DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Temperature measuring member (temperature sensor, para. [0043]) in at least claims 1-14.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Valve block part (valves, valve block, heater, gaskets, temperature measuring member para. [0053-0055], in at least claims 1-14.
Gas supply part (gas hub, branch line part, para. [0067]) in at least claims 1-14.
Branch line part (branched gas lines, para. [0067]) in at least claims 1-14.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20220267898 to Salinas.
Claim 1: Salinas discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a substrate support (116 [support/susceptor], Fig. 1) on which a substrate (120 [substrate]) is supported (para. [0038]); a shower head part (112 [gas distribution plate]) provided to face the substrate support (116) and configured to inject a process gas toward the substrate (120); and a gas supply part (136 [manifold], Fig. 2B) configured to supply the process gas to the shower head part (112), wherein the gas supply part (136) comprises a valve block part (150/250) installed on an upper portion of the shower head part (112) to adjust a flow of the process gas (para. [0061]).
Claim 2: Salinas discloses wherein the process gas comprises a plurality of gases (para. [0038], Salinas), and the gas supply part (136) is configured to sequentially supply the plurality of gases to the shower head part (112, para. [0057], [0072]).
Claim 3: Salinas discloses wherein the valve block part (250, Fig. 2A/2B, Salinas) comprises: a plurality of valves (140/144/148/220 [ALD valves], Fig. 5A) to which a plurality of gas lines (“delivery lines,” para. [0041-0042]), through which the plurality of gases are supplied, are connected, respectively; and a valve block (304 [multivalve block]) fixed to a top surface of the shower head part (112) to support the plurality of valves (140/144/148/220, para. [0062]).
Claim 6: Salinas discloses wherein the valve block (250, Fig. 5A, Salinas) comprises an internal gas passage (internal gas passage of 250) connected to each of the plurality of gas lines (“delivery lines”), and the valve (140/144/148/220) is configured to control a flow of each of the plurality of gases in the internal gas passage (para. [0062]).
Claim 9: Salinas discloses wherein the valve block part (250, Fig. 2A/2B, Salinas) is directly connected to an inlet (108 [nozzle], Fig. 1) of the shower head part (112).
Claim 10: Salinas discloses wherein the plurality of gases comprise a source gas and a reactant gas (para. [0042]), and the source gas and the reactant gas are separated to be introduced into the inlet (108) of the shower head part (112, para. [0041]).
Claim 11: Salinas discloses further comprising a plurality of sub-chambers (“processing stations,” para. [0045], Fig. 2A-2C, Salinas), each of which is provided with the substrate support (116) and the shower head part (112) and in which processes are performed independently (para. [0109]), and the gas supply part (136) comprises: a gas hub (136) to which the process gas is supplied (para. [0061]); and a branch line part (“branch off lines,” para. [0046]) constituted by the gas lines (“delivery lines”) branched from the gas hub (136) and connected respectively to the shower head part (112) of each of the plurality of sub-chambers (“processing stations,” para. [0046]).
Claim 12: Salinas discloses wherein the gas hub (136, Fig. 2C, Salinas) is provided in plurality (para. [0046]) and each of the plurality of gases is supplied to each of the gas hubs (136), and the branch line part (branch off lines) is provided in each of the gas hubs (136, para. [0046]).
Claim 13: Salinas discloses wherein the plurality of valves (140/144/148/220 [ALD valves], Fig. 5A, Salinas) are connected respectively to the gas lines (“delivery lines”) that are connected to the shower head part (112) of the same sub-chamber (“processing station”) by extending in the same direction from the different gas hubs (136, Fig. 2A-2C).
Claim 14: Salinas discloses wherein the valve block part (250, Fig. 2A/2B, Salinas) is configured as an integrated type (Fig. 2A-2C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salinas as applied to claims 1-3, 6, 9-14 above, and further in view of US 20170350011 to Marquardt.
Claim 4: Salinas does not disclose wherein the valve block part further comprises a heater configured to heat the valve block.
However Marquardt discloses wherein the valve block part (112 [valve blocks, Fig. 2) further comprises a heater (126 [heaters]) configured to heat the valve block (112, para. [0051]) for the purpose of disposing to maintain a constant temperature throughout the valve blocks (para. [0051]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the heater as taught by Marquardt with motivation to dispose to maintain a constant temperature throughout the valve blocks.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salinas in view of Marquardt as applied to claims 4 above, and further in view of US 20030101938 to Ronsse.
Claim 5: The apparatus of Salinas in view of Marquardt does not disclose wherein the valve block part further comprises a temperature measuring member configured to measure a temperature of the valve block.
However Ronsse discloses wherein the valve block part (828 [valve block], Fig. 21) further comprises a temperature measuring member (204 [thermocouple]) configured to measure a temperature of the valve block (828, para. [0162]) for the purpose of monitoring the temperature and providing feedback to the temperature controllers (para. [0162]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the temperature measuring member as taught by Ronsse with motivation to monitor the temperature and providing feedback to the temperature controllers.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salinas as applied to claims 1-3, 6, 9-14 above, and further in view of US 5918593 to Loser.
Claim 7: Salinas does not disclose wherein an inner surface of the internal gas passage is surface-treated.
However Loser discloses wherein an inner surface of the internal gas passage (inner surface of 20/21 [valve block], Fig. 1) is surface-treated (“polished surfaces”) for the purpose of reducing adhesion of fluid on the surfaces (c. 5, l. 25-36).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the treatment requirement of Loser with motivation to reduce adhesion of fluid on the surfaces.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salinas as applied to claims 1-3, 6, 9-14 above, and further in view of US 20230228339 to Min.
Claim 8: Salinas does not disclose wherein the valve block part further comprises a plurality of gaskets, each of which is provided between each of the plurality of valves and the valve block.
Min discloses wherein the valve block part (4 [block valve], Fig. 3) further comprises a gasket (422a [closing member], Fig. 3), each of which is provided between the valve (422 [valve body]) and the valve block (41 [block body] of 4), for the purpose of reinforcing more a closing force using the closing member (para. [0067]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the gasket as taught by Min with motivation to reinforce more a closing force using the closing member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20250137128 discloses a process gas supply device including a plurality of gas hubs, a plurality of gas lines 120, and heat generating element 133 (para. [0040-0048]).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718