DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 114156788 A).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a cable handling bow (multi-purpose submarine cable bracket 1 mounted on a work platform for handling a cable during overboarding and transfer operations, see figs. 7-13) [for (GL F-IV 4.13) an overboarding system of a work platform], wherein the cable handling bow (1) comprises a cable retaining structure (conveying slots 4, 5) [for (GL F-IV 4.13) retaining a length of a cable], wherein the cable retaining structure (4,5) extends along a partially curved path (4, 5), which path has a first end and an opposed second end, wherein the path (4, 5) has a first straight segment (4) located between the first end and the second end and being spaced away from both ends, such that a cable joint connecting two ends of a cable is placeable in the first straight segment (4), when the cable length is retained in the cable retaining structure (4,5).
Regarding claims 2, 6-8 and 11, Li further discloses the cable retaining structure has a gap that extends along the first straight segment (Figures 4-6); the path has a first curved segment arranged between the first end and the first straight segment, and a second curved segment arranged between the first straight segment and the second end (Figures 4-13); a supporting apparatus reaching into the gap and configured to support a cable joint (2); and the cable retaining structure comprises a trough (Figures 4-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 114156788 A) in view of Bekhouche (WO 2022/093037 A1).
Regarding claims 4, 5 and 7, Li fails to disclose a first run length of the cable retaining structure from the first end to the first straight segment is smaller than a second run length of the cable retaining structure from the first straight segment to the second end with a second straight segment arranged at the second end.
Bekhouche teaches an offshore cable laying vessel comprising a cable retaining structure from the first end to the first straight segment is smaller than a second run length of the cable retaining structure from the first straight segment to the second end with a second straight segment arranged at the second end (oblong structure, straightens slightly on both sides; Figures 11a-12).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Li by substituting the oblong shape as described by Bekhouche to provide a more gradual release for the cable to thereby reduce stresses on it during the overboarding process thus preventing potential damage and costly repairs.
Regarding claim 10, Li fails to disclose a traverse extending from a region adjacent to the first end of the path to a region adjacent to the second end of the path.
Bekhouche teaches a traverse extending from a region adjacent to the first end of the path to a region adjacent to the second end of the path (Figures 11A-12).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Li by adding the traverse as described by Bekhouche to provide stability and rigidity in the structure to enable it to accommodate greater loads from cables and withstand forces from the ocean without potentially becoming damaged and requiring costly repairs.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 114156788 A) in view of Irtec (NL 2022670 B1).
Regarding claims 12-14 Li fails to disclose the bow is connected to a lifting device to lower it to the sea via a cable/wire, chutes to guide the cable over the edge of the deck, and modules on the deck forming a mezzanine deck.
Irtec teaches a cable overboarding system comprising a lifting device to lower a bow to the sea via a cable/wire, chutes to guide the cable over the edge of the deck, and modules on the deck forming a mezzanine deck ().
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Li by adding the lifting equipment, chutes and modules as described by Irtec to provide a safe and capable means for installing cable on the seafloor that does not damage the cable and additionally accommodate support and auxiliary equipment required to perform the installation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 9 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or suggest – either alone or in combination – a cable handling bow and method of using comprising a gap arranged asymmetrically on the cable handling bow, a plurality of curved support surfaces distributed along the gap, and tilting the bow into an upright position from a horizontal one and then lifting it from the deck; as explicitly recited in the instant claims.
Conclusion
KYLE ARMSTRONG, P.E.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3678
/KYLE ARMSTRONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619