DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 15-35 are pending. Claims 16, 29 and 31 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments regarding the 101 rejection(s) have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
that at least these limitations do not recite a fundamental economic practice but instead recite a specific data repository architecture for computerized validation of target account data…Accordingly, the claims are not directed to an abstract idea, but instead to a specific implementation of data validation using multi-repository lookup…
The Office asserts that the specificity of the technique is not by itself determining factor. The architecture itself is not so specific as the elements are referred to generically, unlike the elements considered in BASCOM where the placement of the filtering tool at a specific location represented a non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of the additional elements. The present claims do not represent a non-conventional or non-generic arrangement of the additional elements but merely recite how those elements are used.
The Office carves out certain limitations without evaluating the practical application of the claim as a whole, which is improper. The way in which the additional elements use or interact with the exception may integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. For example, claims recite a practical application directed to a specific technological problem identified in the Specification. In particular, the Specification explains that conventional electronic transfer systems "fail to provide adequate confirmation that the target account of a transfer is the customer's desired target account," and that "[I]improved systems and methods for validating a target account are needed."
The Office asserts that the prior art of Yamane is directed to validating target account data so the argument that conventional systems fail to provide adequate information…is non-persuasive. The claims nor the specification indicate how the present system may be interpreted as an improvement on prior art systems such as disclosed by Yamane.
The amended claims further integrate that processing into a practical application by applying the validation result within the operation of a payment-initiation platform. The amended claims further recite a technological implementation directed to a technical solution to the problem.
The Office asserts that applying the validation result within the operation of a payment initiation platform is obvious as the intended target is a payee. Additionally, the Office disagrees with the assertion that target validation is a technological problem and there is no evidence in the disclosure to support this assertion other than the assertion itself.
As amended claim 15 makes clear that the transformed result is not merely displayed as raw lookup data. Rather, the claimed embodiments uses the API-transmitted inputs, first and second database repository comparisons, and machine-learning-generated probabilistic score within the payment-initiation platform to present an indication that payment initiation is enabled based on the transformed result. The claim therefore applies the validation concept in a particular payment workflow with specific multi-repository validation technique, rather than merely reciting the abstract idea of validating a payment recipient.
The Office asserts that the claims recite a “particular” process of validating target data. Merely because the claims recite a particular process does not necessarily create a practical application or significantly more. A particular technological process may still be analogous to a manual process, which the current claims appear to be, and therefore do not rise to the level of eligibility because the abstract idea is merely supplemented by the words “apply it”, or the like.
The 112(b) rejections are withdrawn in view of the claim amendments.
The 112(a) rejection of claims 15 and 31 are withdrawn. The rejection of claim 35 is maintained as it has not been addressed by the applicant.
The 103 rejection is amended in view of the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 15, 17-28, 30 and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s):
A system for validating target account data, the system comprising:
a memory storing instructions; and
at least one processor configured to execute the stored instructions to: generate a platform that enables payment initiation on an endpoint device;
access the platform that enables payment initiation;
receive, through the endpoint device, a first input associated with target account data;
receive, through the endpoint device, a second input associated with target account data;
transmit, via an application programming interface (API), from the endpoint device to the server, the first input and the second input;
upon receipt of the first input and the second input, enable selection of an activatable element associated with the API;
in response to selection of the activatable element, perform a lookup associated with the first input and the second input, to validate the first input and the second input, wherein the lookup comprises:
comparing the first input and the second input with data stored in a first database repository;
comparing the first input and the second input with data stored in a second database repository; and
determining, based on both the comparing of the first input and the comparing of the second input, a degree of correspondence between the target account data and information retrieved from the first database repository and the second database repository;
generate, using a machine learning algorithm, a transformed result based on the degree of correspondence, wherein the transformed result includes a single overall score representing a probability that the target account corresponds to an intended target account;
transmit, via the API, the transformed result for presentation at the endpoint device; and
present an indication indicating enablement of the payment initiation by the platform based on the transformed result on the endpoint device.
The underlined portion of the claims represent certain methods of organizing human activity, fundamental economic practices of mitigating risk, because the claims are directed to validating the recipient of a payment.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim adds the words "apply it", or the like, to the abstract idea. The claims include a system for performing the abstract idea including a memory, processor, a platform, an activatable element and machine learning, all of which are generically recited such that they are not considered particular machines, effect a transformation (other than data), reflect an improvement in the computer or technology or apply the abstract idea in some other meaningful way. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because of the reasons cited above.
The dependent claims merely narrow the abstract idea and in combination and as a whole, comprise the abstract idea and the words “apply it”, and the like. For example, Claims 16-21 and 29 further narrow the c\validation step. Claims 22, and 24-28 merely define the indication, claim 23 defines the manner in which the indication is displayed, which is a further use of a computer as a tool.
Claims 30, and 32-35 are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 35 recites performing a third and fourth lookup which are not disclosed by the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 18-22, 24-28 and 30 and 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamane (20200327550) and further in view of Suermondt (2003/0018658) and Marcuccilli (2015/0356545).
Yamane discloses:
15. A system for validating target account data, the system comprising:
a memory storing instructions:
at least one processor configured to execute the stored instructions (0004) to:
generate a platform that enables payment initiation on an endpoint device; access the platform that enables payment initiation (0052, Referring to FIG. SA, after the payment solicitation 400/450 is received, an example user/graphical interface 500 may be used to submit a payment request to the service provider system 110, according to potential embodiments. Interface 500 may be presented by, for example, a client application 138 running on the user device 130, or a website of the service provider that is accessed via a browser running on the user device 130.);
receive, through the endpoint device, a first input associated with target account data (0052, Interface 500 allows the user to identify a destination account at 505 by entering a routing number and account number);
receive, through the endpoint device, a second input associated with target account data (0052, identify a name (and address or other data) of the intended beneficiary at 510);
transmit, via an application programming interface (API), from the endpoint device to the server, the first input and the second input (0004, account validation API, 0057, at 610, the service provider system 110 may transmit a validation request (via, e.g., an API call) to validate the account via the verification system 180.);
upon receipt of the first input and the second input, enable selection of an activatable element associated with the API (0004, account validation API, 0054, Following selection of the next icon 525);
in response to selection of the activatable element, perform a lookup associated with the first input and the second input, to validate the first input and the second input (0055, The service provider system 110 (and/or the user device 130 in other potential implementations, system 110 includes circuit (hardware, i.e., server)), once data on the payment request has been entered/received, validates the information. 0057, at 610, the service provider system 110 may transmit a validation request (via, e.g., an API call) to validate the account via the verification system 180. If step 610 occurs before the payee name has been entered by the user, the verification system 180 may be used to discover what account owner is associated with the account. For example, the verification system 180 may have account data 182 (in a ledger, database, etc.) with a list of account numbers and owners, and the verification system 180 may accept an account number from the service provider system 110 and, at 615, return to the service provider system 110 a response identifying the owner or other entity associated with the account/account number.) wherein the lookup comprises:
comparing the first input and the second input with data stored in a first database repository (0057, the verification system 180 may have account data 182 (in a ledger, database, etc.) with a list of account numbers and owners, and the verification system 180 may accept an account number from the service provider system 110 and, at 615, return to the service provider system 110 a response identifying the owner or other entity associated with the account/account number. The payee name, once received from the user at 620, may be compared with the owner or other entity identified in the response from the verification system 180 to validate the account number.);
generate, [using a machine learning algorithm], a transformed result based on the degree of correspondence, wherein the transformed result includes a single overall score representing a probability that the target account corresponds to an intended target account (0045, an assurance score may be determined);
transmit, via the API, the transformed result for presentation at the endpoint device (0004, account validation API, 0046, In certain implementations, if (at 325) the service provider system 110 is sufficiently assured that the destination account belongs to the intended beneficiary (“Yes”), then at 330, a notification or other message may optionally be transmitted to the user device 130 to indicate, for example, that the destination account is verified.); and
present an indication indicating enablement of the payment initiation by the platform based on the transformed result on the endpoint device ([0046] If (at 325) the service provider system 110 is not sufficiently assured that the destination account belongs to the intended beneficiary (“No”), then at 330, an alert or other notification is transmitted to the user device 130 to indicate, for example, that the destination account is not verified.).
Yamane does not disclose:
Using a machine learning algorithm
However, machine learning algorithms are old and well known per Suermondt (0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to perform the lookup analysis using machine learning for speed and efficiency.
Yamane does not disclose:
comparing the first input and the second input with data stored in a second database repository; and determining, based on both the comparing of the first input and the comparing of the second input, a degree of correspondence between the target account data and information retrieved from the first database repository and the second database repository.
However, Marcuccilli discloses 0021, acquiring an electronic image of a transaction document; extracting data from said transaction document; inputting user specific data; populating predetermined data fields from said transaction document data and said user specific data; maintaining a first database of user specific payee information; maintaining a second data base of all payees; comparing said populated data fields to said user specific payee information; if said transaction and user inputted data match the data fields of said first database, validate said data against said second database, then execute the financial transaction);
It would have been obvious to modify Yamane with Marcuccilli as they are in the same field of endeavor, i.e., validating payee data.
Claim 30 is similarly rejected.
18. The system of claim 15, wherein the lookup results in a match between at least one of the data in the first database repository and the second database repository and at least one of the first input and the second input (0057, For example, the verification system 180 may have account data 182 (in a ledger, database, etc.) with a list of account numbers and owners, and the verification system 180 may accept an account number from the service provider system 110 and, at 615, return to the service provider system 110 a response identifying the owner or other entity associated with the account/account number. The payee name, once received from the user at 620, may be compared with the owner or other entity identified in the response from the verification system 180 to validate the account number.).
19. The system of claim 15, wherein the transformed result includes a validation of at least one of the first input or the second input (0045, [0045] The service provider system 110 then determines, at 325, whether the response(s) from the beneficiary system 150 and/or from the verification system 180 indicate that the account number is validated. In certain implementations, verification by either the beneficiary system 150 or the verification system 180 is accepted as validation of the account number. In other implementations, verification by both the beneficiary system 150 and the verification system 180 is required as validation of the account number. In some implementations, an assurance score may be determined. The assurance score may be proportional to confidence that the destination account belongs to the intended beneficiary. In some implementations, the assurance score may be, for example, relatively “high” when both the beneficiary system 150 and the verification system 180 have validated the account).
Claim 32 is similarly rejected.
20. The system of claim 19, wherein the transformed result is presented to indicate the validation of at least one of the first input or the second input ([0046] If (at 325) the service provider system 110 is not sufficiently assured that the destination account belongs to the intended beneficiary (“No”), then at 330, an alert or other notification is transmitted to the user device 130 to indicate, for example, that the destination account is not verified.).
21. The system of claim 20, wherein the transformed result presented to indicate the validation of at least one of the first input and the second input further includes an indication of a caution (Fig. 5B, 5B, 580, alert).
Claim 34 is similarly rejected.
22. The system of claim 21, wherein the indication of caution includes a level of caution ([0060] In certain versions, after an alert or other notification (indicating, e.g., that validation of the account number is pending, validation is unsuccessful, or that confidence in the account number is low).
24. The system of claim 20, wherein the transformed result includes an indication of a no-results ([0060] In certain versions, after an alert or other notification (indicating, e.g., that validation of the account number is pending, validation is unsuccessful, or that confidence in the account number is low).
Claim 33 is similarly rejected.
25. The system of claim 15, wherein the lookup results in no matches between the data in the first database repository and the data in the second database repository and the first input and the second input ([0060] In certain versions, after an alert or other notification (indicating, e.g., that validation of the account number is pending, validation is unsuccessful, or that confidence in the account number is low).
26. The system of claim 25, wherein the transformed result is presented to indicate no matches between the data in the first database repository and the data in the second database repository and the first input and the second input ([0060] In certain versions, after an alert or other notification (indicating, e.g., that validation of the account number is pending, validation is unsuccessful, or that confidence in the account number is low).
27. The system of claim 26, wherein the transformed result presented to indicate no matches includes an indication of caution (Fig. 5B, 5B, 580, alert).
28. The system of claim 27, wherein the indication of caution includes a level of caution ([0060] In certain versions, after an alert or other notification (indicating, e.g., that validation of the account number is pending, validation is unsuccessful, or that confidence in the account number is low).
Claim 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamane (20200327550) and further in view of Suermondt (2003/0018658) and Marcuccilli as applied to claim 15 and further in view of Hoopes (2007/0204001).
Yamane does not disclose:
17. The system of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to compare the first input with data stored in the first database repository and compare the second input with data stored in the second database repository using fuzzy logic.
However, Fuzzy logic is well known as a comparison methodology per the prior art of Hoopes (0014).
Combining the prior art of Yamane with Hoopes would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to match data that may differ slightly such as names which may include a middle name, incorrect spelling, etc., that may differentiate a name in the database with an input name but may nonetheless be the correct match.
Claim 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamane (20200327550) and further in view of Suermondt (2003/0018658) and Marcuccilli as applied to claim 15 and further in view of Alpert (6,092,081).
Yamane does not disclose:
23. The system of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to display a pop-up window on the endpoint device to present the transformed result.
Alpert discloses (Description 36, in the lower box 520, we illustrate how these tags will appear to the user. When the user clicks on one of the colored boxes, the goal or commentary tags appear as popup windows on the display. Alternatively, the system can include known functions called ballon help and tooltips which display small amounts of text after the mouse pointer hovers over them for a few seconds.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the alert of Yamane as a pop-up or tooltip for convenience and reduce screen clutter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM E RANKINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3694