DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1:
A method for planning a safe trajectory for an autonomous vehicle, the method comprising:
receiving both a route for the autonomous vehicle from a current location to a finishing location, and a driving passage along the route;
periodically verifying a set of vehicle control parameters as the autonomous vehicle navigates through the route, wherein a subset of the vehicle control parameters are verified less periodically than a remainder of the vehicle control parameters;
determining a local trajectory relative to the driving passage based on the set of vehicle control parameters; and
transmitting the local trajectory to a vehicle control system of the autonomous vehicle.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The determination of whether a claim recites patent ineligible subject matter is a 2 step inquiry.
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), see MPEP 2106.03, or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis: see MPEP 2106.04
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1)
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(2)
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? see MPEP 2106.05
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 1 is directed to a method for planning a safe trajectory… (i.e., a process). Therefore, claim 1 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 10 is directed to a system for planning a safe trajectory… (i.e., a machine). Therefore, claim 10 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes. see MPEP 2106(A)(II)(1) and MPEP 2106.04(a)-(c)
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below [with the category of abstract idea in brackets]) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 1 recites:
A method for planning a safe trajectory for an autonomous vehicle, the method comprising:
receiving both a route for the autonomous vehicle from a current location to a finishing location, and a driving passage along the route;
periodically verifying a set of vehicle control parameters as the autonomous vehicle navigates through the route, wherein a subset of the vehicle control parameters are verified less periodically than a remainder of the vehicle control parameters;
determining a local trajectory relative to the driving passage based on the set of vehicle control parameters; [mental process/step] and
transmitting the local trajectory to a vehicle control system of the autonomous vehicle.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “determining…” in the context of this claim encompasses a person (driver) looking at data collected and forming a simple judgement. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(2) and MPEP 2106.04(d)(2). It must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” [with a description of the additional limitations in brackets], while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”.):
A method for planning a safe trajectory for an autonomous vehicle, the method comprising:
receiving both a route for the autonomous vehicle from a current location to a finishing location, and a driving passage along the route; [pre-solution activity (data gathering)]
periodically verifying a set of vehicle control parameters as the autonomous vehicle navigates through the route, wherein a subset of the vehicle control parameters are verified less periodically than a remainder of the vehicle control parameters; [mental process/step]
determining a local trajectory relative to the driving passage based on the set of vehicle control parameters; [mental process/step] and
transmitting the local trajectory to a vehicle control system of the autonomous vehicle.[insignificant post-solution activity; transmitting results of the mental process]
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “receiving both a route…,” “periodically verifying a set of vehicle control parameters,…, ” and “transmitting…,” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (vehicle control system) to perform the process. In particular, the receiving step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering vehicle and road condition data for use in the determining step), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The transmitting results step on the is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of transmitting the local trajectory result from the determining step), and amounts to mere post solution displaying, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Lastly, the “vehicle control system” is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of ranking information based on a determined amount of use) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. see MPEP § 2106.05. Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the Revised Guidance, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a vehicle control system to perform the determining… amounts to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, the additional limitations of “receiving both a route…,” periodically verifying,…, ” and “transmitting…,” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities. In addition, these additional limitations (and the combination, thereof) amount to no more than what is well-understood, routine and conventional activity. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim(s) [4-9, 13-18] do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application [provide concise explanation]. Therefore, dependent claims 4-9, 13-18] are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of [1]. Claims 2-3, 11-12 are patent eligible.
Therefore, claim(s) [1, 4-9, 10, 13-18] is/are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/957,979 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claim 1 of the present application recites :
A method for planning a safe trajectory for an autonomous vehicle, the method comprising: receiving both a route for the autonomous vehicle from a current location to a finishing location, and a driving passage along the route;
periodically verifying a set of vehicle control parameters as the autonomous vehicle navigates through the route, wherein a subset of the vehicle control parameters are verified less periodically than a remainder of the vehicle control parameters;
determining a local trajectory relative to the driving passage based on the set of vehicle control parameters; and transmitting the local trajectory to a vehicle control system of the autonomous vehicle.
Claim 20 of application number 18/957,979 recites:
A method for planning a safe trajectory for an autonomous vehicle, the method comprising: receiving both a route for the autonomous vehicle from a current location to a finishing location, and a driving passage along the route;
allocating, while the autonomous vehicle navigates through the route, resources to data that has a greatest effect on vehicle trajectory when: periodically reading a set of vehicle control parameters; and
determining a local trajectory relative to the driving passage based on the set of vehicle control parameters; and transmitting the local trajectory to a vehicle control system of the autonomous vehicle.
Though the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as the prior art or application 18/957,979 recites periodically reading a set of vehicle control parameters while the application recites the equivalent of periodically verifying a set of vehicle control parameters as the autonomous vehicle navigates through the route. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the systems to verifying the sets of vehicle control parameters for helping the autonomous vehicle to navigate its route.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 10, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (U.S. Pub No. 20190317512).
Regarding claims 1, 10, Zhang et al. discloses a method and system for planning a safe trajectory for an autonomous vehicle (ADV) (See abstract), the method comprising: receiving both a route for the autonomous vehicle from a current location to a finishing location, and a driving passage along the route (See abstract: starting point to end point; driving scenario);
“In one embodiment, a system generates a plurality of trajectory candidates for an autonomous driving vehicle (ADV) from a starting point to an end point of a particular driving scenario. The system generates a reference trajectory corresponding to the driving scenario based on a current state of the ADV associated with the starting point and an end state of the ADV associated with the end point, where the reference trajectory is associated with an objective. For each of the trajectory candidates, the system compares the trajectory candidate with the reference trajectory to generate an objective cost representing a similarity between the trajectory candidate and the reference trajectory. The system selects one of the trajectory candidates as a target trajectory for driving the ADV based on objective costs of the trajectory candidates.”
periodically verifying a set of vehicle control parameters as the autonomous vehicle navigates through the route, wherein a subset of the vehicle control parameters are verified less periodically than a remainder of the vehicle control parameters; (See paragraph 0022, the comparing step is considered as periodically verifying, 0026) and wherein in paragraph 0028 showing components considered as vehicle control parameters are verified less periodically than a remainder of the vehicle control parameters); determining a local trajectory relative to the driving passage based on the set of vehicle control parameters (See paragraph 0028, 0029, 0034;
and transmitting the local trajectory to a vehicle control system of the autonomous vehicle (See paragraph 0030, 0033).(using wireless communication system for communicating to the autonomous vehicle)
“[0033] Referring back to FIG. 1, wireless communication system 112 is to allow communication between autonomous vehicle 101 and external systems, such as devices, sensors, other vehicles, etc. For example, wireless communication system 112 can wirelessly communicate with one or more devices directly or via a communication network, such as servers 103-104 over network 102. Wireless communication system 112 can use any cellular communication network or a wireless local area network (WLAN), e.g., using WiFi to communicate with another component or system. Wireless communication system 112 could communicate directly with a device (e.g., a mobile device of a passenger, a display device, a speaker within vehicle 101), for example, using an infrared link, Bluetooth, etc. User interface system 113 may be part of peripheral devices implemented within vehicle 101 including, for example, a keyword, a touch screen display device, a microphone, and a speaker, etc.”
Regarding claims 4, 13, Zhang et al. disclose wherein the set of vehicle control parameters include data from vehicle sensors assigned for obstacle detection, wherein the subset of the vehicle control parameters include sensor data capturing non-moving obstacles, and wherein the remainder of the vehicle control parameters include sensor data capturing moving obstacles (See paragraph 0036).
[0036] While autonomous vehicle 101 is moving along the route, perception and planning system 110 may also obtain real-time traffic information from a traffic information system or server (TIS). Note that servers 103-104 may be operated by a third party entity. Alternatively, the functionalities of servers 103-104 may be integrated with perception and planning system 110. Based on the real-time traffic information, MPOI information, and location information, as well as real-time local environment data detected or sensed by sensor system 115 (e.g., obstacles, objects, nearby vehicles), perception and planning system 110 can plan an optimal route and drive vehicle 101, for example, via control system 111, according to the planned route to reach the specified destination safely and efficiently.
Regarding claims 5, 14, Zhang et al. disclose wherein the route is calculated according to a map data structure, and wherein the driving passage is calculated according to a vehicle-to-everything infrastructure (See paragraph 0026, 0035, 0036).
Regarding claims 6, 15, Zhang et al. disclose wherein the driving passage guarantees both a minimum time to reach the finishing location and driving safety. (See paragraph 0004; reasonable time from a current location to a destination).
“[0004] There are several factors that need to be considered for a longitudinal trajectory generation process. Some factors can be: safety and comfort for onboard passengers of the ADV and/or nearby pedestrians, and traffic rule following factors. To achieve a safe operation of the ADV, a trajectory generation process needs to account for obstacles in the surrounding environment. For a comfortable operation, the trajectories need to be to be a smooth and efficient trajectory, i.e., trajectories with graceful accelerations which can maneuver an ADV from a current location to a destination within a reasonable time. Lastly, the trajectories need to follow local traffic rules, i.e., stop at red signal lights and stop signs, etc. There has been a lack of efficient ways to generate a trajectory considering all of these factors appropriately.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Milstein et al. (U.S. Pub No. 20190212744) disclose a method for receiving autonomous vehicle (AV) driving path data associated with a driving path in a roadway of a geographic location. The driving path data associated with a trajectory for an AV in a roadway and trajectory points in a trajectory of the driving path in the roadway for determining at least one feature of the roadway positioned a lateral distance from a first trajectory of the one or more trajectories of the driving path of an AV based on the map data. The method includes receiving map data associated with a map of a geographic location, determining a driving path for an AV in a roadway, generating driving path information based on a trajectory point in a trajectory of the driving path, and providing driving path data associated with the driving path to an AV for controlling the AV on the roadway.
/GERTRUDE ARTHUR JEANGLAUDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661