Theiss (2014/0016758)
Regarding claim 1, Theiss discloses a computed tomography imaging system, comprising: a gantry mounted to a floor (Theiss, [0020]), the gantry including; a rotating frame rotatably supported in the gantry (Theiss, [0020], tiltable frame 200 holding rotating part 300); at least one component mounted to the rotating frame (Theiss, [0021] CT scanner 310); and a gantry motion sensing system configured to sense, while the rotating frame is rotating, a motion of the gantry that is indicative of a state of one of an attachment of the gantry to the floor and an attachment of the at least one component to the rotating frame and generate a motion signal indicative of the state (Theiss, [0007], [0009]); and motion signal processing circuitry configured to process the motion signal, and, in response to determining that the motion signal exceeds at least one predetermined threshold, transmit a notification that indicates at least one of the attachment of the gantry to the floor and the attachment of the at least one component to the rotating frame is compromised. (Theiss, [0009],[0010])
Regarding claim 2, Theiss further discloses the notification is transmitted to at least one of a user of the computed tomography imaging system and a service provider of the computed tomography imaging system. (Theiss, [0027])
Regarding claim 3, Theiss further discloses the motion signal processing circuitry is further configured to prevent scanning in response to determining that the motion signal exceeds the at least one predetermined threshold. (Theiss, [0027])
Regarding claim 4, Theiss further discloses the motion signal processing circuitry is further configured to one of prevent the rotating frame from rotating, limit rotational speeds of the rotating frame, and stop the rotating frame from rotating in response to determining that the motion signal exceeds the at least one predetermined threshold. (Theiss, [0027], [0009])
Regarding claim 5, Theiss further discloses an operator console with a display monitor, wherein the motion signal processing circuitry is further configured to display graphical indicia that indicates the state via the display monitor. (Theiss, [0009],[0027],[0028])
Regarding claim 7, Theiss further discloses the at least one predetermined threshold includes a plurality of threshold ranges, each associated with a different set of actions. (Theiss, [0009])
Regarding claim 8, Theiss further discloses the gantry motion sensing system is configured to sense the motion of the gantry during calibration scanning. (Theiss, [0009])
Regarding claim 9, Theiss further discloses the gantry motion sensing system is configured to sense the motion of the gantry during diagnostic scanning. (Theiss, [0009])
Regarding claim 10, Theiss further discloses the at least one predetermined threshold is determined based at least on baseline motion data acquired during a motion state of the computed tomography imaging system within manufacturer’s specifications. (Theiss, [0010], contemplation of “unexpected” frequencies presupposes measurement of a correctly operating machine to identify “expected” vibration frequencies)
Regarding claims 11-20, claims 11-20 contain limitations previously addressed with respect to claims 1-5 and 7-10, and are rejected on the same grounds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theiss.
Regarding claim 6, Theiss lacks explicit teaching of the motion signal processing circuitry is further configured to initiate a re-calibration in response to determining that the motion signal exceeds the at least one predetermined threshold.
However, Theiss discloses providing alerts for impending failure (Theiss, [0010]), sufficient failure to warrant shutdown (Theiss, [0009]), and possible earthquakes and other external sources of vibration (Theiss, [0027]). In the event of any such disturbance that significantly impacts the function of the sensitive machine, suggesting recalibration is obvious.
Conclusion
/EDWIN C GUNBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884