DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-7 are pending and presented for examination.
Claim Objections
1. Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 7, “wherein A” should correctly be “wherein a”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the metal". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no earlier recitation in parent claim 1 of “a metal”. Therefore, claim 3 is indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim has been interpreted as “wherein at least one area of the two or more areas has a surface made of metal and the metal is copper, cobalt, or ruthenium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Abys et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2010/0151263).
Regarding claims 1-7, Abys teaches a method for treating a surface (abstract) comprising: exposing the surface to a treatment agent (0143) comprising water as a solvent (Table 2), 1.2 wt% octylphosphonic acid (which is a compound having the formula (P-1) where R1 is a C8 alkyl and R2 and R3 are hydrogens), see Composition 1, Table 2, and 0.8 wt% of 1-octadecathiol (which is a compound having formula (S-1) where R is a linear alkyl chain having 18 carbon atoms), see Composition 1, Table 2). Abys teaches the surface comprising two or more adjacent areas which are different from each other and one surface is copper (0142 and see Figure 5, showing adjacent areas of copper and nickel), and the adjacent areas have different contact angles based on reaction with the compounds in the surface treatment agent (see Figure 5 and note that the reaction of the components of the surface treatment agent interact differently with the surfaces as shown by the different components on each surface in the Figure and will inherently yield different contact angles). Abys teaches all the critical limitations of claims 1-7; therefore, Abys anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashemi et al. (“A New Resist for Area Selective Atomic and Molecular Layer Deposition on Metal-Dielectric Patterns”) in view of Abys.
Regarding claims 1-7, Hashemi teaches a method for treating a surface (abstract) comprising: exposing the surface to a treatment agent comprising solvent and octadecylphosphonic acid (which is a compound having the formula (P-1) where R1 is a C18 alkyl and R2 and R3 are hydrogens), see Experimental Methods section, page 10958. Hashemi teaches the surface comprising two or more adjacent areas which are different from each other and one surface is copper (see Figure 5, showing adjacent areas of copper and silica), and the adjacent areas have different contact angles based on reaction with the compound in the surface treatment agent (1st paragraph of Results and Discussion section). Hashemi further teaches the octadecylphosphonic acid present in the treatment agent in the range as claimed in claim 7 (Experimental Methods section, page 10958, and note that a 1 mM solution in t-butanol is 0.043 wt%). Hashemi fails to teach the surface treatment agent additionally comprising a thiol compound (S) as claimed.
However, Abys teaches a surface treatment agent for a copper surface (abstract) that comprises a phosphorous oxide compound, such as a phosphonic acid (abstract) and including a thiol having the formula (S-1) (0071), such as 1-octanethiol (0072, and note this has a R group which is a linear alkyl having 8 carbon atoms). Further, Abys teaches the thiol compound present in the treatment agent composition in an amount of 0.1-1 wt% (0077). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hashemi’s process by including a thiol compound, such as 1-octanethiol, in an amount of 0.1-1 wt% in Hashemi’s treatment composition including a phosphonic acid. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Abys teaches the inclusion of the thiol compound enhances the effectiveness of the protective film of the phosphorous compound by making it more hydrophobic and more capable of repelling water and environmental humidity (0070).
Conclusion
Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claims 1-7 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
January 23, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717