DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s note
Examiner contacted Applicant’s representative, attorney Todd M. Hopfinger, on 02/08/2026, and suggested Applicant to file form SB439 in case the Examiner find allowable subject matter and send proposed amendment to the Applicant. Unfortunately, after searching and reviewing prior art and reading the specification of instant application, Examiner cannot identify allowable subject matter to suggest the Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sharma et al. (US 20200152234).
Regarding claim 1, limitations of a method as claimed corresponding to the limitations of the system recited in claim 8 are analyzed as discussed below in the rejection of claim 8. Particularly, Sharman discloses a computer-implemented method comprising: first determining, by at least one computer processor, there is a streaming discontinuity associated with data comprising video data at a first video bitrate and audio data at a first audio bitrate; second determining, in response to the first determination that there is the streaming discontinuity, that a measured network bandwidth available for video downloads is lower or equal to a lowest available video bitrate, and that the measured network bandwidth plus a difference between a highest available audio bitrate for the audio data and a lowest available audio bitrate for the audio data is greater than or equal to a selected bitrate for the video data; in response to the second determination, adjusting the first audio bitrate to a second audio bitrate during the streaming discontinuity, wherein the second audio bitrate is different from the first audio bitrate; and stream the data at the second audio bitrate (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 8 below).
Regarding claims 2-7, additional limitations of the computer-implemented method that correspond to the additional limitations of a system in claims 8-14 are analyzed as discussed in the rejection of claims 8-14.
Regarding claim 8, Sharma discloses a computing system for performing adaptive audio bitrate selection (see figures 3-4), comprising:
one or more memories (one or more memories 114, 124 in content player and/or distribution infrastructure with computing system – see figures 1, 3-4, paragraphs 0011, 0038-0039, 0047, 0057-0059); and
at least one processor each coupled to at least one of the memories and configured to perform operations (e.g., processor 112, 122 each coupled to at least one of the memory 114, 124 and configured to perform operations – see figures 1, 3-4, paragraphs 0011, 0038-0039, 0047, 0057-0059) comprising:
first determining there is a streaming discontinuity associated with streaming data comprising video data at a first video bitrate and audio data at a first audio bitrate (determining there is a streaming discontinuity/switching of bitrates, using indicator or metadata indicating of variable bit rates, segment information, etc. associated with streaming data comprising video data at a first video bitrate and audio data at a first audio bitrate – see include, but are not limited to, paragraphs 0080, 0082, 0086, 0096-0100, 0105-0106, 0108, 0110) ;
second determining, in response to the first determination that there is the streaming discontinuity, that a measured network bandwidth available for video downloads is lower or equal to a lowest available video bitrate and that the measured network bandwidth plus a difference between a highest available audio bitrate for the audio data and a lowest available audio bitrate for the audio data is greater than or equal to a selected bitrate for the video data (second determining, in response to a first determination that there is the streaming discontinuing or changing/switching, that a network bandwidth available for video downloads is lower or equal to bit rate of minimum video quality level (Vmin)/lowest video playback bit rates and that network available for video plus bit rate of audio for the remain portion of available bandwidth is greater than or equal to a selected bitrate for video data – see include, but are not limited to, figure 6, paragraphs 0050, 0067, 0069-0071, 0088-0089, 0094, 0098, 0102, 0105-0106, wherein the “difference between highest available audio bitrate and lowest available bitrate for the audio signal” could be read as indicating line of audio quality level 603 which indicates difference between the highest available bitrate for video (e.g. near Vmin line after T4 and Amin line as shown in figure 6);
in response to the second determination, adjusting the first audio bitrate to a second audio bitrate during the streaming discontinuity, wherein the second audio bitrate is different from the first audio bitrate; and stream the data at the second audio bitrate (in response to the second determination based on first bit rate of video quality level, first bit rate of audio quality level, current available bandwidth, adjusting/switching the first audio bit rate to a second audio bit rate during the discontinuing/changing, wherein the second bitrate is different (lower or higher based on whether the available bandwidth decreasing or increasing) from the previous audio bitrate before switching, and stream the data of video and/or audio the second audio bit rate – see include, but are not limited to, figures 4-6, 9-11, paragraphs 0064, 0069-0070, 0087-0090, 0105-0107).
Regarding claim 9, Sharma discloses the computing system of claim 8, wherein the streaming discontinuity comprises an event of a rebuffer, an event of a streaming session paused by a user, or an event of an interruption on the data (e.g., rebuffering, freezing, dropping of bandwidth availability, not enough content in buffer, audio buffer has dropped below a specified amount of buffered data, etc. – see include, but are not limited to, paragraphs 0030, 0071, 0108).
Regarding claim 10, Sharma discloses the computing system of claim 8, wherein the selected bitrate is associated with previously downloaded information (selected bit rate is associated with/based on previously downloaded information/historical data of bitrate – see include, but are not limited to, figures 9-11, paragraphs 0078, 0101-0102, 0105).
Regarding claim 11, Sharma discloses the computing system of claim 8, wherein the operation of the adjusting the first audio bitrate to the second audio bitrate during the streaming discontinuity comprises: selecting an audio stream at the second bitrate (see include, but are not limited to, figures 6, 11, paragraphs 0069, 0089).
Regarding claim 12, Sharma discloses the computing system of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise: selecting the second audio bitrate based on an adaptive audio bitrate selection process (selecting the second audio bit rate based on an adaptive audio bit rate selection process according to change in available bandwidth – see include, but are not limited to, figures 6, 11, and paragraphs 0069, 0088-0089, 0095).
Regarding claim 13, Sharma discloses the computing system of claim 8, the operations further comprising: subsequent to streaming the data at the second audio bitrate, third determining whether there is a subsequent streaming discontinuity associated with the data; fourth determining, in response to the third determination that there is a subsequent streaming discontinuity, that the measured network bandwidth available for video downloads is lower or equal to the lowest available video bitrate, that the selected bitrate for the video data is equal to the lowest available video bitrate, and that the measured network bandwidth plus the difference between the highest available audio bitrate for the audio data and the lowest available audio bitrate for the audio data is greater than or equal to the selected bitrate for the video data; and in response to the fourth determination, adjusting the second audio bitrate to the first audio bitrate during the subsequent streaming discontinuity (see – see include, but are not limited to, figures 5- 6, paragraphs 0050, 0067, 0069-0071, 0088-0089, 0094, 0098, 0102, 0105-0106 and similar discussion in the rejection of claim 1 for subsequently to streaming data at the second audio bitrate and determining changing in discontinuity based on scene, change in network availability, increasing or dropping of buffered data in audio buffer, etc. selecting new quality of audio with increasing bit rate or decreasing bit rate based on change of bandwidth available).
Regarding claim 14, Sharma discloses the computing system of claim 13, wherein the operations further comprise: streaming the data, subsequent to the subsequent streaming discontinuity, at the first audio bitrate (e.g., switching back to previous audio bit rate when bandwidth availability is improved/increase -see include, but are not limited to, figures 6, 9-11, paragraphs 0070-0071).
Regarding claim 15, limitations of a non-transitory computer readable medium that correspond to the limitations of system in claim 8 are analyzed as discussed in the rejection of claim 8. Particularly, Sharman discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising: first determining there is a streaming discontinuity associated with data comprising video data at a first video bitrate and audio data at a first audio bitrate; second determining, in response to the first determination that there is the streaming discontinuity, that a measured network bandwidth available for video downloads is lower or equal to a lowest available video bitrate, and that the measured network bandwidth plus a difference between a highest available audio bitrate for the audio data and a lowest available audio bitrate for the audio data is greater than or equal to a selected bitrate for the video data; in response to the second determination, adjusting the first audio bitrate to a second audio bitrate during the streaming discontinuity, wherein the second audio bitrate is different from the first audio bitrate; and stream the data at the second audio bitrate (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 8).
Regarding claims 16-20, additional limitations of the non-transitory computer readable medium that correspond to the additional limitations of the system in claims 9-14 are analyzed as discussed in the rejection of claims 9-14.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12192541. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims 1-20 and Patent claims 1-17 are directed to the same invention with a different in scope and are therefore an obvious variant thereof or the invention defined in instant claims 1-20 is an obvious variation of the invention defined in the patent claims 1-17 because for limitations in the instant claims that are not recited in patent claims (e.g., “by at least one computer processor” as recited in claim 1) are known by prior art (see for example, prior arts discussed in the rejection above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art combine in patent claims with the well-known teachings of “…by at least one computer processor” in order for a “computer-implemented method” to be performed.
Allowance of claims 1-20 would result in an un-warranted timewise extension of the monopoly granted for the invention as defined in claims 1-17 of Patent No. 12,192,541.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pikin et al. (US 20120140018) discloses server-assisted video conversation comprising adjusting audio bit rate and video bit rate according to change of network bandwidth (paragraphs 0015, 0015).
Condon et al. (US 20120254457) discloses system and method of adaptive transport of multimedia data (see also paragraph 0036).
Ma et al. (US 20130097309) discloses method and apparatus for carrier controlled dynamic rate adaption and client playout rate reduction.
/AN SON P HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426
February 13, 2026