DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Amendment filed 5/27/2026 wherein claims 6, 10, 14 and 19 are canceled, claims 2-5 and 16-17 are withdrawn, and claims 1, 7-9, 11-13, 15,18, and 20-22 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Little (US 2017/0074172) in view of Ekra Devalere et al. (US 2020/0308977) and Lozyniak et al. (US 2016/0327319).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Little teaches (Figures 1-4) a gas turbine engine (44), comprising:
a compressor section (40);
a turbine section (42) having an upstream rotor stage (94), a downstream rotor stage (74), an upstream turbine sub-section (annotated below), and a downstream turbine sub-section (annotated below), the upstream turbine sub-section (annotated below) radially outboard of (see annotation below) the upstream rotor stage (94), and the downstream turbine sub-section (annotated below) radially outboard of (see annotation below) the downstream rotor stage (74); and
a turbine cooling air system (annotated below) that includes a flow mixing device (46-1, 46-2, or 46-3) and a compressor bleed air flow valve (96-1), wherein the turbine cooling air system (annotated below) is configured to receive a first compressor bleed air flow (64-1) from a first compressor bleed port stage location (66) engaged with the compressor section (40), receive a second compressor bleed air flow (58-1) from a second compressor bleed port stage location (60) engaged with the compressor section (40) and receive a third compressor bleed air flow (58-3) from a third compressor bleed port (86) engaged with the compressor location (40), wherein the first compressor bleed port stage location (66) is disposed upstream of (see Figure 1) the second compressor bleed port stage location (60), and wherein the third compressor bleed port (86) is disposed downstream of (see Figure 1) the second compressor bleed port stage location (60) and the first compressor bleed port stage location (66); and
wherein the compressor bleed air flow valve (96-1) is controllable to be in an open configuration or a closed configuration (Paragraph 0043);
wherein the flow mixing device (46-1) is configured to receive the first compressor bleed air flow (64-1) and the second compressor bleed air flow (64-2);
wherein the turbine cooling air system (annotated below) is configured to operate in a first mode or a second mode (a mode where valves 96-1, 96-2, 96-3 are closed and all cooling air is supplied from bleed lines 58-1, 58-2, 58-3 and another mode where valves are opened to provide a flow of lower temperature air to be mixed with the primary air; see Paragraph 0043), wherein in the first mode (a mode where valves 96-1, 96-2, 96-3 are closed and all cooling air is supplied from bleed lines 58-1, 58-2, 58-3; see Paragraph 0043) the compressor bleed air flow valve (96-1) is in the closed configuration (Paragraph 0043) and in the second mode (a mode where valves are opened to provide a flow of lower temperature air to be mixed with the primary air; see Paragraph 0043) the compressor bleed air flow valve (96-1) is in the open configuration (Paragraph 0043) and the conditioned air flow (70) produced by the flow mixing device (46-1) is a mixture of the first compressor bleed air flow (64-1) and the second compressor bleed air flow (64-2); and
wherein the turbine cooling air system (annotated below) is configured to direct the conditioned air flow (70) to the downstream turbine sub-section (annotated below), wherein the turbine cooling air system (annotated below) is further configured to provide third compressor bleed air flow (86 to 92 via 58-3 and 90; see Figure 1) to the upstream turbine sub-section (annotated below) in an unimpeded manner (see Figures 1-2) from the third compressor bleed port (86), through a conduit (90), to the upstream turbine sub-section (annotated below).
Little does not teach that the compressor bleed air flow valve is in fluid communication with the second compressor bleed port and is controllable to be in an open configuration or a closed configuration, wherein in the first mode the compressor bleed air flow valve is in the closed configuration and a conditioned air flow produced by the flow mixing device is solely from the first compressor bleed air flow, or wherein the flow mixing device includes a hollow outer body and an inner body, the hollow outer body includes an inlet end, a discharge end, and an interior cavity, the hollow outer body extends axially from the inlet end to the discharge end, the interior cavity extends between the inlet end and the discharge end, the inner body is disposed within the interior cavity of the hollow outer body, and an annular region is formed between the inner body and the hollow outer body, and wherein the flow mixing device is configured to receive the first compressed bleed air flow and the second compressor bleed air flow through the inlet end of the hollow outer body.
Ekra Devalere teaches (Figures 1-2) a compressor bleed air flow valve (600) in fluid communication with (see Figure 1) a second bleed port (at 201a) and is controllable to be in an open configuration (a configuration that opens fluid communication between channel 200 to channel 700; see Paragraphs 0050-0051) or a closed configuration (a configuration that closes fluid communication between channel 200 and channel 700; see Paragraphs 0050-0051), wherein in a first mode the compressed bleed air flow valve (600) is in a closed configuration (a configuration that closes fluid communication between channel 200 and channel 700; see Paragraphs 0050-0051) and a conditioned air flow produced by a flow mixing device (500) solely from (due to valve 600 prohibiting air through channel 700; see Paragraph 0051) a first compressor bleed air flow (400).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Little to have a compressor bleed air flow valve be in fluid communication with a second compressor bleed port and is controllable to be in an open configuration or a closed configuration, wherein in a first mode the compressor bleed air flow valve is in the closed configuration and a conditioned air flow produced by a flow mixing device is solely from the first compressor bleed air flow, as taught by Ekra Devalere, in order to command the configuration of a valve depending on a cooling air pressure determined by the turbine (Paragraph 0052 of Ekra Devalere). Little in view of Ekra Devalere does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the flow mixing device includes a hollow outer body and an inner body, the hollow outer body includes an inlet end, a discharge end, and an interior cavity, the hollow outer body extends axially from the inlet end to the discharge end, the interior cavity extends between the inlet end and the discharge end, the inner body is disposed within the interior cavity of the hollow outer body, and an annular region is formed between the inner body and the hollow outer body, and wherein the flow mixing device is configured to receive the first compressed bleed air flow and the second compressor bleed air flow through the inlet end of the hollow outer body.
Lozyniak teaches (Figures 1-6) a flow mixing device (see Figures 2-4) including a hollow outer body (102, 212), and an inner body (100, 204), the hollow outer body (102, 212) includes an inlet end (at the left end of 114; see Figures 2-4), a discharge end (at 118), and an interior cavity (the opening of 114, 116, 118; see Figures 2-4), the hollow outer body (102, 212) extends axially (see Figures 2-4) from the inlet end (at the left end of 114) to the discharge end (at the right end of 118), the interior cavity extends between the inlet end (at the left end of 114) and the discharge end (at the right end of 118), the inner body (100, 204) is disposed within (see Figures 2-3) the interior cavity (the opening of 114, 116, 118; see Figures 2-4) of the hollow outer body (102, 212), and an annular region (the space surrounding 100, 204 within 114; see Figures 2-4) is formed between the inner body (100, 204) and the hollow outer body (102, 212), and wherein the flow mixing device (see Figures 2-4) is configured to receive a first flow (flow from 42) and a second flow (flow from 40) through the inlet end of the hollow outer body (102, 212).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Little in view of Ekra Devalere to have the flow mixing device includes a hollow outer body and an inner body, the hollow outer body includes an inlet end, a discharge end, and an interior cavity, the hollow outer body extends axially from the inlet end to the discharge end, the interior cavity extends between the inlet end and the discharge end, the inner body is disposed within the interior cavity of the hollow outer body, and an annular region is formed between the inner body and the hollow outer body, and wherein the flow mixing device is configured to receive the first compressed bleed air flow and the second compressor bleed air flow through the inlet end of the hollow outer body, as taught by Lozyniak, in order to have the pressure reduction caused by a primary flow help draw in a secondary flow (Paragraph 0005 of Lozyniak). It is further noted that a simple substitution of one known element (in this case, the flow mixing device as taught by Little) for another (in this case, the flow mixing device as taught by Lozyniak) to obtain predictable results (in this case, to utilize the pressure of a first fluid to draw a secondary fluid) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 415-421, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
It is noted that the term “unimpeded” is interpreted using the dictionary definition “with nothing blocking or stopping somebody/something” as provided by Oxford Learner’s Dictionaries (https://www.oxfordlearnersdictionaries.com/us/definition/english/unimpeded).
It is additionally noted that Little’s Figure 4 also teaches the flow from a rear stage (28) of a compressor (10) to a first stage of a turbine (stage 1 of turbine 12) in an unimpeded manner through a continuously open conduit (see Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Little in view of Ekra Devalere and Lozyniak teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Little further teaches (Figures 1-4) wherein the inner body (at 54) includes an axially extending interior passage (annotated below), and a downstream discharge end (annotated below) of the interior passage (annotated below) is configured as a venturi (see Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Little in view of Ekra Devalere and Lozyniak teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Little further teaches (Figures 1-4) wherein the flow mixing device (46) is configured to receive the first compressor bleed air flow (from 64-1; see Figures 1-2) in the annular region (annotated above) between the inner body (at 54) and the hollow outer body (annotated above).
Regarding Claim 9, Little in view of Ekra Devalere and Lozyniak teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Little further teaches (Figures 1-4) wherein the flow mixing device (46) is configured to receive the second compressor bleed air flow (from 58-1; see Figures 1-2) at an inlet end (at 48) of the inner body (54).
Regarding Claim 22, Little in view of Ekra Devalere and Lozyniak teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Little in view of Ekra Devalere and Lozyniak does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the annular region extends circumferentially about the inner body from the inlet end of the hollow outer body to a discharge end of the inner body.
Lozyniak teaches (Figures 1-6) wherein the annular region (the space surrounding 100, 204 within 114; see Figures 2-4) extends circumferentially about (see Figures 2-4) the inner body (100, 204) from the inlet end (at the left end of 114) of the hollow outer body (102, 212) to a discharge end (at 110) of the inner body (100, 204).
Sinha teaches (Figures 1-8) an annular region (formed by the inner surface of the outer body and the outer surface of the inner body; see annotation above and Figures 4-6) extends circumferentially about the inner body (162) from the inlet end (annotated above) of the hollow outer body (annotated above) to a discharge end (the downstream end of 162; see Figure 4) of the inner body (162).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Little in view of Ekra Devalere and Lozyniak to have the annular region extend circumferentially about the inner body from the inlet end of the hollow outer body to a discharge end of the inner body, as taught by Lozyniak, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 1.
Claims 1 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Little (US 2017/0074172) in view of Schelfaut (US 2018/0258785) and Lozyniak et al. (US 2016/0327319).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Little teaches (Figures 1-4) a gas turbine engine (44), comprising:
a compressor section (40);
a turbine section (42) having an upstream rotor stage (94), a downstream rotor stage (74), an upstream turbine sub-section (annotated above), and a downstream turbine sub-section (annotated above), the upstream turbine sub-section (annotated above) radially outboard of (see annotation above) the upstream rotor stage (94), and the downstream turbine sub-section (annotated above) radially outboard of (see annotation above) the downstream rotor stage (74);;
a turbine cooling air system (annotated above) that includes a flow mixing device (46-1, 46-2, or 46-3) and a compressor bleed air flow valve (96-1), wherein the turbine cooling air system (annotated above) is configured to receive a first compressor bleed air flow (64-1) from a first compressor bleed port stage location (66) engaged with the compressor section (40), receive a second compressor bleed air flow (58-1) from a second compressor bleed port stage location (60) engaged with the compressor section (40) and receive a third compressor bleed air flow (58-3) from a third compressor bleed port (86) engaged with the compressor location (40), wherein the first compressor bleed port location (66) is disposed upstream of (see Figure 1) the second compressor bleed port (60), and wherein the third compressor bleed port (86) is disposed downstream of (see Figure 1) the second compressor bleed port stage location (60) and the first compressor bleed port stage location (66); and
wherein the compressor bleed air flow valve (96-1) is controllable to be in an open configuration or a closed configuration (Paragraph 0043);
wherein the turbine cooling air system (annotated above) is configured to operate in a first mode or a second mode (a mode where valves 96-1, 96-2, 96-3 are closed and all cooling air is supplied from bleed lines 58-1, 58-2, 58-3 and another mode where valves are opened to provide a flow of lower temperature air to be mixed with the primary air; see Paragraph 0043), wherein in the first mode (a mode where valves 96-1, 96-2, 96-3 are closed and all cooling air is supplied from bleed lines 58-1, 58-2, 58-3; see Paragraph 0043) the compressor bleed air flow valve (96-1) is in the closed configuration (Paragraph 0043) and in the second mode (a mode where valves are opened to provide a flow of lower temperature air to be mixed with the primary air; see Paragraph 0043) the compressor bleed air flow valve (96-1) is in the open configuration (Paragraph 0043) and the conditioned air flow (70) produced by the flow mixing device (46-1) is a mixture of the first compressor bleed air flow (64-1) and the second compressor bleed air flow (64-2); and
wherein the turbine cooling air system (annotated above) is configured to direct the conditioned air flow (70) to the downstream turbine sub-section (annotated above).
Little does not teach that the compressor bleed air flow valve is in fluid communication with the second compressor bleed port and is controllable to be in an open configuration or a closed configuration, wherein in the first mode the compressor bleed air flow valve is in the closed configuration and a conditioned air flow produced by the flow mixing device is solely from the first compressor bleed air flow, or wherein the flow mixing device includes a hollow outer body and an inner body, the hollow outer body includes an inlet end, a discharge end, and an interior cavity, the hollow outer body extends axially from the inlet end to the discharge end, the interior cavity extends between the inlet end and the discharge end, the inner body is disposed within the interior cavity of the hollow outer body, and an annular region is formed between the inner body and the hollow outer body, and wherein the flow mixing device is configured to receive the first compressed bleed air flow and the second compressor bleed air flow through the inlet end of the hollow outer body.
Schelfaut teaches (Figures 1-13) a compressor bleed air flow valve (193) in fluid communication with a second bleed port (195) and is controllable (via 210) to be in an open configuration or a closed configuration (Paragraph 0053), wherein in a first mode (a mode when only valve 192 is open; see Paragraph 0053) the compressor bleed air flow valve (193) is in the closed configuration and a conditioned air flow (197) produced by a flow mixing device (at the junction downstream of valves 192 and 193; see Figure 1) is solely from the first compressor bleed air flow (flow from 194).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Little to have a compressor bleed air flow valve be in fluid communication with a second compressor bleed port and is controllable to be in an open configuration or a closed configuration, wherein in a first mode the compressor bleed air flow valve is in the closed configuration and a conditioned air flow produced by a flow mixing device is solely from the first compressor bleed air flow, as taught by Schelfaut, in order to control the mass flow and temperature of the thermal control air by modulating the amount of air bleed from the air supplies by opening and closing the control valves (Paragraph 0053 of Schelfaut). Little in view of Schelfaut does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the flow mixing device includes a hollow outer body and an inner body, the hollow outer body includes an inlet end, a discharge end, and an interior cavity, the hollow outer body extends axially from the inlet end to the discharge end, the interior cavity extends between the inlet end and the discharge end, the inner body is disposed within the interior cavity of the hollow outer body, and an annular region is formed between the inner body and the hollow outer body, and wherein the flow mixing device is configured to receive the first compressed bleed air flow and the second compressor bleed air flow through the inlet end of the hollow outer body.
Lozyniak teaches (Figures 1-6) a flow mixing device (see Figures 2-4) including a hollow outer body (102, 212), and an inner body (100, 204), the hollow outer body (102, 212) includes an inlet end (at the left end of 114; see Figures 2-4), a discharge end (at 118), and an interior cavity (the opening of 114, 116, 118; see Figures 2-4), the hollow outer body (102, 212) extends axially (see Figures 2-4) from the inlet end (at the left end of 114) to the discharge end (at the right end of 118), the interior cavity extends between the inlet end (at the left end of 114) and the discharge end (at the right end of 118), the inner body (100, 204) is disposed within (see Figures 2-3) the interior cavity (the opening of 114, 116, 118; see Figures 2-4) of the hollow outer body (102, 212), and an annular region (the space surrounding 100, 204 within 114; see Figures 2-4) is formed between the inner body (100, 204) and the hollow outer body (102, 212), and wherein the flow mixing device (see Figures 2-4) is configured to receive a first flow (flow from 42) and a second flow (flow from 40) through the inlet end of the hollow outer body (102, 212).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Little in view of Schelfaut to have the flow mixing device includes a hollow outer body and an inner body, the hollow outer body includes an inlet end, a discharge end, and an interior cavity, the hollow outer body extends axially from the inlet end to the discharge end, the interior cavity extends between the inlet end and the discharge end, the inner body is disposed within the interior cavity of the hollow outer body, and an annular region is formed between the inner body and the hollow outer body, and wherein the flow mixing device is configured to receive the first compressed bleed air flow and the second compressor bleed air flow through the inlet end of the hollow outer body, as taught by Lozyniak, in order to have the pressure reduction caused by a primary flow help draw in a secondary flow (Paragraph 0005 of Lozyniak). It is further noted that a simple substitution of one known element (in this case, the flow mixing device as taught by Little) for another (in this case, the flow mixing device as taught by Lozyniak) to obtain predictable results (in this case, to utilize the pressure of a first fluid to draw a secondary fluid) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 415-421, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
It is noted that the term “unimpeded” is interpreted using the dictionary definition “with nothing blocking or stopping somebody/something” as provided by Oxford Learner’s Dictionaries (https://www.oxfordlearnersdictionaries.com/us/definition/english/unimpeded).
It is also noted that Little’s Figure 4 also teaches the flow from a rear stage (28) of a compressor (10) to a first stage of a turbine (stage 1 of turbine 12) in an unimpeded manner through a continuously open conduit (see Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 11, Little in view of Schelfaut and Lozyniak teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Little in view of Schelfaut and Lozyniak does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the open configuration of the compressor bleed air flow valve includes a fully open configuration with a maximum volumetric flow rate of the second compressor bleed air flow through the compressor bleed air valve, and a plurality of partially open valve configurations, wherein each said partially open valve configuration has a volumetric flow rate that is less than the maximum volumetric flow rate.
Schelfaut teaches (Figures 1-13) wherein the open configuration (see Paragraph 0053) of the compressor bleed air flow valve (193) includes a fully open configuration (when valve 193 is open and valve 192 is closed; see Paragraph 0053) with a maximum volumetric flow rate of the second compressor bleed air flow (flow from 195) through the compressor bleed air valve (193), and a plurality of partially open valve configurations (valve positions during transition from an open configuration to a closed configuration; see Paragraph 0053), wherein each said partially open valve configuration (valve positions during a transition from an open configuration to a closed configuration) has a volumetric flow rate that is less than the maximum volumetric flow rate (when closing the valve 193, the mass flow will be less than when it is in an open position).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Little in view of Schelfaut and Lozyniak to have the open configuration of the compressor bleed air flow valve includes a fully open configuration with a maximum volumetric flow rate of the second compressor bleed air flow through the compressor bleed air valve, and a plurality of partially open valve configurations, wherein each said partially open valve configuration has a volumetric flow rate that is less than the maximum volumetric flow rate, as taught by Schelfaut, for the same reasons discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 12, Little in view of Schelfaut and Lozyniak teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Little in view of Schelfaut and Lozyniak does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the turbine section is a high pressure turbine section and the engine further comprises a low pressure turbine section.
Schelfaut teaches (Figures 1-13) a compressor section (116), a turbine section (122) having an upstream rotor stage (176), a downstream rotor stage (182), an upstream turbine sub-section (a section including 164a, 166a, 188a; see Figure 2), and a downstream turbine sub-section (a section including 164b, 166b, 188b; see Figure 2), wherein a turbine cooling air system (101) is configured to direct the conditioned air flow (197) to the downstream turbine sub-section (a section including 164b, 166b, 188b), wherein the turbine section (122) is a high pressure turbine section (Paragraph 0046) and the engine (100) further comprises a low pressure turbine section (124).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Little in view of Schelfaut and Lozyniak to have the turbine section is a high pressure turbine section and the engine further comprises a low pressure turbine section, as taught by Schelfaut, in order to control the blade tip clearances in the high pressure turbine (Paragraph 0053 of Schelfaut).
Regarding Claim 13, Little in view of Schelfaut and Lozyniak teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Little in view of Schelfaut and Lozyniak does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the compressor section is a high pressure compressor section and the engine further comprises a low pressure compressor section.
Schelfaut teaches (Figures 1-13) wherein the compressor section (116) is a high pressure compressor section (116) and the engine (100) further comprises a low pressure compressor section (114).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Little in view of Schelfaut and Lozyniak to have the compressor section is a high pressure compressor section and the engine further comprises a low pressure compressor section, as taught by Schelfaut, in order to have combustion gases routed through the low pressure turbine to cause the low pressure shaft to rotate, thereby supporting operation of the low pressure compressor and rotation of the fan (Paragraph 0050 of Schelfaut).
Claims 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Little (US 2017/0074172) in view of Ekra Devalere et al. (US 2020/0308977).
Regarding Independent Claim 15, Little teaches (Figures 1-4) a method of providing cooling air flow (70, 80, 90) to a turbine section (42) within a gas turbine engine (44), the gas turbine engine (44) including a compressor section (40) and a turbine section (42), the turbine section (42) having an upstream rotor stage (94), a downstream rotor stage (84), an upstream turbine sub-section (annotated below), and a downstream turbine sub-section (annotated below), wherein both of the upstream rotor stage (94) and the downstream rotor stage (84) include a plurality of rotor blades (Paragraphs 0035-0036), each rotor blade having a rotor blade tip (the end of the blade; see Paragraphs 0035-0036), and wherein the upstream turbine sub-section (annotated above) is disposed radially outboard of (see annotation above) the upstream rotor stage (94) and upstream of (see Figure 1) the downstream turbine sub-section (annotated above), the method comprising:
providing a first compressor bleed air flow (64-2) from a first compressor bleed port (60) engaged with the compressor section (40) to a flow mixing device (46-2);
providing a second compressor bleed air flow (58-2) from a second compressor bleed port (76) engaged with the compressor section (40) to the flow mixing device (46-2), wherein the first compressor bleed port (60) is disposed upstream of (see Figure 1) the second compressor bleed port (76);
producing a conditioned cooling air flow (80) using the flow mixing device (46-2) in a first mode or a second mode (a mode where valves 96-1, 96-2, 96-3 are closed and all cooling air is supplied from bleed lines 58-1, 58-2, 58-3 and another mode where valves are opened to provide a flow of lower temperature air to be mixed with the primary air; see Paragraph 0043), wherein in the second mode (a mode where valves are opened to provide a flow of lower temperature air to be mixed with the primary air; see Paragraph 0043) the conditioned cooling air flow is a mixture (80) of the first compressor bleed air flow (64-2) and the second compressor bleed air flow (58-2);
providing the conditioned cooling air flow (80) to the downstream turbine sub-section (annotated above); and
providing a third compressor bleed air flow (58-3) from a third compressor bleed port (86) engaged with the compressor section (40), wherein the third compressor bleed port (86) is disposed downstream of the second compressor bleed port (76) and the first compressor bleed port (60); and
providing (via 90, 92) the third compressor bleed air flow (58-3) to the upstream turbine sub-section (annotated above) in an unimpeded manner (see Figures 1-2) from the third compressor bleed port (86), through a conduit (90), to the upstream turbine sub-section (annotated above).
Little does not teach selectively providing the second compressor bleed air flow, wherein the second compressed bleed air flow is selectively provided to the flow mixing device at a maximum volumetric flow rate of the second compressor bleed air flow and at a volumetric flow rate less than the maximum volumetric flow rate, the volumetric flow rate greater than zero, or wherein in the first mode the conditioned air flow is produced solely from the first compressor bleed air flow.
Ekra Devalere teaches (Figures 1-2) selectively providing (via 600) a second compressor bleed air flow (200), wherein a compressor bleed air flow valve (600) in fluid communication with (see Figure 1) a second bleed port (at 201a) and is controllable to be in an open configuration (a configuration that opens fluid communication between channel 200 to channel 700; see Paragraphs 0050-0051) or a closed configuration (a configuration that closes fluid communication between channel 200 and channel 700; see Paragraphs 0050-0051), wherein in a first mode the compressed bleed air flow valve (600) is in a closed configuration (a configuration that closes fluid communication between channel 200 and channel 700; see Paragraphs 0050-0051) and a conditioned air flow is produced solely from (due to valve 600 prohibiting air through channel 700; see Paragraph 0051) a first compressor bleed air flow (400).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Little to selectively provide the second compressor bleed air flow, wherein in the first mode the conditioned air flow is produced solely from the first compressor bleed air flow, as taught by Ekra Devalere, in order to command the configuration of a valve depending on a cooling air pressure determined by the turbine (Paragraph 0052 of Ekra Devalere).
It is noted that the term “unimpeded” is interpreted using the dictionary definition “with nothing blocking or stopping somebody/something” as provided by Oxford Learner’s Dictionaries (https://www.oxfordlearnersdictionaries.com/us/definition/english/unimpeded).
Regarding Claim 18, Little in view of Ekra Devalere teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Little further teaches (Figures 1-4) wherein the first compressor bleed air flow (64-2) is provided at a first pressure level (a pressure from 60), and the second compressor bleed air flow (58-2) is provided at a second pressure level (a pressure from 76), and the conditioned cooling air flow (80, when valve 96-2 is opened) is produced at a third pressure level (a pressure at 80), wherein the second pressure level is greater than the first pressure level (the air provided from bleed air line 58-1 is at a lower temperature and lower pressure than the temperature and pressure of the bleed air provided at the bleed port 76; see Paragraph 0035) and the third pressure level (due to the pressure at 80 being a mixture of pressures from relatively lower pressure at 60 and relatively higher pressure at 76 when valve 96-2 is opened), and the third pressure level is greater than the first pressure level (due to the pressure at 80 being mixing the pressure from 60 with a relatively higher pressure air flow from 76; see Figure 1 and Paragraph 0035).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Little (US 2017/0074172) in view of Ekra Devalere et al. (US 2020/0308977) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Schelfaut (US 2018/0258785).
Regarding Claim 20, Little in view of Ekra Devalere teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Little in view of Ekra Devalere does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the turbine section is a high pressure turbine section and the engine further comprises a low pressure turbine section, and wherein the compressor section is a high pressure compressor section and the engine further comprises a low pressure compressor section.
Schelfaut teaches (Figures 1-13) a compressor section (116), a turbine section (122) having an upstream rotor stage (176), a downstream rotor stage (182), an upstream turbine sub-section (a section including 164a, 166a, 188a; see Figure 2), and a downstream turbine sub-section (a section including 164b, 166b, 188b; see Figure 2), wherein a turbine cooling air system (101) is configured to direct the conditioned air flow (197) to the downstream turbine sub-section (a section including 164b, 166b, 188b), wherein the turbine section (122) is a high pressure turbine section (Paragraph 0046) and the engine (100) further comprises a low pressure turbine section (124), and wherein the compressor section (116) is a high pressure compressor section (116) and the engine (100) further comprises a low pressure compressor section (114).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Little in view of Ekra Devalere to have the turbine section is a high pressure turbine section and the engine further comprises a low pressure turbine section and to have the compressor section is a high pressure compressor section and the engine further comprises a low pressure compressor section, as taught by Schelfaut, in order to control the blade tip clearances in the high pressure turbine (Paragraph 0053 of Schelfaut) and to have combustion gases routed through the low pressure turbine to cause the low pressure shaft to rotate, thereby supporting operation of the low pressure compressor and rotation of the fan (Paragraph 0050 of Schelfaut).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Little (US 2017/0074172) in view of Ekra Devalere et al. (US 2020/0308977) and Lozyniak et al. (US 2016/0327319) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sinha et al. (US 2018/0045074).
Regarding Claim 21, Little in view of Ekra Devalere and Lozyniak teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Little in view of Ekra Devalere and Lozyniak does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the hollow outer body and the inner body are formed as concentric tubes.
Sinha teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the hollow outer body (160) and the inner body (162) are formed as concentric tubes (see Figures 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Little in view of Ekra Devalere and Lozyniak to have the hollow outer body and the inner body be formed as concentric tubes, as taught by Sinha, since it has been held the variations in shape were a matter of choice and only involves routine skill in the art. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ (CCPA 1966).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach that the alleged third cooling circuit provides “third compressor bleed air flow to the upstream turbine sub-section in an unimpeded manner from the third compressor bleed port, through a conduit, to the upstream turbine sub-section” as recited in claim 1. In response, it is noted that the flow from Little’s third compressor bleed port (86) travel through conduits (58-3, 90) to the upstream turbine sub-section (at 92) without being blocked or stopped (see Figures 1-2). Therefore, Little teaches that the flow from his third compressor bleed port to the upstream turbine sub-section is unimpeded. As discussed in the body of the rejection above, it is noted that the term “unimpeded” is interpreted using the dictionary definition “with nothing blocking or stopping somebody/something” as provided by Oxford Learner’s Dictionaries (https://www.oxfordlearnersdictionaries.com/us/definition/english/unimpeded). In Phillips v. AWH, 415 F.3d 1303, 75 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the Court cites Texas Digital Systems, Inc. v. Telegenix, Inc., 308 F.3d 1193, 1202 (Fed. Cir. 2002) for the holding that “dictionaries, encyclopedias and treaties are particularly useful resources to assist the court in determining the ordinary and customary meanings of claim terms.” Those texts, the court explained, are “objective resources that serve as reliable sources of information on the established meanings that would have been attributed to the terms of the claims by those of skill in the art,” and they “deserve no less fealty in the context of claim construction” than in any other area of law. Id. at 1203. The court added that because words often have multiple dictionary meanings, the intrinsic record must be consulted to determine which of the different possible dictionary meanings is most consistent with the use of the term in question by the inventor. If more than one dictionary definition is consistent with the use of the words in the intrinsic record, the court stated, “the claim terms may be construed to encompass all such consistent meanings.” Id. The Texas Digital court further explained that the patent's specification and prosecution history must be consulted to determine if the patentee has used “the words [of the claim] in a manner clearly inconsistent with the ordinary meaning reflected, for example, in a dictionary definition.” 308 F.3d at 1204. The court identified two circumstances in which such an inconsistency may be found. First, the court stated, “the presumption in favor of a dictionary definition will be overcome where the patentee, acting as his or her own lexicographer, has clearly set forth an explicit definition of the term different from its ordinary meaning.” Id. Second, “the presumption also will be rebutted if the inventor has disavowed or disclaimed scope of coverage, by using words or expressions of manifest exclusion or restriction, representing a clear disavowal of claim scope.” Id.
In this case, Applicant failed to clearly set forth an explicit definition of the term different from its ordinary meaning and failed to disavowed or disclaimed scope of coverage. Therefore, it is proper for Examiner to construe the claim terms based on a dictionary definition of the terms.
Applicant also argues that the alleged compressor bleed air flow valve in Ekra is disposed in fluid communication with the upstream compressor bleed port stage location. In response, Ekra Devalere teaches (Figures 1-2) a compressor bleed air flow valve (600) that is disposed in fluid communication with the downstream compressor bleed port stage location (at 201a, which is downstream of 401a; see Figure 1 of Ekra).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Kitaguchi (US 2019/0153963) for teaching a downstream-most bleed port (43) which directs a bleed flow from the compressor directly to an upstream-most location of the turbine section (see Figures 2-3), wherein the conduit directing this airflow is free of any valves or ejectors (see Figures 2-3).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741