CTNF 18/943,763 CTNF 88361 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Election/Restrictions 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I (Claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 4/21/2026 is acknowledged. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. 07-30-07 This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “automatic condition-based lens cleaning system” in Claims 1-14, “lens cleaning device” in Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 13, and 14, “machine controller” in Claims 2 and 11, and “work machine” in Claims 10-14. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kline et al. US 2019/0322245 (hereafter Kline et al.) in view of Jones et al. US 11,661,038 (hereafter Jones et al.) . Regarding Claim 1, Kline et al. teaches: 1. An automatic condition-based lens cleaning system (vehicle sensor cleaning system 100), comprising: a camera (external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]) mounted on a loader (vehicle, see discussion below) and including a camera lens (lens of external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]); a temperature sensor (cleaning sensor 108 or external sensor 130 which is a temperature sensor, Paragraph [0021]) associated with the camera and configured to obtain temperature information (ambient temperature, Paragraph [0021]); a lens cleaning device (air blow off or wiper blades, Paragraph [0066]) coupled to the camera; and a controller (processor 104) configured to: determine, based on the temperature information, whether an environmental temperature (ambient temperature) satisfies a temperature threshold that is associated with a high temperature application (above 32 degrees, Paragraph [0022]); and actuate the lens cleaning (initiate cleaning cycle which includes air blow off or wiping of lens) to clean the camera lens based on determining that the environmental temperature satisfies the temperature threshold (Paragraph [0070]). Kline et al. discloses a device that can be installed in a vehicle. Figure 4 shows what appears to be an SUV, however, the device is not uniquely configured for any specific vehicle. The reference Jones et al. discloses a work machine with a work implement that is a loader that includes a camera with a camera cleaning system. Therefore, it would have been to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to install the device on any desired vehicle, such as a loader as taught by Jones et al. with the motivation to ensure that the vehicle has cameras that remains functional in poor environmental conditions to ensure safe loader operation. Regarding Claim 2, Kline et al. teaches: 2. The automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 1, wherein the controller (processor 104) is further configured to: determine, based on operating information (vehicle speed) from a machine controller associated with the loader (Paragraph [0062]), whether the loader is engaged in a particular activity that is consistent with the high temperature application (traveling while temperature is above 32 degrees); and actuate the lens cleaning device (initiate cleaning cycle which includes air blow off or wiping of lens) based on determining that the loader is engaged in the particular activity (performing cleaning cycle at pressure/duration consistent with vehicle speed, Paragraph [0062])(Claim 11). Regarding Claim 3, Kline et al. teaches: 3. The automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 2, wherein the particular activity (traveling at sensed speed, Paragraph [0062]) includes at least one of digging, loading, or roading (roading). Regarding Claim 4, Kline et al. teaches: 4. The automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 1, further comprising a light sensor (sensor that determines external, or ambient light levels, Paragraph [0061] and step 1036 in Figure 6A) associated with the camera (external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]) and configured to obtain light information, wherein the controller is further configured to: determine, based on the light information, whether an environmental lighting satisfies a lighting threshold that is associated with the high temperature application (determines one or more operational thresholds based on one or more of: external, or ambient, lighting levels, Paragraph [0061]); and actuate the lens cleaning device (initiate cleaning cycle which includes air blow off or wiping of lens) based on determining that the environmental lighting satisfies the lighting threshold (the system may compare light intensity/brightness from light sensors to determine an intensity step change. If the change meets or exceeds a threshold, the system may allow for a cleaning event, Paragraph [0039])(Claim 11). Regarding Claim 5, Kline et al. teaches: 5. The automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 1, further comprising a humidity sensor (humidity sensor, Paragraph [0053]) associated with the camera (external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]) and configured to obtain humidity information, wherein the controller is further configured to: determine, based on the humidity information, whether an environmental humidity satisfies a humidity threshold that is associated with the high temperature application (“is the ambient humidity too high (one method by which to determine if it is raining or not) or even too low?”, Paragraph [0054]); and actuate the lens cleaning device (initiate cleaning cycle which includes air blow off or wiping of lens) based on determining that the environmental humidity satisfies the humidity threshold (Paragraph [0065]). Regarding Claim 7, Kline et al. teaches: 7. The automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 1, wherein the lens cleaning device (air blow off or wiper blades, Paragraph [0066]) comprises an air nozzle (air blow off) configured to clean the camera lens (lens of external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]) with pressurized air. Regarding Claim 8, Kline et al. teaches: 8. The automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 1, wherein the information received by the controller is wireless (Paragraph [0025]). Regarding Claim 9, Kline et al. teaches: 9. The automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 1, wherein the temperature threshold is 85 degrees Fahrenheit or more (see discussion below). For the scope of this claim, the Applicant relies on his disclosure “For example, lens cleaning device 330 can be actuated by controller 140 when sensor 310 detects a temperature above 85 degrees Fahrenheit.” As disclosed, the vehicle sensor cleaning system on the Kline et al. device can be actuated by controller 104 when cleaning sensor 108 or external sensor 130, which is a temperature sensor, detects a temperature above 85 degrees Fahrenheit consistent with the Applicant’s disclosure as claimed. The Applicant does not disclose that 85 degrees Fahrenheit or more solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well at temperatures below 85 degrees. Therefore, consistent with the Applicant’s disclosure, the “temperature threshold” is merely a temperature measured by the controller that would not prevent the device from initiating a cleaning operation. Regarding Claim 10, Kline et al. teaches: 10. A work machine (vehicle) with an automatic condition-based lens cleaning system (vehicle sensor cleaning system 100), the system comprising: a work implement (vehicle specific); a camera (external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]) mounted on the work machine and including a camera lens (lens of external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]); a temperature sensor (cleaning sensor 108 or external sensor 130 which is a temperature sensor, Paragraph [0021]) associated with the camera and configured to obtain temperature information (ambient temperature, Paragraph [0021]); a lens cleaning device (air blow off or wiper blades, Paragraph [0066]) coupled to the camera; and a controller (processor 104) configured to: determine, based on the temperature information, whether an environmental temperature (ambient temperature) satisfies a temperature threshold that is associated with a high temperature application (above 32 degrees, Paragraph [0022]); and actuate the lens cleaning device (initiate cleaning cycle which includes air blow off or wiping of lens) to clean the camera lens based on determining that the environmental temperature satisfies the temperature threshold (Paragraph [0070]). Kline et al. discloses a device that can be installed in a vehicle. Figure 4 shows what appears to be an SUV, however, the device is not uniquely configured for any specific vehicle. The reference Jones et al. discloses a work machine with a work implement that is a loader that includes a camera with a camera cleaning system. Therefore, it would have been to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to install the device on any desired vehicle, such as a loader as taught by Jones et al. with the motivation to ensure that the vehicle has cameras that remains functional in poor environmental conditions to ensure safe loader operation. Regarding Claim 11, Kline et al. teaches: 11. The work machine with an automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 1, wherein the controller (processor 104) is further configured to: determine, based on operating information (vehicle speed) from a machine controller associated with the loader (Paragraph [0062]), whether the loader is engaged in a particular activity that is consistent with the high temperature application (traveling while temperature is above 32 degrees); and actuate the lens cleaning device (initiate cleaning cycle which includes air blow off or wiping of lens) based on determining that the loader is engaged in the particular activity (performing cleaning cycle at pressure/duration consistent with vehicle speed, Paragraph [0062])(Claim 11). Regarding Claim 12, Kline et al. teaches: 12. The work machine with an automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 11, wherein the particular activity (traveling at sensed speed, Paragraph [0062]) includes at least one of digging, loading, or roading (roading). Regarding Claim 13, Kline et al. teaches: 13. The work machine with an automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 10, further comprising a light sensor (sensor that determines external, or ambient light levels, Paragraph [0061] and step 1036 in Figure 6A) associated with the camera (external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]) and configured to obtain light information, wherein the controller is further configured to: determine, based on the light information, whether an environmental lighting satisfies a lighting threshold that is associated with the high temperature application (determines one or more operational thresholds based on one or more of: external, or ambient, lighting levels, Paragraph [0061]); and actuate the lens cleaning device (initiate cleaning cycle which includes air blow off or wiping of lens) based on determining that the environmental lighting satisfies the lighting threshold (the system may compare light intensity/brightness from light sensors to determine an intensity step change. If the change meets or exceeds a threshold, the system may allow for a cleaning event, Paragraph [0039])(Claim 11). Regarding Claim 14, Kline et al. teaches: 14. The work machine with an automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 10, further comprising a humidity sensor (humidity sensor, Paragraph [0053]) associated with the camera (external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]) and configured to obtain humidity information, wherein the controller is further configured to: determine, based on the humidity information, whether an environmental humidity satisfies a humidity threshold that is associated with the high temperature application (“is the ambient humidity too high (one method by which to determine if it is raining or not) or even too low?”, Paragraph [0054]); and actuate the lens cleaning device (initiate cleaning cycle which includes air blow off or wiping of lens) based on determining that the environmental humidity satisfies the humidity threshold (Paragraph [0065]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kline et al. US 2019/0322245 (hereafter Kline et al.) in view of Jones et al. US 11,661,038 (hereafter Jones et al.) as presented in Claim 1 in further view of Layton US 2012/0000024 (hereafter Layton) . Regarding Claim 6, Kline et al. teaches: 6. The automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 1, further comprising a glass camera shield (see discussion below). Kline et al. discloses use of a wiper to clean the camera lens. Kline et al. does not disclose the placement of a shield in front of the camera lens. The reference Jones et al. discloses a screen 314 that shields the lens 316, however, Jones et al. does not disclose that the screen is glass. The reference Layton discloses a “optically-transmissive lens shield 34 assumes the form of a disc or sheet of a non-opaque material, such as glass or plastic (e.g., Plexiglas®)” positioned over the camera lens to protect the lens from damage. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kline et al./Jones et al. device to include a glass lens shield as taught by Layton with the motivation to protect the camera lens from direct contact with the wiper and environmental contamination, therefore, extending the life of the optical lens . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. Specifically, the prior art references include pertinent disclosures of cameras with automatic cleaning systems . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARC CARLSON whose telephone number is (571)272-9963. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 6:30am-3:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, BRIAN KELLER can be reached on (571) 272-8548. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/943,763 Page 2 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/943,763 Page 3 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/943,763 Page 4 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/943,763 Page 5 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/943,763 Page 6 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/943,763 Page 7 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/943,763 Page 9 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/943,763 Page 10 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/943,763 Page 12 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/943,763 Page 13 Art Unit: 3723