DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following: the abstract is greater than 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informality: on line 14 of claim 15 (i.e., the last line of claim 15), the phrase “securing the first sleeve to second sleeve” should be “securing the first sleeve to the second sleeve.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the inner layers of the first end" on line 7 (“first inner layers” is previously recited). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the inner layers of the second end" on line 7 (“second inner layers” is previously recited). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nuha et al. (JP 2000 287350).
Regarding claim 1, in Figures 1A and 1B, Nuha discloses a cable system, wherein the cable system comprises: - a first cable section (1) comprising first inner layers (4, 3, 2) and a plurality of first armouring wires (9, 12) surrounding the first inner layers, wherein the first cable section is defined with a first end (not shown, but inherent since ‘intermediate/middle’ connection exists); - a second cable section (1; not shown, but adjacent double armoured cables 1 to be connected are arranged at adjacent ends; only the structure on the left side of the intermediate connection portion 14 is shown, structure on the right side is the same, thus omitted; paragraphs [0022], [0034], [0043]) comprising second inner layers (4, 3, 2) and a plurality of second armouring wires (9, 12) surrounding the second inner layers, wherein the second cable section is defined with a second end (not shown, but inherent since ‘intermediate/middle’ connection exists); wherein the inner layers of the first end are joined to the inner layers of the second end at a joint (paragraphs [0022], [0034], [0043]); wherein the cable system comprises: - a first sleeve (15, 17) comprising a first central bore (central passage/opening that cable 1 is disposed in) and a number of first wire holes (24) surrounding the first central bore, wherein the first inner layers are provided through the first central bore (Figure 1A) and wherein the first armouring wires are inserted into the first wire holes (wires 9 pass through tapered holes 24, paragraph [0036]; Figure 1B); - a second sleeve (15, 17; as stated above, only one portion of the cable device is shown, the other half has similar structure) comprising a second central bore (central passage/opening that cable 1 is disposed in) and a number of second wire holes (24) surrounding the second central bore, wherein the second inner layers are provided through the second central bore (Figure 1A), and wherein the second armouring wires are inserted into the second wire holes (wires 9 pass through tapered holes 24, paragraph [0036]; Figure 1B); - first fastening elements (26) for securing the first armouring wires in the first wire holes (Figure 1B); - second fastening elements (26) for securing the second armouring wires in the second wire holes (Figure 1B); and - a securing device (16) for securing the first sleeve and the second sleeve to each other (paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 2, Nuha discloses wherein the first sleeve comprises a first flange surrounding the first central bore, wherein the first wire holes are distributed circumferentially in the first flange around the first central bore, and/ or wherein the second sleeve comprises a second flange surrounding the second central bore, wherein the second wire holes are distributed circumferentially in the second flange around the second central bore (Figures 1A – 1B).
Regarding claim 3, Nuha discloses wherein the orientation of the first wire holes are aligned with the first armouring wires, and / or wherein the orientation of the second wire holes are aligned with the second armouring wires (Figures 1A – 1B).
Regarding claim 4, Nuha discloses wherein the number of first wire holes at least corresponds to the number of first armouring wires, and/ or wherein the number of second wire holes at least corresponds to the number of second armouring wires (Figures 1A – 1B).
Regarding claim 5, Nuha discloses wherein the first wire hole is provided with a first opening facing towards a first collar of the first sleeve and a second opening facing away from the first collar, wherein the first opening has a larger cross sectional area than the second opening, and wherein the first wire hole is at least partially tapered between the first opening and the second opening; and wherein the second wire hole is provided with a first opening facing towards a second collar of the second sleeve and a second opening facing away from the second collar, wherein the first opening has a larger cross sectional area than the second opening, and wherein the second wire hole is at least partially tapered between the first opening and the second opening (Figures 1A – 1B).
Regarding claim 6, Nuha discloses wherein the taper between the first opening and the second opening of the first wire hole is oriented in an orientation of the first armouring wires; and / or wherein the taper between the first opening and the second opening of the second wire hole is oriented in an orientation of the second armouring wires (Figures 1A – 1B).
Regarding claim 7, Nuha discloses wherein each first fastening element is a first wedging element; wherein each first wedging element is a cylindrical wedge or a conical wedge; and/or wherein each second fastening element is a second wedging element; wherein each second wedging element is a cylindrical wedge or a conical wedge (Figures 1A – 1B).
Regarding claim 8, Nuha discloses wherein each first wedging element comprises a planar surface provided with serrations, wherein each first armouring wire is engaged with the serrations of its respective first wedging element; and/or wherein each second wedging element comprises a planar surface provided with serrations, wherein each second armouring wire is engaged with the serrations of its respective second wedging element (Figures 1A – 1B).
Regarding claim 9, Nuha discloses wherein the cable system comprises at least a first stopper secured to at least an end of the first armouring wires, wherein the at least a first stopper is engaged with at least one of the first wedging elements; and / or wherein at least a second stopper is secured to at least an end of the second armouring wires, wherein the at least a second stopper is engaged with at least one of the second wedging elements (Figures 1A – 1B).
Regarding claim 10, Nuha discloses wherein the cable system comprises: - one single first wedging element in each first wire hole; and / or - one single second wedging element in each second wire hole (Figures 1A – 1B).
Regarding claim 11, Nuha discloses wherein the cable system comprises: - two first wedging elements in at least one of the first wire hole, wherein the two first wedging elements are located on opposite sides of the first armouring wire; and / or - two second wedging elements in at least one of the second wire hole, wherein the two second wedging elements are located on opposite sides of the second armouring wire (Figures 1A – 1B).
Regarding claim 12, Nuha discloses wherein the first wire holes are arranged as a number of outer first wire holes and a number of inner first wire holes, wherein the outer first wire holes are provided radially outside of the inner first wire holes; wherein the first cable section comprises outer first armouring wires and inner first armouring wires, wherein the outer first armouring wires are provided radially outside of the inner first armouring wires; wherein the outer first armouring wires are inserted into the outer first wire holes and wherein the inner first armouring wires are inserted into the inner first wire holes; and / or wherein the second wire holes are arranged as a number of outer second wire holes and a number of inner second wire holes, wherein the outer second wire holes are provided radially outside of the inner second wire holes; wherein the second cable section comprises outer second armouring wires and inner second armouring wires, wherein the outer second armouring wires are provided radially outside of the inner second armouring wires; wherein the outer second armouring wires are inserted into the outer second wire holes and wherein the inner second armouring wires are inserted into the inner second wire holes (Figures 1A – 1B).
Regarding claim 13, Nuha discloses the cable system according to claim 1, wherein the cable system comprises a temporary tensioning system comprising: - a first supporting element for engaging the first flange; - a second supporting element for engaging the second flange; - a tensioning element for engaging the first collar and the second collar for moving the first supporting element and the second supporting element in a direction towards each other, thereby moving the first sleeve relative to, and towards, the second sleeve; wherein the securing device is secured to the first collar and to the second collar when the temporary tensioning system has moved the first sleeve to a desired position relative to the second sleeve (Figures 1A – 1B).
Regarding claim 14, Nuha discloses wherein the first sleeve comprises a socket and wherein the second sleeve comprises a spigot inserted into the socket (Figures 1A – 1B).
Regarding claim 15, in Figures 1A and 1B, Nuha discloses a method for joining a first cable section (1) and a second cable section (1; not shown, but adjacent double armoured cables 1 to be connected are arranged at adjacent ends; only the structure on the left side of the intermediate connection portion 14 is shown, structure on the right side is the same, thus omitted; paragraphs [0022], [0034], [0043])) to each other, wherein the method comprises the following steps: - inserting first inner layers (4, 3, 2) of the first cable section through a first central bore (central passage/opening that cable 1 is disposed in) of a first sleeve (15, 17); - inserting second inner layers (4, 3, 2) of the second cable section through a second central bore (central passage/opening that cable 1 is disposed in) of a second sleeve (15, 17); - joining the first inner layers of the first cable section to the second inner layers of the second cable section at a joint (paragraphs [0022], [0034], [0043]); - inserting first armouring wires (9) into first wire holes (wires 9 pass through tapered holes 24, paragraph [0036]; Figure 1B) of the first sleeve; - inserting first fastening elements (26) into the first wire holes to secure the first armouring wires to the first sleeve (Figure 1B); - inserting second armouring wires (9) into second wire holes (wires 9 pass through tapered holes 24, paragraph [0036]; Figure 1B) of the second sleeve (Figure 1B); - inserting second fastening elements (26) into the second wire holes (wires 9 pass through tapered holes 24, paragraph [0036]; Figure 1B) to secure the second armouring wires to the second sleeve; - securing the first sleeve to second sleeve (paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 16, Nuha discloses wherein the method comprises: - securing at least a first stopper to at least an end of the first armouring wires (8), wherein the at least a first stopper is engaged with the at least a first fastening element; and / or - securing at least a second stopper to at least an end of the second armouring wires, wherein the at least a second stopper is engaged with the at least a second fastening element (Figures 1A – 1B).
Regarding claim 17, Nuha discloses wherein the method comprises: - providing a temporary tensioning system comprising a first supporting element for engaging a first collar of the first sleeve and a second supporting element for engaging a second collar of the second sleeve and a tensioning element; - tensioning the tensioning element for moving the first supporting element and the second supporting element in a direction towards each other, thereby moving the first sleeve relative to, and towards, the second sleeve; wherein the step of securing the first sleeve to the second sleeve comprises attaching a securing device to the first collar and to the second collar when the temporary tensioning system has moved the first sleeve to a desired position relative to the second sleeve (Figures 1A – 1B).
Conclusion
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847