DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Previous 35 USC 112 rejections were
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the order of the steps/paragraph order is confusing. It is unclear if the aluminum compound is meant to be only an aluminum containing gas, or if it is the insulation film. Formula 2 needs to be distinguished in the claim as a compound or a film.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khadelwal et al. (US 2019/0040279 A1) in view of Paranjpe (US 2003/0134038 A1).
As to claim 1, Khaldelwal teaches forming an insulation film with flowable CVD with the claimed aluminum precursors and hydrogen/oxygen containing gas that creates forming a film that includes (method comprises, will include) a flowable oxygen containing aluminum compound. The aluminum containing gas and hydrogen containing gas are coreactants in para para 0968-1010. The film is further annealed in para 1010. Khaldelwal teaches the elements of the claims as alternatives and not necessarily as one embodiment.
Paranjpe teaches an aluminum containing gas of that claimed, a hydrogen containing gas with remote plasma to form an oxygen containing aluminum compound (para 0070, 0005). Annealing occurs to finish the film in para 0080-0081. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the combination of claimed elements in Khadelwal as taught by Parnajpe as Paranjpe teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
As to claim 2, trimethylaluminum is used in Paranjpe para 0070, Khadelwal para 0968-1010.
As to claim 3, Khadelwal teaches the aluminum compound as an additive gas or secondary reactant in para 0968-1010.
As to claim 4, the hydrogen containing gas is as claimed in Paranjpe para 0070, Khadelwal para 0968-1010.
As to claim 5, the claim is unclear as to whether the temperature is the annealing temperature or the film forming temperature. Thus, this is taught in Khandelwal para 1200. Further, Paranjpe repeatedly designates the annealing temperature as a result effective variable in order to gain the required film properties (para 0080). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the claimed annealing temperature, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 6, the annealing is in a non-oxidizing atmosphere in Paranjpe para 0080-0081.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718