Claims1 to 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 to 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,195,871. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the sole difference between the instant claims and the patented claims is the addition charges of the dopant. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims and use only one dopant charge as is now claimed growing a set dopant level in the silicon.
Claim(s) 1, and 8 to 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haringer (2019/0345629) in view of Chu et al (11,982,019).
The Haringer et al reference teaches a method of growing a doped silicon ingot, note entire reference. The silicon ingot is grown in an ingot pulling apparatus including an inner chamber, a crucible disposed within the inner chamber, a heat source, and a feed tube having an open end, note figure 1. The method includes adding polycrystalline silicon to the crucible and heating to form a silicon melt from the polycrystalline silicon in the crucible para 0003. Then growing a single crystal silicon ingot from the melt by contacting the melt with a seed crystal and pulling the seed crystal up from the melt to grow the single crystal silicon ingot, para 0016. The single crystal silicon ingot having a neck region, a shoulder region, and a body region. Further, the reference teaches adding a charge of a volatile dopant into the feed tube, para 0017. Then positioning the feed tube within the inner chamber such that the open end of the feed tube has a first height relative to a surface of the melt. The height of the feed tube can then be change or adjusted as needed, note para 0020. The dopant is heated by the heat source and radiant heat from the surface of the melt, note para 0017. The dopant species is flowed into the melt while growing the body region of the single crystal silicon ingot by contacting the surface of the melt with the gaseous dopant para 0017. The vaporization rate is controlled such that the dopant species are introduced at a rate sufficient to maintain a resistivity of the body region over an axial length of the body region ,note para 0010 and 0011. The differences between the instant claim and the prior art is the use of a capsule for the dopant and the second height of the feed tube. However, the Chu et al reference teaches a gaseous dopant feeder for czochralski methods of silicon, using a capsule in the feed tube near the melt for the solid dopant, note figure 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Haringer reference by the teachings of the Chu et al reference to use a capsule for the dopant feed in order to increase control over the dopant heating and feed rates.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable feed tube second position, and further the dopant feed rate in the Haringer reference as the reference does teach moving the feed tube for the dopant as needed and that such does materially affect the dopant feed rate ,note para 0020.
With respect to claim 8, the Haringer reference teaches using inert gases in the inner chamber, note, para 0016.
With respect to claim 9, the Haringer reference teaches adding solid dopants, note figures.
With respect to claim 10, the Haringer reference teaches n-type dopants, para. 0007
Claim(s) 2 to 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haringer (2019/0345629) in view of Chu et al (11,982,019).
The Haringer and Chu et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claims in the control of the dopant amount in the growing silicon maintaining a unform resistivity. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable dopant gas flow in the combined references in order to grow a uniformly doped silicon crystal, includes uniform resistivity.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haringer (2019/0345629) in view of Chu et al (11,982,019) and Luter (2020/0407869).
The Haringer and Chu et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claims in the specific dopant. However, the Luter reference teaches adding boric acid a n type dopant in solid form to silicon, note figure 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Haringer reference by the teachings of Luter reference to add boric acid in order to create the desired resistivity type in the silicon acid.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haringer (2019/0345629) in view of Chu et al (11,982,019) and Luter (2020/0407869).
The Haringer and Chu et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in the heat shield. However, the Luter reference teaches adding boric acid to a silicon growing ingot which is surrounded by a heat shield and the feed tube opening is between the heat shield and ingot, note para 0038. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Haringer reference by the teachings of Luter reference to add a heat shield in order to control the cooling of the ingot.
With regards to claim 14, the Luter reference teaches the placement of the heat shield, feed tubes and ingot, note figure 1.
Claim(s) 15 to 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haringer (2019/0345629) in view of Chu et al (11,982,019) and Luter (2020/0407869).
The Haringer, Luter and Chu et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claims in the timing of the movement of the feed tube. However, the Luter reference teaches adding boric acid a n type dopant in solid form to silicon, note figure 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable feed tube second position, and further the dopant feed rate in the Haringer reference as the reference does teach moving the feed tube for the dopant as needed and that such does materially affect the dopant feed rate ,note para 0020.
Examiner’s Remarks
The remaining references are merely cite of interest as showing the state of the art in silicon growth by the czochralski method.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714