DETAILED ACTION
In addressing the rejection ground, each claim may not have been separately discussed to the extent the claimed features are the same as or similar to the previously-discussed features; the previous discussion is construed to apply for the other claims in the same or similar way.
In the office action, “/” should be read as and/or as generally understood. For example, “A/B” means A and B, or A or B.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,206,376. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,206,376 anticipates claim 1.
Claims 1-2 and 8-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,206,376. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,206,376 anticipate claims 1-2 and 8-19.
Claims 6 and 8-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 23-32 of U.S. Patent No. 12,206,376. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 23-32 of U.S. Patent No. 12,206,376 anticipates claims 6 and 8-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staudinger (US 2013/0194017) in view of George US 2010/0066427 (or Lam (US 2015/0171828).
Regarding claim 8, Staudinger discloses a plurality of series-coupled phase shifter cells [e.g. fig. 2/1] each providing at least one selectable phase shift state, wherein at least one phase shifter cell [e.g. 107, 109/109,111 or any two immediately adjacent phase shifting element] includes at least two selectable signal paths [each phase shifting element has at least one selectable signal path], each selectable signal path having an active state [e.g. the bottom path] and an inactive state [e.g. the top path], wherein a first selectable signal path initially in the active state remains in the active state for a selected period of time when a next selectable signal path is set to the active state, and thereafter the first selectable signal path is set to the inactive state. Staszewski does not disclose a distinct switching delay time.
However, George discloses a distinct switching delay time [see at least para. 0015, 0020, 0024, figs. 3-5], such that the combination discloses at least one phase shifter cell has a switching delay time distinct from the switching delay time of at least one other phase shifter cell. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Staudinger in accordance with the teaching of George regarding control signals in order to reduce or eliminate switch latch-up problem [para. 0015].
Alternatively, Lam discloses a distinct switching delay time [see at least abstract, figs. 5-6], such that the combination discloses at least one phase shifter cell has a switching delay time distinct from the switching delay time of at least one other phase shifter cell. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Staudinger in accordance with the teaching of Lam regarding the timing of state transitions in order to significantly reducing glitches [see at least abstract].
Regarding claim 9, the combination discussed above discloses the plurality of series-coupled phase shifter cells of claim 8, wherein at least two phase shifter cells provide approximately the same selectable phase shift state but have distinct switching delay times.
Regarding claim 10, the combination in claim 9 discloses the plurality of series-coupled phase shifter cells of claim 8, wherein at least three phase shifter cells provide approximately the same selectable phase shift state but have distinct switching delay times.
Regarding claim 11, the combination discussed above discloses the plurality of series-coupled phase shifter cells of claim 8, further including a control signal generation circuit [e.g. 123] coupled to the selectable signal paths of at least one phase shifter cell, and configured to be coupled to a master control signal [see 157] , for generating a sequence of time-delayed control signals [e.g. 1a, 1b, 2a,… Staudinger, also see at least para. 0015, 0020, 0024, figs. 3-5 George/ see at least abstract, figs. 5-6 Lam] for the coupled selectable signal paths such that when switching from the first selectable signal path initially in the active state to the next selectable signal path initially in the inactive state, the first selectable signal path remains in the active state for a selected period of time while the next selectable signal path is set to the active state, and thereafter the first selectable signal path is set to the inactive state.
Regarding claim 12, Staudinger discloses the plurality of series-coupled phase shifter cells of claim 8, wherein at least one phase shifter cell includes at least two selectable signal paths [each phase shifting element has at least one selectable signal path] and a selectable reference path [see 129, S1b, 143; 151. S2b, the capacitor], each selectable signal path and the selectable reference path having an active state and an inactive state, wherein: (a) a first selectable signal path initially in the active state remains in the active state for a selected period of time [see at least para. 0015, 0020, 0024, figs. 3-5 George/ see at least abstract, figs. 5-6 Lam] when a next selectable signal path is to be set to the active state; (b) the selectable reference path is set to the active state during the selected period of time and before the next selectable signal path is set to the active state; (c) the next selectable signal path is set to the active state and the first selectable signal path is set to the inactive state; and (d) thereafter the selectable reference path is set to the inactive state.
Regarding claim 13, the combination discussed above discloses the plurality of series-coupled phase shifter cells of claim 12, further including a control signal generation circuit [e.g. 123] coupled to the selectable signal paths and the selectable reference path of at least one phase shifter cell, and configured to be coupled to a master control signal [see 157], for generating a sequence of time-delayed control signals [see at least para. 0015, 0020, 0024, figs. 3-5 George; or see at least abstract, figs. 4-5 Lam] for the coupled selectable signal paths and selectable reference path such that when switching from the first selectable signal path initially in the active state to the next selectable signal path initially in the inactive state, the first selectable signal path remains in the active state for a selected period of time while the selectable reference path is set to the active state, and thereafter the next selectable signal path is set to the active state and the first selectable signal path is set to the inactive state, and thereafter the selectable reference path is set to the inactive state.
Regarding claim 14, the combination discussed above discloses the plurality of series-coupled phase shifter cells of claim 12, except wherein the first selectable signal path has an opposite phase shift polarity with respect to the next selectable signal path. However, such the opposite phase shift polarity, is just am optimization for the circuitry and it is a design choice to achieve that optimum phase, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 15, the combination discussed above discloses the plurality of series-coupled phase shifter cells of claim 8, wherein at least one selectable phase shift state of at least one phase shifter cell includes at least two phase shifting states [e.g. the top path for 107, the bottom path for 109; the bottom path for 107, the top path for 109; or the bottom path for 107, the bottom path for 109, Staudinger] and a through-path state [e.g. the top path for 107, the top path for 109], wherein when switching from a first phase shifting state [e.g. the top path for 107, the bottom path for 109; the bottom path for 107, the top path for 109; or the bottom path for 107, the bottom path for 109] to a next phase shifting state [e.g. the bottom path for 107, the top path for 109; the bottom path for 107, the bottom path for 109; or the top path for 107, the bottom path for 109], the at least one phase shifter cell is set to the through-path state before being set to the next phase shifting state.
Regarding claim 16, Staudinger discloses the plurality of series-coupled phase shifter cells of claim 15, further including a control signal generation circuit coupled to at least one phase shifter cell and configured to be coupled to a master control signal [see 107], the control signal generation circuit configured to generate a sequence of time-delayed control signals [see at least para. 0015, 0020, 0024, figs. 3-5 George; or see at least abstract, figs. 4-5 Lam] for the coupled at least one phase shifter cell in response to the master control signal such that when switching from the first phase shifting state to the next phase shifting state, the coupled at least one phase shifter cell is set to the through-path state before being set to the next phase shifting state.
Regarding claim 17, the combination discussed above discloses the plurality of series-coupled phase shifter cells of claim 16, wherein the control signal generation circuit is configured to delay generating the time-delayed control signals for a selectable period time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 are allowed. Claims 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PATRICK C CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836