Claim(s) 1 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moradian et al (2024/0248297) in view of Matsushita et al (2016/0322241).
The Moradian et al reference teaches a method and apparatus for semiconducting processing, note entire reference. The Moradian et al apparatus comprising a processing chamber para.11 and figs. The chamber body defining a processing volume disposed between a lid and a floor. There is an upper window and a lower window para. 11. A substrate support assembly note figs; and arrays of radiant heating lamps (108, 110) para.44 and fig 2. The sole difference between the instant claim and the prior art is the cooling channels extending at least partially between the one or more heat sources and the one or more windows. However, the Matsushita et al reference teaches a coolant flow path (201) and a flow path (202) are provided between a transmission window (162) provided in a processing chamber (37) and a lamp (61) of a chamber (60) (note paragraphs 43, 103-104, figure 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Moradian et al reference by the teachings of the Matsushita et al reference to add a cooling means between windows and heater in order to control the temperature of the chamber for increase deposition control.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moradian et al (2024/0248297) in view of Matsushita et al (2016/0322241) and Sriraman et al (2018/0156489).
The Moradian et al and Matsushita et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in the cooling channels being loops. However, the Sriraman et al reference teaches cooling channel loops in chambers, note fig 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Moradian et al reference by the teachings of the Sriraman et al reference to have the cooling means in loop form in order to increase heat transfer during operation.
With regards to claim 3, the Sriraman et al reference teaches a loop which are parallel to the support, note fig. 2
With regards to claim 5, the Sriraman et al. reference teaches controllers for the coolant means, note fig 2.
Claim(s) 4 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moradian et al (2024/0248297) in view of Matsushita et al (2016/0322241) and Sriraman et al (2018/0156489).
The Moradian et al, Sriraman et al and Matsushita et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in the shape of the coolant means. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the combined references to have a U-shaped tube in order to have an affective coolant means.
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moradian et al (2024/0248297) in view of Lau et al (2023/0369077).
The Moradian et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in blocker plates between the heaters. However, the Lau et al reference teaches a heat shield, a blocker, (175) is disposed between arrays of radiant heating lamps (104 a, 104 b) and a first window (108) to block unwanted transmission of heat (note paragraphs [21], [25], [27], figure 1A) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Moradian et al reference by the teachings of the Lau et al reference to have blockers between heaters in order to control the heating between heaters and the direction of the heat.
Claim(s) 7, 9, 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moradian et al (2024/0248297) in view of Lau et al (2023/0369077).
The Moradian et al and Lau et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in blocker plates sizes and positions with respect to each other . However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the combined references to have a different sized blocker plates and positions in order to better affect control over the heat in the chamber, noting the Moradian et al reference does show different blocker positions.
With regards to claim 10, Lau et al reference teaches actuators to move the blocks as need, note figs.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moradian et al (2024/0248297) in view of Lau et al (2023/0369077).
The Moradian et al and Lau et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in blocker plates having an opaque surface. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the combined references to have an opaque surface in order to better block the heat.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moradian et al (2024/0248297) in view of Lau et al (2023/0369077).
The Moradian et al and Lau et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in blocker plates positions . However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the combined references to have a different blocker plates positions in order to adjust as needed to the conditions.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moradian et al (2024/0248297) in view of Lau et al (2023/0369077).
The Moradian et al and Lau et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in blocker plates composition. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the combined references to have a blocker plates with different materials in order to have different heat absorption or reflection.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moradian et al (2024/0248297) in view of Matsushita et al (2016/0322241)
The Moradian et al and Matsushita et al. references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in the cooling liquid. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the combined references to use a specific coolant in order to increase heat transfer.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moradian et al (2024/0248297) in view of Matsushita et al (2016/0322241)
The Moradian et al and Matsushita et al. references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in the controlling over substrate temperatures. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the combined references to use the substrate temperatures to control in order to maintain the entire surface of the substrate at the deposition temperature.
Examiner’s Remarks
The remaining references are merely cited of interest as showing the state of the art in semiconductor deposition.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714