DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-12, 14-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al (US Pub No. 2016/0274147) in view of Breinlinger (US Pub No. 2008/0100312).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu et al disclose [see Figs. 1 & 3 above] a probe head assembly, comprising: a probe head structure (probe head 200) comprising: a first substrate (first substrate 210) comprising a plurality of needle holes (first through holes 212); a second substrate (second substrate 220) spaced apart from the first substrate (210) [via spacer 230] and comprising a plurality of needle holes (second through holes 222) corresponding to the plurality of needle holes (212) of the first substrate (210); and a plurality of needles (probes 240) extending through the plurality of needle holes (212) of the first substrate (210) and the plurality of needle holes (222) of the second substrate (220); and a plurality of conductive patterns (insulation layers 275, 280, 285, 290 & 295) disposed on the probe head structure (200), wherein a first needle (probe 240) and a second needle (240) among the plurality of needles (240) through a first conductive pattern (285) and a second conductive pattern (275) among the plurality of conductive patterns (275, 280, 285, 290 & 295), respectively. However, the prior art does not disclose a sensor unit as claimed. Breinlinger disclose [see Fig. 13B above] probe head assembly comprising a probe head structure (probe head 222); wherein a sensor unit (sensor 224) mounted on the probe head structure (222) [see also paragraph [0040]-[0041] for details]. Further, Breinlinger teaches that the addition of sensor unit is advantageous because it could configured to sense one or more parameters indicative of a compliance demand being placed on the probe card assembly. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Hsu et al by adding sensor unit as taught by Breinlinger in order to sense one or more parameters demand being placed on the probe card assembly during operation and testing.
Regarding claim 3, Hsu et al disclose the first needle (240) and the first conductive pattern (285) contact in a first needle hole (222) among the plurality of needle holes (222) of the second substrate (220), and the second needle (240) and the second conductive pattern (280) contact in a second needle hole (222) among the plurality of needle holes (222) of the second substrate (220).
Regarding claim 4, Hsu et al disclose wherein: the second substrate (220) further comprises a first needle groove [shown but not numbered] and a second needle groove [shown but not numbered], the first conductive pattern (285) and the second conductive pattern (280) are disposed in the first needle groove and the second needle groove, respectively, the first needle (240) lands on the first conductive pattern (285) in the first needle groove [via insulating material 250], and the second needle (240) lands on the second conductive pattern (280) in the second needle groove [via insulating material 250].
Regarding claim 7, Hsu et al disclose wherein at least one of the first substrate (210) and the second substrate (220) is transparent to electromagnetic waves. However, the prior art does not disclose the sensor unit as claimed. Breinlinger disclose [see Fig. 13B above] probe head assembly comprising a probe head structure (probe head 222); wherein a sensor unit (sensor 224) mounted on the probe head structure (222) [see also paragraph [0040]-[0041] for details]. Further, Breinlinger teaches that the addition of sensor unit is advantageous because it could configured to sense one or more parameters indicative of a compliance demand being placed on the probe card assembly. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Hsu et al by adding sensor unit as taught by Breinlinger in order to sense one or more parameters demand being placed on the probe card assembly during operation and testing.
Regarding claim 8, Hsu et al disclose [see Figs. 1 & 3 above] a probe card assembly, comprising: a circuit board (circuit board 100); and a probe head assembly spaced apart from the circuit board (100) and comprising: a probe head structure (probe head 200) comprising: a first substrate (first substrate 210) comprising a plurality of needle holes (first through holes 212); a second substrate (second substrate 220) spaced apart from the first substrate (210) [via spacer 230] and comprising a plurality of needle holes (second through holes 222) corresponding to the plurality of needle holes (212) of the first substrate (210); and a plurality of needles (probes 240) extending through the plurality of needle holes (212) of the first substrate (210) and the plurality of needle holes (222) of the second substrate (220); and a plurality of conductive patterns (insulation layers 275, 280, 285, 290 & 295) disposed on the probe head structure (200), wherein a first needle (probe 240) and a second needle (240) among the plurality of needles (240) through a first conductive pattern (285) and a second conductive pattern (275) among the plurality of conductive patterns (275, 280, 285, 290 & 295), respectively. However, the prior art does not disclose a sensor unit as claimed. Breinlinger disclose [see Fig. 13B above] probe head assembly comprising a probe head structure (probe head 222); wherein a sensor unit (sensor 224) mounted on the probe head structure (222) [see also paragraph [0040]-[0041] for details]. Further, Breinlinger teaches that the addition of sensor unit is advantageous because it could configured to sense one or more parameters indicative of a compliance demand being placed on the probe card assembly. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Hsu et al by adding sensor unit as taught by Breinlinger in order to sense one or more parameters demand being placed on the probe card assembly during operation and testing.
Regarding claim 9, Hsu et al disclose wherein the circuit board (100) comprises a circuitry (contacts 112), and the first needle (240) and the second needle (240) are electrically connected to different wirings of the circuitry (112).
Regarding claim 10, Hsu et al disclose a space transformer (space transformer 300) disposed between the circuit board (100) and the probe head assembly [which includes probe head 200], wherein: the space transformer (300) comprises a circuitry (contacts 312 & 314), the first needle (240) and the second needle (240) are electrically connected to the different wirings of the circuitry (112) of the circuit board (100) through different wirings of the circuitry (312 & 314) of the space transformer (300), a line pitch at a surface of the circuit board (100) away from the space transformer (300) is larger than a line pitch at a surface of the space transformer (300) away from the circuit board (100).
Regarding claim 11, Hsu et al disclose the first substrate (210), the second substrate (220) and the circuit board (100). However, the prior art does not disclose wherein the first substrate is disposed between the second substrate and the circuit board. However, it is well known to have different arrangement parts where is needed [see MPEP 2144.04; In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have rearrangement of parts since it was held the particular placement of a different items in a measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 12, Hsu et al disclose wherein the second substrate (220) is disposed between the first substrate (210) and the circuit board (100).
Regarding claim 14, Hsu et al disclose wherein the first substrate (210) and the second substrate (220) are transparent to electromagnetic waves, and the probe card assembly further comprises: a receiver unit (space transformer 300) disposed between the circuit board (100) and the probe head assembly [which includes probe head 200]. However, the prior art does not disclose the sensor unit as claimed. Breinlinger disclose [see Fig. 13B above] probe head assembly comprising a probe head structure (probe head 222); wherein a sensor unit (sensor 224) mounted on the probe head structure (222) [see also paragraph [0040]-[0041] for details]. Further, Breinlinger teaches that the addition of sensor unit is advantageous because it could configured to sense one or more parameters indicative of a compliance demand being placed on the probe card assembly. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Hsu et al by adding sensor unit as taught by Breinlinger in order to sense one or more parameters demand being placed on the probe card assembly during operation and testing.
Regarding claim 15, Hsu et al disclose [see Figs. 1 & 3 above] a probe head assembly, comprising: a probe head structure (probe head 200) comprising: a first substrate (first substrate 210) comprising a plurality of needle holes (first through holes 212); a second substrate (second substrate 220) spaced apart from the first substrate (210) [via spacer 230] and comprising a plurality of needle holes (second through holes 222) corresponding to the plurality of needle holes (212) of the first substrate (210); and a plurality of needles (probes 240) extending through the plurality of needle holes (212) of the first substrate (210) and the plurality of needle holes (222) of the second substrate (220); and a plurality of conductive patterns (insulation layers 275, 280, 285, 290 & 295) disposed on the probe head structure (200), wherein a first needle (probe 240) and a second needle (240) among the plurality of needles (240) through the plurality of conductive patterns (275, 280, 285, 290 & 295). However, the prior art does not disclose a sensor unit as claimed. Breinlinger disclose [see Fig. 13B above] probe head assembly comprising a probe head structure (probe head 222); wherein a sensor unit (sensor 224) mounted on the probe head structure (222) [see also paragraph [0040]-[0041] for details]. Further, Breinlinger teaches that the addition of sensor unit is advantageous because it could configured to sense one or more parameters indicative of a compliance demand being placed on the probe card assembly. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Hsu et al by adding sensor unit as taught by Breinlinger in order to sense one or more parameters demand being placed on the probe card assembly during operation and testing. However, neither references disclosed the first needle and the second needle are shorter than other needles among the plurality of needles. However, it is well known to have different size for a needle where is needed [see MPEP 2144.04; In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have some needles shorter than other needles since it was held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 16, Hsu et al disclose wherein: the plurality of conductive patterns (280 & 285) are disposed on the second substrate (220). However, the prior art does not disclose a sensor unit as claimed. Breinlinger disclose [see Fig. 13B above] probe head assembly comprising a probe head structure (probe head 222); wherein a sensor unit (sensor 224) mounted on the probe head structure (222) [see also paragraph [0040]-[0041] for details]. Further, Breinlinger teaches that the addition of sensor unit is advantageous because it could configured to sense one or more parameters indicative of a compliance demand being placed on the probe card assembly. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Hsu et al by adding sensor unit as taught by Breinlinger in order to sense one or more parameters demand being placed on the probe card assembly during operation and testing.
Regarding claim 18, Hsu et al disclose wherein: the first needle (240) and the second needle (240) land on the plurality of conductive patterns (275, 280, 285, 290 & 295), and the other needles (240) extend through corresponding needle holes (222) of the plurality of needle holes (222) of the second substrate (220), respectively.
Regarding claim 19, Hsu et al disclose wherein: the first needle (240) and the second needle (240) are located on one of an upper side and a lower side of the second substrate (220). However, the prior art does not disclose a sensor unit as claimed. Breinlinger disclose [see Fig. 13B above] probe head assembly comprising a probe head structure (probe head 222); wherein a sensor unit (sensor 224) mounted on the probe head structure (222) [see also paragraph [0040]-[0041] for details]. Further, Breinlinger teaches that the addition of sensor unit is advantageous because it could configured to sense one or more parameters indicative of a compliance demand being placed on the probe card assembly. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Hsu et al by adding sensor unit as taught by Breinlinger in order to sense one or more parameters demand being placed on the probe card assembly during operation and testing.
Regarding claim 20, Hsu et al disclose wherein: the plurality of conductive patterns (275, 280, 285, 290 & 295) are disposed in a plurality of grooves on a surface of the second substrate (220) away from the first substrate (210). However, the prior art does not disclose a sensor unit as claimed. Breinlinger disclose [see Fig. 13B above] probe head assembly comprising a probe head structure (probe head 222); wherein a sensor unit (sensor 224) mounted on the probe head structure (222) [see also paragraph [0040]-[0041] for details]. Further, Breinlinger teaches that the addition of sensor unit is advantageous because it could configured to sense one or more parameters indicative of a compliance demand being placed on the probe card assembly. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Hsu et al by adding sensor unit as taught by Breinlinger in order to sense one or more parameters demand being placed on the probe card assembly during operation and testing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for details.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-6, 13 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 2, the primary reason for the allowance of the claim is due to the probe head assembly further comprises: a first adhesive pattern disposed between the first conductive pattern and the second substrate; and a second adhesive pattern disposed between the second conductive pattern and the second substrate.
Regarding claim 5, the primary reason for the allowance of the claim is due to the second substrate is opaque to electromagnetic waves received by the sensor unit, and the second substrate further comprises a sensor hole overlapped with the sensor unit.
Regarding claim 6, the primary reason for the allowance of the claim is due to a surface of the second substrate away from the first substrate comprises a first conductive pattern groove, a second conductive pattern groove and a sensor groove, wherein the sensor unit is disposed in the sensor groove.
Regarding claim 13, the primary reason for the allowance of the claim is due to the probe head assembly further comprises: an adhesive pattern disposed between the first conductive pattern and the second substrate, between the second conductive pattern and the second substrate, or a combination thereof, wherein a material of the adhesive pattern comprises metals.
Regarding claim 17, the primary reason for the allowance of the claim is due to a plurality of adhesive patterns disposed between the plurality of conductive patterns and the second substrate.
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858