associated with the temperature of the memory array (¶0030).
Regarding claim 8, Lee further teaches the memory device of claim 5, wherein the temperature dependent tables generated in an initial testing procedure (¶0071).
Regarding claim 9, Lee further teaches the memory device of claim 5, wherein the temperature dependent table is written into a storage area of the memory device (Fig. 1, lookup table stored in memory device 112-1).
Regarding claim 10, Lee further teaches the memory device of claim 5, wherein the temperature dependent table includes a plurality of temperature dependent tables corresponding to a plurality of applications (¶0073).
Conclusion
/Khamdan N. Alrobaie/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824