DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,174,044. In particular, claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over patent claims 3, and application claim 3-14 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over patent claim 4-15, respectively.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are broader versions of the corresponding claims of the patent.
Besides minor wording differences, there are no substantive differences between the present application and the U.S. Patent No. 12,174,044. The claims of the present application are broader than the patent and thus fully met. Therefore, the present claims are not patentably distinct from the copending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishikawara et al. USPG Pub. No.: US 2021/0140800.
Regarding Claim 1, Ishikawara teaches a linear position sensor configured to detect a position of a detection object in a stroke direction (figures 1 and 2, 3 constitutes a linear position sensor; 4-7 constitute the detection object as 4-6 are magnetically detected), the detection object being organized such that a plurality of magnets are spaced apart from each other along the stroke direction (see figure 1, in which 4, 5, and 6 are each spaced apart along the stroke direction X1), and such that adjacent magnetic pole surfaces of the plurality of magnets have opposite poles (seen clearly in figure 3, as the adjacent poles are of opposite orientation), the linear position sensor comprising:
a detector arranged with a gap in a gap direction against a magnetic pole surface of each of the plurality of magnets (figure 1, which shows a gap detector 3 and the magnets), the detector configured to acquire, as a detection signal of a phase corresponding to the position of the plurality of magnets, a sine signal representing a sine function and a cosine signal representing a cosine function, based on a change in a magnetic field received from the plurality of magnets according to movement of the detector relative to the detection object in the stroke direction (see [0125]-[0131] which detail the calculation of magnetic field vector components in the X and Z directions, respectively referred to as D3 and D4, in which the X component is determined by equations 1 and 2 for sine signal, and Z component is determined by equations (3) and (4) for cosine signal. Figure 3 shows the processor which S11 and S21 are the sine components in the D3 direction, and S12 and S22 are components in the cosine direction D4 as discussed in [0078]-[0080]); and
a signal processor (see figure 3, 30) configured to acquire the sine signal and the cosine signal from the detector, generate, based on the sine signal and the cosine signal, an arctangent signal that represents an arctangent function and corresponds to a stroke amount of the detection object relative to the detector, and acquire the arctangent signal as a position signal that indicates the position of the detection object (see [0086] and figure 3, 37 which teaches determining position, θ, based on an arctangent function of a ratio of Sa to Sb, which according to equations (5) and (6), seen in [0129]-[0131], are the sine (D3, X direction) and cosine (D4, Z direction) functions respectively. Note that processors 35 and 36 give the Sa and Sb functions respectively as seen in figure 3).
wherein the detection object includes a yoke that is magnetic and having one surface on which the plurality of magnets are arranged (see figures 1-2, 7 which is a yoke),
the plurality of magnets include a first magnet having a first magnetic pole surface, a second magnet having a second magnetic pole surface, and a third magnet having a third magnetic pole surface (see figure 2, magnets 4-6),
the second magnet is arranged at a position between the first magnet and the third magnet (see figure 2, magnet 5, which is between 4 and 6),
the first magnet has a part, which protrudes along the stroke direction from one end of the one surface of the yoke and has the first magnetic pole surface arranged perpendicular to the stroke direction (seen in figures 1 and 2), and
the third magnet has a part, which protrudes along the stroke direction from an other end of the one surface of the yoke opposite to the one end and has the third magnetic pole surface arranged perpendicular to the stroke direction (seen in figures 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 9, Ishikawara teaches the linear position sensor according to claim 1, wherein the detection object includes a yoke that is magnetic and having one surface on which the plurality of magnets are arranged, the plurality of magnets include a first magnet (figures 1-2, 4) having a first magnetic pole surface, a second magnet having a second magnetic pole surface (figures 1-2, 6), and an auxiliary magnet (figures 1-2, 5) positioned between the first magnet and the second magnet, and the auxiliary magnet is arranged to repel the magnetic field corresponding to the first magnetic pole surface of the first magnet and to repel the magnetic field corresponding to the second magnetic pole surface of the second magnet (see figures 1-2 in which the magnets are arranged in such a way that meets the claims).
Regarding Claim 11, Ishikawara teaches the linear position sensor according to claim 1, wherein the detector includes a sensor chip having one surface in parallel with the gap direction and the stroke direction, one direction of surface directions of the one surface is set as a direction corresponding to the sine signal, and the sensor chip is fixed to the detector such that the one direction is inclined relative to the stroke direction (see figures 1-2 and 7-9, in which sensors 10 and 20 meet the structural limitations of the claimed language).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawara et al. USPG Pub. No.: US 2021/0140800 in view of Lackey USPG Pub No.: US 2014/0176131.
Regarding Claim 7, Ishikawara teaches the linear position sensor according to claim 1, wherein the detection object includes a yoke that is magnetic and having one surface on which the plurality of magnets are arranged (see figures 1-2, 7 which is a yoke), the plurality of magnets include a first magnet having a first magnetic pole surface and a second magnet having a second magnetic pole surface, and in the gap direction, with respect to the one surface of the yoke as a reference (see figures 1-2). Ishikawara is silent in explicitly teaching a first height of the first magnetic pole surface of the first magnet and a second height of the second magnetic pole surface of the second magnet are different from each other. However, Lackey teaches a first height of the first magnetic pole surface of the first magnet and a second height of the second magnetic pole surface of the second magnet are different from each other (see Lackey figure 1, magnets 104, 106, and 110 as well as [0020] which teaches the claimed heights of the first and second magnets, and their respective poles, being different). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Ishikawara with those of Lackey because such a design would be cost effective and account for non-linear aspects in measuring the magnetic field creating higher accuracy (as discussed in Lackey [0014]-[0016]).
Regarding Claim 8, Ishikawara teaches the linear position sensor according to claim 1, wherein the detection object includes a yoke that is magnetic and having one surface on which the plurality of magnets are arranged, and in the stroke direction (see Ishikawara figures 1 and 2). Ishikawara is silent in teaching a first width of a first magnetic pole surface of a first magnet and a second width of a second magnetic pole surface of a second magnet are different from each other. However, Lackey teaches a first width of a first magnetic pole surface of a first magnet and a second width of a second magnetic pole surface of a second magnet are different from each other (see Lackey figure 1, magnets 104, 106, and 110 as well as [0020] which teaches the claimed widths of the first and second magnets, and their respective poles, being different). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Ishikawara with those of Lackey because such a design would be cost effective and account for non-linear aspects in measuring the magnetic field creating higher accuracy (as discussed in Lackey [0014]-[0016]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawara et al. USPG Pub. No.: US 2021/0140800 in view of Jerance et al. USPG Pub No.: US 2010/0231205.
Regarding Claim 12, Ishikawara teaches the linear position sensor according to claim 1, but is silent in teaching wherein the plurality of magnets are provided as a plastic magnet that is magnetized. However, Jerance teaches wherein the plurality of magnets are provided as a plastic magnet that is magnetized (see Jerance [0032]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Ishikawara with those of Jerance in order to create a precise shape of the magnet in order to better direct field lines (see Jerance [0032]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawara et al. USPG Pub. No.: US 2021/0140800 in view of Godkin USPG Pub. No.: US 2007/0114990.
Regarding Claim 13, Ishikawara teaches the linear position sensor according to claim 1, but is silent in teaching wherein the detection object includes a yoke that is magnetic and having one surface and a shaft longer than the yoke in the stroke direction, and the yoke is fixed to an outer peripheral surface of the shaft. However, Godkin teaches wherein the detection object includes a yoke that is magnetic and having one surface and a shaft longer than the yoke in the stroke direction, and the yoke is fixed to an outer peripheral surface of the shaft (Godkin see [0027] and figure 5 which shows the yoke 62 mounted to shaft 68). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Ishikawara with those of Godkin in order to use the sensor functionally in a motorized device (as discussed in Godkin [0027]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
RE Claim 15, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest “wherein the first magnet includes a first N pole portion and a first S pole portion arranged along a first arrangement direction, the third magnet includes a third N pole portion and a third S pole portion arranged along a third arrangement direction, the first magnetic pole surface is perpendicular to the first arrangement direction, and the third magnetic pole surface is perpendicular to the third arrangement direction,” in combination with the other claim limitations. Claim 16 depends from base Claim 15, and therefore this claim is also allowed. Ishikawara et al. USPG Pub. No.: US 2021/0140800, as referenced above, is the closest reference in the art to meeting the aforementioned limitation.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL A HARRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2852