DETAILED ACTION
Claims pending: 1-2,4-30
Claims under consideration: 1-2,4-30
Priority
This application has a filing date of 11/07/2024 and is a CON of 18/388,735 11/10/2023
18/388,735 is a CON of 18/172,091 02/21/2023 ABN
18/172,091 is a CON of 17/852,994 06/29/2022 ABN
17/852,994 is a CON of 16/717,375 12/17/2019 PAT 11414688
16/717,375 is a CON of 16/228,362 12/20/2018 PAT 10557158
16/228,362 is a CON of 14/990,276 01/07/2016 PAT 10221436
14/990,276 has PRO 62/262,769 12/03/2015
14/990,276 has PRO 62/102,420 01/12/2015
Withdrawn Objection(s) and/or Rejection(s)
All rejections from the previous action are hereby withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
New Claim Rejection(s) – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6,9-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This rejection concerns new matter.
Claim 1 has been amended to add the limitation of a peptide nucleic acid (PNA) or a locked nucleic acid (LNA) nucleotide as an extension terminator, the present response proffering support therefor may be found at paragraphs [0120], [0289] and [0295] of the application as filed.
In reviewing such passages, however the examiner only finds description of PNAs or LNAs in primers (that are NOT terminated but rather extended).
The response does not point to where such material is disclosed in the priority documents. And accordingly, the original specification does not provide implicit or explicit description for such aforementioned changes that introduce new material.
Applicants are reminded that it is their burden to show where the specification supports any amendments to the disclosure. See MPEP 714.02, paragraph 5, last sentence and also MPEP 2163.06 I.
MPEP 2163.06 notes “If new matter is added to the claims, the examiner should reject the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph - written description requirement. In re Rasmussen, 650 F.2d 1212, 211 USPQ 323 (CCPA 1981).” MPEP 2163.02 teaches that “Whenever the issue arises, the fundamental factual inquiry is whether a claim defines an invention that is clearly conveyed to those skilled in the art at the time the application was filed...If a claim is amended to include subject matter, limitations, or terminology not present in the application as filed, involving a departure from, addition to, or deletion from the disclosure of the application as filed, the examiner should conclude that the claimed subject matter is not described in that application. MPEP 2163.06 further notes “When an amendment is filed in reply to an objection or rejection based on 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, a study of the entire application is often necessary to determine whether or not “new matter” is involved. Applicant should therefore specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,4-6,9-11,14-16,19-28,30 and 7,8,29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (US AppPub 20160369334; of record) in view of Guo et al (2008 PNAS 105:9145-50; provided previously)
Zhou et al teach throughout the document and especially the abstract, long DNA sequencing. More particularly at paragraph 0210, 0211-0212 describing figures 1 and 2 taken with paragraphs 0227,0230,0007,0113,0107,0109,0150,0081 Zhou et al: provide a template nucleic acid molecule like gDNA or cDNA, dNTPs, a random hexamer primer, amplifying with a polymerase (e.g. Taq for 30 thermal cycles or phi29 DNA polymerase which has strand displacement and 3' to 5' proofreading activities), an extension terminator (optionally chemically reversible), and an oligonucleotide barcode molecule optionally with a functional sequence (e.g. 15 nucleotide primer) and thereby subjects the template nucleic acid molecule to a nucleic acid extension reaction under conditions sufficient to yield an extended nucleic acid fragment and render the extended nucleic acid fragment unextendible via terminator nucleotides; and after that, use the oligonucleotide barcode molecule and the terminated extended nucleic acid fragment to generate a barcoded nucleic acid molecule with an ATP independent enzyme such as a T4 DNA ligase and finally sequencing. In the passages, Zhou et al teach such reactions may be performed isothermally, in microwell arrays, on polystyrene beads with the aid of biotin-streptavidin chemistry, in emulsions, etc. The foregoing reads on claims 1 (in part),2,4,5,6 9,10,11,14,15,16,19,20, necessarily on claim 21 and claims 22,23,24,25, 26,27,28,30.
Zhou et al do not explicitly teach: dideoxynucleotide nor blocker oligonucleotide extension terminators as set forth in claims 1c,7,8; nor performing a releasing operation to remove a blocking group from an extension terminator derivative, wherein the releasing operation comprises applying a chemical stimulus to the extension terminator derivative of claim 29.
Guo et al teach throughout the document and especially the abstract, figures 5,2 & 1 and the Materials and Methods section, sequencing-by-synthesis with dideoxynucleotide and blocker oligonucleotide extension terminators (prepared in situ) as set forth in claims 1c,7,8 as well as performing a releasing operation to remove a blocking group from an extension terminator derivative, wherein the releasing operation comprises applying a chemical stimulus to the extension terminator derivative like claim 29.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed long nucleic acid sequencing as in Zhou et al with the sequencing-by-synthesis approach of Guo et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have performed long nucleic acid sequencing as in Zhou et al with the sequencing-by-synthesis approach of Guo et al and had reasonable expectation of success in doing so since Zhou et al expressly suggest in paragraph 0237 and again paragraph 0227 that the approach is well suited therefor as well as its commercially availability.
Claims 1,4-6,9-11,14-16,19-28,30 and 7,8,29 and 12-13,17,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (US AppPub 20160369334; of record) in view of Guo et al (2008 PNAS 105:9145-50; provided previously) and further in view of Hindson et al (US AppPub 20140155295 – IDS entry 1/17/2025; of record) as evidenced by US AppPub 20170253923; of record; referred to again hereafter as '923)
Zhou et al in view of Guo et al is relied on as above. And, concerning claims 17 and 18, as interpreted in MPEP 2144.05, the courts have held substituting art-recognized equivalents for the same purpose is obvious. Here, as evidenced by '923 paragraph 0194, topoisomerases and 5' App DNA/RNA ligase each constitute an art-recognized equivalents for the same purpose of modifying a 3' end of RNA as Zhou's T4 DNA ligase.
Zhou et al in view of Guo et al do not teach chemically reducible disulfide cross-linkers such as recited in claims 12-13, however.
Hindson et al teach throughout the document and especially at least paragraphs 0005,0008 and 0115, gel beads degradable with chemically reducible disulfide crosslinkers such as set forth in claims 12-13.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized Hindson's gel beads to have prepared nucleic acids for sequencing as in Zhou et al in view of Guo et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have utilized Hindson's gel beads to have prepared nucleic acids for sequencing as in Zhou et al in view of Guo et al and had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so for the convenience of facilely removing bead polymers without extra physical manipulation(s) and Hindson et al expressly stating in the abstract that the invention therein described is, in fact, satisfies just such needs.
/CHRISTOPHER M GROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684