DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ting US 2006/0275989 in view of Shinohara US 2016/0004109.
Regarding claim 1, Ting teaches a method for manufacturing a display device, comprising the steps of: forming a first display panel and a second display panel (se fig. 3A) , each between a first substrate (fig. 3A second substrate 32) and a second substrate (first substrate 31); forming a groove portion in the second substrate (see fig. 3B); and cutting the first substrate (see fig. 3E-3F) to separate the first display panel from the second display panel.
Ting does not teach forming a protection film over a top surface and a side surface of the second substrate, and a portion of a top surface of the first substrate. Shinohara teaches forming a protection film (fig. 8 barrier film 141) over a top surface and a side surface of the second substrate (counter substrate 20), and a portion of a top surface of the first substrate (element substrate 10) to enhance moisture resistance [0076]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ting in view of Shinohara to enhance moisture resistance.
Regarding claim 2, Ting in view of Shinohara teaches the method for manufacturing a display device according to claim 1, Ting further teaches wherein the first display panel and the second display panel are a liquid crystal display panel [0012].
Regarding claim 3, Ting teaches a method for manufacturing a display device, comprising the steps of: forming a first display panel and a second display panel (see fig. 3A), each between a first substrate (second substrate 32) and a second substrate (first substrate 31); forming a groove portion in the second substrate (see fig. 3B); and cutting the first substrate to separate the first display panel from the second display panel (see fig. 3E-3F).
Ting does not teach forming a protection film over a top surface and a side surface of the second substrate, and a portion of a top surface of the first substrate by an atomic layer deposition method. Shinohara teaches forming a protection film (fig. 8 barrier film 141) over a top surface (counter substrate 20) and a side surface of the second substrate, and a portion of a top surface of the first substrate (element substrate 10) by an atomic layer deposition method [0068] to enhance moisture resistance [0076]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ting in view of Shinohara to enhance moisture resistance.
Regarding claim 4, Ting in view of Shinohara teaches the method for manufacturing a display device according to claim 3, Ting further teaches the first display panel and the second display panel are a liquid crystal display panel [0012].
Regarding claim 5, Ting teaches a method for manufacturing a display device, comprising the steps of: forming a first display panel and a second display panel (see fig. 3A), each between a first substrate(second substrate 32) and a second substrate (first substrate 31); forming a groove portion in the second substrate (see fig. 3B); and cutting the first substrate to separate the first display panel from the second display panel (see fig. 3E-3F).
Ting does not teach forming an aluminum oxide film over a top surface and a side surface of the second substrate, and a portion of a top surface of the first substrate. Shinohara teaches forming an aluminum oxide film (fig. 8 barrier film 141) over a top surface and a side surface of the second substrate (counter substrate 20), and a portion of a top surface of the first substrate (element substrate 10) to enhance moisture resistance [0076]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ting in view of Shinohara to enhance moisture resistance.
Regarding claim 6, Ting in view of Shinohara teaches the method for manufacturing a display device according to claim 5, Ting further teaches wherein the first display panel and the second display panel are a liquid crystal display panel [0012].
Conclusion
/PHU VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871