DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the vertically extending electrically conductive through connection" on lines 18 – 19 (on lines 5 – 6, previous recitation in the plurality). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the vertically extending electrically conductive through connection" on lines 18 – 19 (on lines 5 – 6, previous recitation in the plurality). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukasawa et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0293535).
Regarding claim 1, in Figure 1A, Fukasawa discloses a component carrier, comprising: a stack (1) comprising a plurality of layers with an electrically conductive layer structure (12, 13, 31, 32) and an electrically insulating layer structure (11, 21, 22) arranged one on top of the other; and at least one interposer (100), having a plurality of vertically extending electrically conductive through connections (120, Figure 1B), for establishing an electrically conductive connection between a lower side and an upper side of the interposer, and being embedded in the electrically insulating layer structure of the stack (Figure 1A); wherein the at least one interposer is configured to provide a bridge function in a vertical and/or horizontal plane (Figure 1A); and wherein the component carrier further comprises at least one of the following features: electrically conductive structures (61, 62) in the stack laterally on both sides of the at least one interposer; the at least one interposer has at least one horizontally extending trace (41, 42, Figures 4A and 4B), configured for establishing an electrically conductive connection with at least a part of the vertically extending electrically conductive through connection (paragraph [0069]).
Regarding claim 2, Fukasawa discloses wherein the at least one interposer is embedded in the stack (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 3, Fukasawa discloses wherein the at least one interposer is configured to bridge a component with respect to another component mounted on the component carrier (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 4, Fukasawa discloses wherein at least one horizontally extending trace is electrically decoupled from at least a part of the vertically extending electrically conductive through connection (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 5, Fukasawa discloses wherein the at least one interposer comprises glass (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 6, Fukasawa discloses protruding bumps, wherein the protruding bumps extend from the vertically extending electrically conductive through connection to at least one main surface of the stack and are flush with the at least one main surface of the stack (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 7, Fukasawa discloses wherein the protruding bumps are configured as copper pillars (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 8, Fukasawa discloses wherein the protruding bumps are included in the interposer as vertically extending conductive via connections for interconnection (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 9, Fukasawa discloses wherein a low current power supply through the component carrier directly passes to the interposer (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 10, Fukasawa discloses wherein the connection of the vertically extending electrically conductive through connection and the electrically conductive layer structure enables signal transmission directly from the component carrier to the interposer (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 11, Fukasawa discloses configured so that the interposer is free of a high current power supply; and/or wherein the high current power supply is through the component carrier directly to the at least one component and not through the interposer (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 12, Fukasawa discloses at least one stack-mounted component mounted on the stack, the stack-mounted component electrically connected with the interposer (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 13, Fukasawa discloses wherein a signal transmission from the interposer to the one or more stack-mounted component is via a direct pathway (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 14, Fukasawa discloses wherein a cavity is formed between one stack-mounted component and the stack, wherein another stack-mounted component mounted on the stack is accommodated in the cavity (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 15, Fukasawa discloses an encapsulation structure on the stack in which the at least one stack-mounted component is encapsulated, wherein the encapsulation structure is molded (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 16, Fukasawa discloses an encapsulation structure on the stack in which at least one stack-mounted component is encapsulated, and wherein the encapsulation structure is formed by lamination (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 17, Fukasawa discloses a first redistribution structure formed on one side of the stack and electrically connected with the interposer (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 18, Fukasawa discloses a second redistribution structure formed on an opposing other side of the stack and electrically connected with the interposer (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 19, in Figure 1A, Fukasawa discloses a method of manufacturing a component carrier, the method comprising: providing a stack (1) comprising a plurality of layers with an electrically conductive layer structure (12, 13, 31, 32) and an electrically insulating layer structure (11, 21, 22) arranged one on top of the other; embedding at least one interposer (100), having a plurality of vertically extending electrically conductive through connections (120, Figure 1B) for establishing an electrically conductive connection between a lower side and an upper side of the interposer, in the electrically insulating layer structure of the stack; wherein the at least one interposer is configured to provide a bridge function in a vertical and/or horizontal plane (Figure 1A); and wherein the component carrier further comprises at least one of the following features: electrically conductive structures (61, 62) in the stack laterally on both sides of the at least one interposer; the at least one interposer has at least one horizontally extending trace (41, 42, Figures 4A and 4B), configured for establishing an electrically conductive connection with at least a part of the vertically extending electrically conductive through connection (paragraph [0069]).
Conclusion
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847