CTNF 18/949,146 CTNF 92069 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/15/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS(s) have been considered by the Examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim (s) 17 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim(s) 17 and 19 recite a phrase “revers bias” (for example, in last paragraph). Examiner suggests amending the phrase to recite “reverse bias” to restore clarity . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OH et al. (US 20140029230; hereinafter OH) in view of KIM et al. (US 20190107500) . Regarding claim 1, OH teaches in figure(s) 1-10 a display device comprising: a display panel (100; fig. 3) including a plurality of pixels (P; fig. 3) ; a first conductive ball connected to the display panel; and a driving integrated circuit (200) connected to the first conductive ball (420; fig. 6) and configured to: generate and output a first gate driver control signal (signals from controller @ FPC 210, PCB) to the display panel through the first conductive ball (para. 75,10 - conductive balls 420 inside the conductive member 400 are closely adhered to the respective transparent electrodes 116 by the pressure applied to the driving IC 200, and then contact the respective transparent electrodes 116 provided in the first and second resistance patterns RP1 and RP2. Therefore, the link lines (metal layers) of the first and second resistance patterns RP1 and RP2 are electrically connected to the link terminals LT1 and LT2 provided in the driving IC 200) , receive a first return signal (para. 44 – input/output link lines ILL, OLL) of the first gate driver control signal from the display panel, wherein the first return signal corresponds to the first gate drive control signal provided to the display panel through the first conductive ball (420; para. 76 - two test pads TP1 and TP2 branch from the respective link lines connected to the resistance patterns RP1 and RP2, and each of the test pads TP1 and TP2 includes a test pad line provided in the plastic base substrate and a test pad transparent electrode 116 which is connected to the test pad line through the test pad via hole 115 formed in the insulating layer 114 deposited on the test pad line; figs. 3-9) , and OH does not teach explicitly perform a first waveform comparing operation in which a waveform of the first gate driver control signal is compared with a waveform of the first return signal to determine whether the first conductive ball is oxidized. However, KIM teaches in figure(s) 1-6 perform a first waveform comparing operation in which a waveform of the first gate driver control signal is compared with a waveform of the first return signal to determine whether the first conductive ball is oxidized (para. 2 - testing the conductivity of graphene through the detection of oxidized or reduced regions of the graphene; para. 51 - data analyzed in step (d) can be compared with the existing data to detect the oxidized and reduced regions of the graphene; figs. 1,3,5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of OH by having perform a first waveform comparing operation in which a waveform of the first gate driver control signal is compared with a waveform of the first return signal to determine whether the first conductive ball is oxidized as taught by KIM in order to provide applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as evidenced by " oxidized and reduced regions of graphene can be accurately detected in a short time using a terahertz wave so as to measure the conductivity of graphene…the oxidized region can be immediately reduced by irradiating an electromagnetic wave thereto" (abstract) . Regarding claim 11, OH teaches in figure(s) 1-10 a method of driving a display device including a display panel (100; fig. 3) and a first conductive ball (420; fig. 6) electrically connected to the display panel, the method comprising: generating and outputting a first gate driver control signal (signals from controller @ FPC 210, PCB) to the display panel (100; fig. 3) through the first conductive ball (420; fig. 6; para. 75,10 - conductive balls 420 inside the conductive member 400 are closely adhered to the respective transparent electrodes 116 by the pressure applied to the driving IC 200, and then contact the respective transparent electrodes 116 provided in the first and second resistance patterns RP1 and RP2. Therefore, the link lines (metal layers) of the first and second resistance patterns RP1 and RP2 are electrically connected to the link terminals LT1 and LT2 provided in the driving IC 200) ; receiving a first return signal (para. 44 – input/output link lines ILL, OLL) of the first gate driver control signal from the display panel (para. 76 - two test pads TP1 and TP2 branch from the respective link lines connected to the resistance patterns RP1 and RP2, and each of the test pads TP1 and TP2 includes a test pad line provided in the plastic base substrate and a test pad transparent electrode 116 which is connected to the test pad line through the test pad via hole 115 formed in the insulating layer 114 deposited on the test pad line; figs. 3-9) , wherein the first return signal corresponds to the first gate drive control signal provided to the display panel through the first conductive ball (figs. 3-9) ; and OH does not teach explicitly performing a first waveform comparing operation in which a waveform of the first gate driver control signal is compared with a waveform of the first return signal to determine whether the first conductive ball is oxidized. However, KIM teaches in figure(s) 1-6 perform a first waveform comparing operation in which a waveform of the first gate driver control signal is compared with a waveform of the first return signal to determine whether the first conductive ball is oxidized (para. 2 - testing the conductivity of graphene through the detection of oxidized or reduced regions of the graphene; para. 51 - data analyzed in step (d) can be compared with the existing data to detect the oxidized and reduced regions of the graphene; figs. 1,3,5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of OH by having perform a first waveform comparing operation in which a waveform of the first gate driver control signal is compared with a waveform of the first return signal to determine whether the first conductive ball is oxidized as taught by KIM in order to provide applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as evidenced by " oxidized and reduced regions of graphene can be accurately detected in a short time using a terahertz wave so as to measure the conductivity of graphene…the oxidized region can be immediately reduced by irradiating an electromagnetic wave thereto" (abstract) . Regarding claim 12, OH teaches in figure(s) 1-10 the method of claim 11, wherein the receiving of the first return signal of the first gate driver control signal from the display panel includes transferring the first return signal to a driving integrated circuit through a first switch (clm. 4 - resistance pads are connected to data lines through switching elements) and a first test pad (test pad TP1; figs. 3-5) of the display panel. Regarding claim 13, OH teaches in figure(s) 1-10 the method of claim 12, wherein the display device further includes a second conductive ball electrically connected to the display panel, and wherein the method further comprises: generating and outputting a second gate driver control signal to the display panel through the second conductive ball, and receiving a second return signal of the second gate driver control signal from the display panel, wherein the second return signal corresponds to the second gate drive control signal provided to the display panel through the second conductive ball, performing a second waveform comparing operation in which a waveform of the second gate driver control signal is compared with a waveform of the second return signal to determine whether the second conductive ball is oxidized (duplication of parts/feature as taught in fig. 6) . Regarding claim 14, OH teaches in figure(s) 1-10 the method of claim 13, wherein the receiving of the second return signal of the second gate driver control signal from the display panel includes transferring the second return signal to the driving integrated circuit through a second switch (clm. 4 - resistance pads are connected to data lines through switching elements; figs. 3,6) and a second test pad (TP2) of the display panel. Regarding claim 15, OH teaches in figure(s) 1-10 the method of claim 13, wherein the first gate driver control signal and the second gate driver control signal are substantially the same (para. 11 - driving IC 20 may be a data driver IC for driving the data lines of the display panel 10, a gate driver IC for driving the gate lines of the display panel 10, or a display driver IC (DDI) for integratedly driving the data lines and the gate lines; figs. 3,1) . Regarding claim 16, OH teaches in figure(s) 1-10 the method of claim 14, further comprising: reducing the first conductive ball at a first period; and reducing the second conductive ball at a second period different from the first period (para. 23 - conductive ball 42 is dented or broken and thus stuck into the plastic base substrate through the link lines 30 and 50 without being closely adhered to the link terminal 21 and the plastic base substrate, and thus, the number of dented conductive balls 42 is reduced; para. 115 - conductive balls of a conductive member (ACF) in a tape automated bonding (TAB) type. A timing control, etc., are mounted on the PCB 300) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OH in view of TAKAHARA et al. (US 20200394958) . Regarding claim 19, OH teaches in figure(s) 1-10 a display device comprising: a display panel (100; fig. 3) including a plurality of pixels (P; fig. 3) ; a first conductive ball connected to the display panel; and a display driving device (200) connected to the first conductive ball (420; fig. 6) and configured to: supply a first gate driver control signal (signals from controller @ FPC 210, PCB) to the display panel through the first conductive ball (para. 75,10 - conductive balls 420 inside the conductive member 400 are closely adhered to the respective transparent electrodes 116 by the pressure applied to the driving IC 200, and then contact the respective transparent electrodes 116 provided in the first and second resistance patterns RP1 and RP2. Therefore, the link lines (metal layers) of the first and second resistance patterns RP1 and RP2 are electrically connected to the link terminals LT1 and LT2 provided in the driving IC 200) , receive a first return signal (para. 44 – input/output link lines ILL, OLL) of the first gate driver control signal from the display panel, wherein the first return signal corresponds to the first gate drive control signal provided to the display panel through the first conductive ball (420; para. 76 - two test pads TP1 and TP2 branch from the respective link lines connected to the resistance patterns RP1 and RP2, and each of the test pads TP1 and TP2 includes a test pad line provided in the plastic base substrate and a test pad transparent electrode 116 which is connected to the test pad line through the test pad via hole 115 formed in the insulating layer 114 deposited on the test pad line; figs. 3-9) , OH does not teach explicitly perform a first waveform comparing operation in which a waveform of the first gate driver control signal is compared with a waveform of the first return signal; determine whether the first conductive ball is oxidized based on a waveform comparison result of the first waveform comparing operation; supply a revers bias voltage to the first conductive ball in response to the determination of the first conductive ball is oxidized. However, TAKAHARA teaches in figure(s) 1-61 perform a first waveform comparing operation in which a waveform of the first gate driver control signal is compared with a waveform of the first return signal (para. 262 - a voltage waveform applied to each gate signal line 17 and the luminance of the EL device emitting light; para. 538 - attain about 15% reduction in power consumption as compared to the case of 100% display luminance; figs 8-19), determine whether the first conductive ball is oxidized based on a waveform comparison result of the first waveform comparing operation (para. 451 - molecules are oxidized or reduced to produce unstable radical anionic molecules and radical cationic molecules, which deteriorate the film quality thereby lowering the luminance and causing a rise in driving voltage during constant-current driving), and supply a revers bias voltage (para. 449 - Application of reverse bias voltage Vm to EL device 15 is effective in solving the problem) to the first conductive ball in response to the determination of the first conductive ball is oxidized. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of OH by having perform a first waveform comparing operation in which a waveform of the first gate driver control signal is compared with a waveform of the first return signal; determine whether the first conductive ball is oxidized based on a waveform comparison result of the first waveform comparing operation; supply a revers bias voltage to the first conductive ball in response to the determination of the first conductive ball is oxidized as taught by TAKAHARA in order to provide applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as evidenced by " molecules are oxidized or reduced to produce unstable radical anionic molecules and radical cationic molecules, which deteriorate the film quality thereby lowering the luminance and causing a rise in driving voltage during constant-current driving. An example of means to prevent this phenomenon is a modification of the device structure for reverse voltage to be applied." (para. 451) . Regarding claim 20, OH in view of TAKAHARA teaches the display device of claim 19, TAKAHARA additionally teaches in figure(s) 1-61 wherein the reverse bias voltage is a voltage level at which the first conductive ball is reduced (para. 452-453 - When reverse bias voltage is applied, reverse current is applied, which causes the electrons and positive holes injected to be withdrawn toward the cathode and the anode… variation in reverse bias voltage Vm with varying terminal voltage of EL device 15; para. 466- With gate potential control line 473 in this state, when the potential of reverse bias line 471 is adjusted to reverse bias voltage Vm (0 (V) or lower; figs. 45-47) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim (s) 2-10 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 2, the prior arts of record do not fairly teach or suggest “ a first switch selectively connecting the first panel input pad to the first gate driver in response to a first switch control signal of the driving integrated circuit; and a first test pad connected to an output of the first switch and the driving integrated circuit, wherein the first return signal is transferred to the driving integrated circuit through the first test pad ” including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 17, the prior arts of record do not fairly teach or suggest “wherein the reducing of the first conductive ball includes: determining whether the first conductive ball is oxidized based on a waveform comparison result of the performing of the first waveform comparing operation; and in response to determination of the first conductive ball being oxidized, turning off the first switch and supplying a first revers bias voltage to the first conductive ball so that the first conductive ball is reduced in the first period, and wherein the reducing of the second conductive ball includes determining whether the second conductive ball is oxidized based on a waveform comparison result of the performing of the second waveform comparing operation; and in response to determination of the second conductive ball being oxidized, turning off the second switch and supplying a second revers bias voltage to the second conductive ball so that the second conductive ball is reduced in the second period.” including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim(s) 3-10 and 18 are objected for dependent upon the objected base claims. Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KAWANO et. al. (US 20100200755) discloses "apparatus and method for detecting terahertz wave". Jeoung et. al. (US 20070046322) discloses "a liquid crystal display panel and apparatus, which can prevent electrolytic corrosion or other corrosion of on-off pads in a test pad part. " . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AKM ZAKARIA whose telephone number is (571)270-0664. The examiner can normally be reached on 8-5 PM (PST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Judy Nguyen can be reached on (571) 272-2258. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AKM ZAKARIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/949,146 Page 2 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/949,146 Page 3 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/949,146 Page 4 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/949,146 Page 5 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/949,146 Page 6 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/949,146 Page 7 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/949,146 Page 8 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/949,146 Page 10 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/949,146 Page 11 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/949,146 Page 12 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/949,146 Page 13 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/949,146 Page 14 Art Unit: 2858