DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1, 3, 6 and 7 are pending and presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 6 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s previous arguments with respect to unexpected results is not persuasive as the evidence is not commensurate in scope with the claims. In particular, Applicant’s evidence does not provide support for unexpected results for the entire scope of thiols that are encompassed by the formula (S-1). Therefore, the rejections over Hashemi in view of Abys are maintained as presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1, 3, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashemi et al. (“A New Resist for Area Selective Atomic and Molecular Layer Deposition on Metal-Dielectric Patterns”) in view of Abys et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2010/0151263).
Regarding claims 1-7, Hashemi teaches a method for treating a surface (abstract) comprising: exposing the surface to a treatment agent comprising solvent and octadecylphosphonic acid, see Experimental Methods section, page 10958. Hashemi teaches the surface comprising two or more adjacent areas which are different from each other and one surface is copper and the other silica (see Figure 5, showing adjacent areas of copper and silica), and the adjacent areas have different contact angles based on reaction with the compound in the surface treatment agent (1st paragraph of Results and Discussion section). Hashemi further teaches the octadecylphosphonic acid present in the treatment agent in the range as claimed in claim 7 (Experimental Methods section, page 10958, and note that a 1 mM solution in t-butanol is 0.043 wt%). Hashemi fails to teach the surface treatment agent additionally comprising a thiol compound (S) as claimed.
However, Abys teaches a surface treatment agent for a copper surface (abstract) that comprises a phosphorous oxide compound, such as a phosphonic acid (abstract) and including a thiol having the formula (S-1) (0071), such as 1-octanethiol (0072, and note this has a R group which is a linear alkyl having 8 carbon atoms). Further, Abys teaches the thiol compound present in the treatment agent composition in an amount of 0.1-1 wt% (0077). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hashemi’s process by including a thiol compound, such as 1-octanethiol, in an amount of 0.1-1 wt% in Hashemi’s treatment composition including a phosphonic acid. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Abys teaches the inclusion of the thiol compound enhances the effectiveness of the protective film of the phosphorous compound by making it more hydrophobic and more capable of repelling water and environmental humidity (0070).
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3, 6 and 7 are pending.
Claims 1, 3, 6 and 7 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
August 20, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717