DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
3. This action is in response to Applicant’s Request for Reconsideration dated 07/13/2026.
4. Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-20 are currently pending.
5. Claims 1, 3, 12, and 14 have been amended.
6. Claims 2 and 13 have been cancelled.
Drawings
7. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “power supply coupled to the extraction plate” (claims 1 and 12) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 11-12, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2019/0074189) in view of Vaniapura et al (US 2018/0053628).
Regarding claim 1:
Park teaches a workpiece processing apparatus (ion beam etching apparatus, 1000) [fig 1-2 & 0018-0020], comprising: a plasma source (source part, 20) operable to generate a plasma (generating plasma) within a plasma chamber (interior of 20) enclosed by a chamber housing (walls of 20) [fig 1 & 0018]; and an extraction plate (middle electrode plate 40) coupled to the chamber housing (walls of 20), wherein the extraction plate (middle electrode plate 40) comprises a recombination array (body of middle electrode plate 40) including a plurality of channels (holes, 40H) operable to direct one or more radical beams (ion beam, IB) to a workpiece (100), and wherein the extraction plate (middle electrode plate, 40) is oriented at a non-zero angle (tilt angle, ɵt) relative to a perpendicular extending from a main surface of the workpiece (upper surface of 100) [fig 1-2 & 0018-0020].
Park does not specifically disclose a power supply coupled to the extraction plate.
Vaniapura teaches a power supply (power source) coupled to the extraction plate (one or more heating elements embedded in the separation grid) [fig 2 & 0038, 0085].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Park to include a power supply coupled to the extraction plate, as in Vaniapura, to further control the neutral species that can go through the grid, providing another control parameter for the process performance such as uniformity, surface oxidation and ash rate [Vaniapura – 0036].
The claim limitations “wherein the power supply is operable to heat the recombination array to a temperature greater than a temperature of the chamber housing” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claims 3 and 14:
The claim limitations “wherein the temperature of the recombination array is greater than 200° C” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claims 4-5 and 15-16:
Park teaches a first radiation shield (lower electrode plate 40) positioned between the recombination array (body of middle electrode plate 40) and the workpiece (substrate, 100) [fig 1-2 & 0018-0019]; and a second radiation shield (upper electrode plate 40) within the plasma chamber (interior of 20) [fig 1-2 & 0018-0019].
Regarding claims 6 and 17:
Park teaches the recombination array (body of middle electrode plate 40) is oriented at the non-zero angle (tilt angle, ɵt) relative to the perpendicular extending from the main surface of the workpiece (upper surface of 100) [fig 1-2 & 0020].
Regarding claims 7 and 18:
Park teaches the non-zero angle is approximately 45° (may be greater than about 0 degree and less than about 45 degrees) [0035-0036].
In a case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1946). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) [MPEP 2144.05(I)].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the non-zero angle to be approximately 45° to achieve the desired etching amount [Park – 0035].
Regarding claim 11:
The claim limitations “wherein the one or more radical beams include oxygen radicals” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claim 12:
Park teaches a workpiece processing apparatus (ion beam etching apparatus, 1000) [fig 1-2 & 0018-0020], comprising: a plasma source (source part, 20) operable to generate a plasma (generating plasma) within a plasma chamber (interior of 20) enclosed by a chamber housing (walls of 20) [fig 1 & 0018]; and an extraction plate (middle electrode plate 40) forming a portion of the chamber housing (bottom wall of 20), wherein the extraction plate (middle electrode plate 40) comprises a recombination array (body of middle electrode plate 40) including a plurality of channels (holes, 40H) operable to direct one or more radical beams (ion beam, IB) to a workpiece (100), and wherein the extraction plate (middle electrode plate, 40) is oriented at a non-zero angle (tilt angle, ɵt) relative to a perpendicular extending from a main surface of the workpiece (upper surface of 100) [fig 1-2 & 0018-0020].
Park does not specifically disclose a power supply coupled to the extraction plate.
Vaniapura teaches a power supply (power source) coupled to the extraction plate (one or more heating elements embedded in the separation grid) [fig 2 & 0038, 0085].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Park to include a power supply coupled to the extraction plate, as in Vaniapura, to further control the neutral species that can go through the grid, providing another control parameter for the process performance such as uniformity, surface oxidation and ash rate [Vaniapura – 0036].
The claim limitations “wherein the power supply is operable to heat the recombination array to a temperature greater than a temperature of the chamber housing” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
10. Claim(s) 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2019/0074189) in view of Vaniapura et al (US 2018/0053628) as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 11-12, and 14-18 above, and further in view of Berry III et al (US 9,406,535).
The limitations of claims 1, 3-7, 11-12, and 14-18 have been set forth above.
Regarding claims 8 and 19:
Modified Park does not specifically teach each channel of the plurality of channels has a length and a diameter, and wherein the length is at least five times greater than the diameter.
Berry III teaches each channel of a plurality of channels (210) has a length and a diameter, and wherein the length is at least five times greater than the diameter (thickness may be between 0.5 mm up to 10 cm and diameter may be between 0.5-1 cm) [fig 1-2 & col 6, lines 41-48].
In a case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1946) [MPEP 2144.05(I)].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify each channel of the plurality of channels of the recombination array of modified Park with the dimensions of Berry III to affect the degree of etching as desired [Berry III – col 16-17, lines 56-3].
11. Claim(s) 9-10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2019/0074189) in view of Vaniapura et al (US 2018/0053628) as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 11-12, and 14-18 above, and further in view of Lee et al (US 2023/0130162).
The limitations of claims 1, 3-7, 11-12, and 14-18 have been set forth above.
Regarding claim 9:
Modified Park does not specifically disclose wherein each channel of the plurality of channels is defined by an inner surface, and wherein quartz is provided along the inner surface.
Lee teaches each channel of the plurality of channels is defined by an inner surface, and wherein quartz is provided along the inner surface (quartz can be coated on a metal grid) [provisional, page 5].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the inner surface of each channel of the plurality of channels of the recombination array of modified Park to include quartz provided along the inner surface, as in Lee, to enhance the strength or corrosion resistance [Lee – provisional, page 5].
Regarding claims 10 and 20:
Modified Park does not specifically disclose the recombination array is made from quartz, stainless steel, or aluminum.
Lee teaches a recombination array (grid) is made from quartz, stainless steel, or aluminum (stainless steel, aluminum alloy, or quartz) [provisional, page 5].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the recombination array of modified Park to be made from made from quartz, stainless steel, or aluminum, as in Lee, because such are suitable materials for a recombination array [Lee – provisional, page 5]. It has been held that selecting a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.07].
Response to Arguments
12. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 07/13/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-6 and 11-17 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and claim(s) 7-10 and 18-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benjamin Kendall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896