Status of the Application
Claims 1-6 and 20 have been examined in this application.
Claims 7-19 are withdrawn from further consideration.
The filling date of this application number recited above is 10-December-2024. Domestic Benefit/National Stage priority for Provisional Application 63/703,056 has been claimed in the Application Data Sheet, thus the examination will be undertaken in consideration of 03-October-2024, as the priority date, for applicable claims.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 15-April-2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: Claims 1-6 and 20 in the reply filed on 06-January-2026 is acknowledged. Since the reply did not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse.
Claims 7-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06-January-2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEISBECKER et al. (US 20220415112 A1) in view of Hwang (US 20030029557 A1).
As per Claim 1, WEISBECKER discloses a system comprising:
a prepaid card including an account number that is not accessible prior to activation of the prepaid card, wherein the account number can be used, after the activation of the prepaid card, to perform transactions using the prepaid card and cannot be used to activate the prepaid card ([0022] “The present invention provides various configurations of card activation systems that ensure that the information to activate a card may only be accessed once, thereby preventing card activation if the gift card has been tampered with by a thief” and the card comprises identifier as disclosed [0054] “If a thief peels away the label to reveal the card's hidden identifier and then reapplies the label, then the label will have visible distortion that evidences tampering, and the distorted upper level activation code will fail to read” which may be account number as disclosed [0005] “The unique identifier of a gift card may take the form of a numeric or alpha-numeric code similar to a credit card number”); and
a covering concealing at least a portion of the prepaid card, the covering including an activation token that is accessible prior to activation of the prepaid card, wherein the activation token can be used to activate the prepaid card and cannot be used to perform transactions using the prepaid card (See Figures 4C and 4D, as disclosed [0086] “The process of card activation will occur in a store cash register. The process of activation will include first a step of reading the upper bar code. Reading of the upper code may cause a web page to open where the card buyer will be required to register the card or to provide additional identifying information for added security. The label will then be peeled off” and [0089] “The second bar code is needed to complete the activation process. The second code also functions as a unique identifier to be used again later when the card is presented to withdraw money”).
Although WEISBECKER teaches that the card includes unique identifiers, which [0005] “The unique identifier of a gift card may take the form of a numeric or alpha-numeric code similar to a credit card number”, the prior art does not seem to explicitly disclose exactly that the card includes an account number. However, Hwang discloses:
a prepaid card including an account number that is not accessible prior to activation of the prepaid card, wherein the account number can be used, after the activation of the prepaid card, to perform transactions using the prepaid card and cannot be used to activate the prepaid card ([0016] “It is an object of the present invention to provide a structure for preventing the embezzlement of the prepayment card which a transparent film having a predetermined pattern is attached to its one side so that it can stick to the rear face of the prepayment card which the identification number is printed, so that it is possible that a trace is remained to the surface of the hologram by transparent film having a predetermined pattern when the transparent film is removed by a dishonest means, thereby preventing the prepayment card (or lottery ticket) used from being sold twice in accordance with the identification number being seen (or flown out) and protecting disorder of commercial transactions in advance”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize structure to hide or conceal the number printed on the card as in Hwang in the system executing the method of WEISBECKER, with the motivation of offering to [0002-0013] improve the method of concealing the special code on cards to prevent theft as taught by Hwang over that of WEISBECKER.
As per Claim 2, WEISBECKER may not explicitly disclose, but Hwang discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the covering comprises a tamper-evident seal attached to the prepaid card, wherein removal of the tamper-evident seal renders the activation number unreadable, and wherein the covering conceals at least a portion of the account number to cause the account number to not be accessible prior to activation of the prepaid card ([0055] “The present invention can prevent an undetected access to a special code that is hidden on a card. The special code can also be described as a card identification number. The present invention can prevent the undetected access to the special code by various methods. For example, a card can be formed to have tape separation handle on one edge, so that the handle breaks off when a person tries to remove a film covering the special code in order to try to view the special code. Also, a card can be formed to have a plastic part covering the special code. The plastic part can have a holographic image. When a person tries to remove the plastic part in order to view the special code, the plastic part breaks away from the card, and the holographic image is permanently altered”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize structure to hide or conceal the number printed on the card as in Hwang in the system executing the method of WEISBECKER, with the motivation of offering to [0002-0013] improve the method of concealing the special code on cards to prevent theft as taught by Hwang over that of WEISBECKER.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEISBECKER, in view of Hwang, and in view of Sarris et al. (US 7980464 B1).
As per Claim 3, WEISBECKER may not explicitly disclose, but Sarris discloses the system of claim 1, wherein a balance query including the activation token returns a response including a balance that is not a balance of the prepaid card (See Figure 3 – steps 325 to 361, as disclosed [Col 10 Lines 28-67 to Col 11 Lines 1-14] “As represented by block 360, if the received PIN matches the panic PIN 176 and a verification process does not negate the entry of the panic PIN 176, the bank card machine 120, issuing bank 170, and/or other parties perform the heightened-security "Panic Process." … As represented by block 361, in one embodiment, the bank card machine 120 provides a reduced balance to the cardholder 150, i.e., a balance lower than the actual balance of the customer's account 172”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to display reduced balance to the cardholder in response to the received PIN of the card in Sarris in the system executing the method of WEISBECKER, with the motivation of offering to [Col 1 Lines 48-60] protect against card fraud and related crimes while providing heightened security processes to stop the crime, limit damage from the crime, and help apprehend the criminal as taught by Sarris over that of WEISBECKER.
As per Claim 4, WEISBECKER may not explicitly disclose, but Sarris discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the balance query including the activation token indicates attempted fraud ([Col 4 Lines 13-33] “The processor is configured to use the bank account information and the personal identification code to determine whether the bank card machine is being used to attempt a fraudulent transaction … In one embodiment, the processor is configured to use the bank account information and the personal identification code to determine that the bank card machine is being used to attempt a fraudulent transaction by sending at least a portion of the bank account information and the personal identification code to a financial institution identified by the bank account information and receiving an indication from the financial institution that the bank card machine is being used to attempt a fraudulent transaction”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to identify attempted fraud in Sarris in the system executing the method of WEISBECKER, with the motivation of offering to [Col 1 Lines 48-60] protect against card fraud and related crimes while providing heightened security processes to stop the crime, limit damage from the crime, and help apprehend the criminal as taught by Sarris over that of WEISBECKER.
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEISBECKER, in view of Hwang, and in view of Biller (US 20030150762 A1).
As per Claim 5, WEISBECKER may not explicitly disclose, but Biller discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the covering comprises a packaging within which the prepaid card is packaged, wherein the packaging conceals at least a portion of the account number to cause the account number to not be accessible prior to activation of the prepaid card ([0035] “The assembly 10 of the present invention includes, but is not limited to, several preferred configurations. First, as shown in FIG. 1, the card 30 is mounted to the carrier 20 entirely interior to the outer perimeter of the carrier 20”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize card packaging as in Biller in the system executing the method of WEISBECKER, with the motivation of offering to [0007] “provide an efficient, tamper-resistant package assembly for cards such as prepaid account cards sold in retail stores” as taught by Biller over that of WEISBECKER.
As per Claim 20, WEISBECKER may not explicitly disclose, but Biller discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the covering comprises a packaging within which the prepaid card is packaged ([0035] “The assembly 10 of the present invention includes, but is not limited to, several preferred configurations. First, as shown in FIG. 1, the card 30 is mounted to the carrier 20 entirely interior to the outer perimeter of the carrier 20”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize card packaging as in Biller in the system executing the method of WEISBECKER, with the motivation of offering to [0007] “provide an efficient, tamper-resistant package assembly for cards such as prepaid account cards sold in retail stores” as taught by Biller over that of WEISBECKER.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEISBECKER, in view of Hwang, in view of Biller, and in view of Willard (US 20060151348 A1).
As per Claim 6, WEISBECKER may not explicitly disclose, but Willard discloses system of claim 5, wherein the packaging contains a plurality of prepaid cards, and wherein the plurality of prepaid cards can be activated using the activation token (See Figure 9 wherein the packaging includes two debit cards, as disclosed [0021] “Embodiments shown in FIGS. 5-9 and described below, illustrate an exemplary dual debit card package” and [0022] “As shown in FIG. 7, access flap 516 (see FIG. 6) can be swung out from between the rear 514 panels to facilitate point-of-sale activation”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize dual debit card package as in Willard in the system executing the method of WEISBECKER, with the motivation of offering to [0002-0006] provide improved activation and security features suitable for use with debit cards with efficient packaging for efficient access to card information and activation purposes as taught by Willard over that of WEISBECKER.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wolfe (US 20140229383 A1) discloses [Abstract] “Systems, methods, and computer-readable media for preventing and detecting fraud in the secondary gift card market are disclosed herein … Based on the event, the system can perform a reverification of the verified initial balance of the prepaid gift account to yield an updated balance. If the verification indicates that the updated balance is different from the verified initial balance, the system can perform a corrective action. The event can be receiving the prepaid gift account, listing the prepaid gift account for sale, transferring the prepaid gift account between parties, converting the prepaid gift account to a different form, an elevated fraud risk, a user request, a regular balance checking interval, or random selection”;
/HENRY H JUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 3695
/CHRISTINE M Tran/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3695