DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dudon et al. (US 2016/0369407).
Claims 1-5, 15-17 and 20: Dudon teaches a process of forming a film of metal particles on a surface (Abst.), comprising the steps of: depositing an adhesive layer on a substrate by spraying the adhesive material onto the substrate (Abst.; ¶ 0063); and spraying metal particles, such as NiAl, onto the adhesive layer to form a metal particle layer (¶¶ 0023-0024, 0032-0033) having a thickness of 0.2mm (i.e. 200 µm) (¶ 0107).
While Dudon does not discuss whether this particle layer minimizes x-ray scattering artifacts, Dudon teaches using the same materials to form the same layer as that which applicant discloses to have the claimed property of minimizing x-ray scattering artifacts (see, e.g., ¶ 0036 of the specification which discusses metal particles that are a combination of aluminum and nickel). Therefore, this feature is considered inherent in the process of Dudon.
Claims 1, 6-8, 11, 13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rogers et al. (US 2012/0321785).
Claims 1, 6-8, 11, 13, 15 and 16: Rogers teaches a process of forming a layer of carbon nanotubes (i.e. claimed high electron density material) (Abst.) comprising the steps of: forming an adhesive layer on a substrate (¶ 0045); and spraying a slurry of carbon nanotubes (i.e. claimed nanofluid, claimed suspension and claimed nanomaterial) onto the adhesive to form a layer of carbon nanotubes (¶¶ 0025, 0045).
While Rogers does not discuss whether this particle layer minimizes x-ray scattering artifacts, Rogers teaches using the same materials to form the same layer as that which applicant discloses to have the claimed property of minimizing x-ray scattering artifacts. Therefore, this feature is considered inherent in the process of Rogers.
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beguiristain et al. (US 2003/0089856).
Claims 1 and 9: Beguiristain teaches a process of forming a layer of a mineral oil on a substrate to improve the smoothness of the surface (¶ 0042). Though Beguiristain does not expressly teach that this minimizes scattering, it is considered an inherent feature both because Beguiristain teaches the same type of layer using the same material as that which applicant discloses to have this property and because improving the smoothness of a surface will necessarily reduce scattering of radiation sources, like x-rays.
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Imamura et al. (US 5,158,854).
Claims 1 and 11: Imamura teaches a process of forming a layer of siloxane (i.e. claimed silicone polymer) on a substrate (Abst.; 1:13-27). Though Imamura does not expressly teach that this minimizes scattering, it is considered an inherent feature because Imamura teaches the same type of layer using the same material as that which applicant discloses to have this property.
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bethune (US2005/0197272).
Claims 1 and 14: Bethune teaches a process of forming a layer of kaolin having a thickness of 20-30µm on a substrate (¶ 0032). Though Bethune does not expressly teach that this minimizes scattering, it is considered an inherent feature because Bethune teaches the same type of layer using the same material as that which applicant discloses to have this property (see, e.g., ¶¶ 0039, 0041 of the specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudon in light of Pethe et al. (US 2007/0269935).
Claims 18 and 19: Dudon fails to teach that the adhesive is dissolvable. However, Pethe teaches a process of applying a material to a substrate using an adhesive to adhere the material (Abst.) and explains that the adhesive is desirably dissolvable in a solvent in order to allow the removal of deposited material in areas of the substrate where deposited material is not desired (¶ 0038). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have selected a dissolvable adhesive in order to have allowed removal of NiAl in portions of the substrate where a coating was not desired with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beguiristain in light of Goia et al. (US 2006/0207385).
Claim 10: Beguiristain teaches that the mineral oil smooths the surface of the substrate, but fails to teach that vegetable oil can be used. Goia teaches that either vegetable oil or mineral oil can be used to provide a smooth surface on a substrate (¶ 0020). The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected vegetable oil in place of mineral oil with the predictable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,183,314. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘314 Patent claims the same subject matter as the instant claims.
Claims 1-7 and 15-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,657,924. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘924 Patent claims the same subject matter as the instant claims.
Claims 1, 9-11, 15 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,176,123. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘123 Patent claims the same subject matter as the instant claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior art on record, taken individually or in combination, fairly teaches or suggests an x-ray scatter mitigation material which comprises a fluid silicone polymer which includes one of the claimed metals.
US5,158,854 is also cited for teaching a fluid silicone polymer which would inherently mitigation x-ray scattering, but fails to teach that that polymer includes one of the claimed metals.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712