DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 depends on claim 1. In claim 1, the applicants recite “wherein a first sidewall of the first mask layer defining the first opening is aligned with a second sidewall of the second mask layer defining the second opening” (emphasis added). The examiner interprets the term “aligned” means to arrange in a straight line; adjust according to a line (See https://www.dictionary.com/browse/align ). Therefore, the previous limitation means that the first sidewall of the first mask layer and a second sidewall of the second mask layer are arranged in a straight line (i.e. no spacing between the first sidewall and the second sidewall; See Figure 5 of current application). However, in claim 3, the applicants provide a new contradicted limitation “the first sidewall of the first mask layer and the second sidewall of the second mask layer are spaced apart from each other in a plan view, and a distance between the first sidewall and the second sidewall is constant.” (See Fig 6). It is not possible to satisfied both limitations “wherein a first sidewall of the first mask layer defining the first opening is aligned with a second sidewall of the second mask layer defining the second opening” (claim 1) and “the first sidewall of the first mask layer and the second sidewall of the second mask layer are spaced apart from each other in a plan view, and a distance between the first sidewall and the second sidewall is constant” (claim 3) in the same embodiment. Specifically, it is not possible for an embodiment of claim 1 as shown Figure 5 (i.e. no spacing apart between the first sidewall and the second sidewall) and an embodiment of claim 3 as shown in Figure 6 (i.e. spacing between the first sidewall and the second sidewall) to be true in the same single embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 2017/0110366 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 2016/0154306 A1).
Note:
As to claim 1, Lu discloses a mask comprising:
a first mask layer (108) through which a first opening is defined, the first mask layer comprising a
a second mask layer (110) which contacts a surface of the first mask layer and through which a second opening is defined (Fig 17, paragraph 0073-0074)
wherein a first sidewall of the first mask layer defining the first opening is aligned with a second sidewall of the second mask layer defining the second opening (fig 17).
As to claim 1, Lu fails to disclose the first mask layer (108) comprises a polymer material. However, Lu clearly discloses the first mask layer comprises resist material or photoresist material (paragraph 0035-0041). Park discloses the photoresist material comprises polymer material (abstract, paragraph 0006-0014). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lu in view of Park by using polymer material for the resist material because equivalent and substitution of one for the other would produce an expected result (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
As to claim 2, Lu discloses the first sidewall of the first mask layer (108) and the second sidewall of the second mask layer (111) are consecutively connected to each other and define a sidewall (See Fig 17).
As to claim 3, Lu discloses the first sidewall of the first mask layer (108) and the second sidewall of the second mask layer (110) are spaced apart from each other in a plan view, and a distance between the first sidewall and the second sidewall is constant (See Fig 14-15).
Conclusion
BINH X. TRAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713