DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,650,512 B2 and claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,210,295 B2, both issued to Hsu et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of application 18/978369 are directed to the same invention of claims of U.S. 11,650,512 B2 and U.S. 12,210,295 B2. In this instance the claims of application 18/978369 are broader than that of U.S. 11,650,512 B2 and U.S. 12,210,295 B2. As such the claim of application 18/978369 is met by claims of U.S. 11,650,512 B2 and U.S. 12,210,295 B2. No further analysis is necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. [US 2014/0268074 A1] in view of Van Goch et al. [US 2024/0134289 A1].
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 18, Chien et al. discloses a method (Figs. 9-13), comprising:
receiving an indication that a particle is on a surface of a reticle (as shown in Figs. 1-8, see also paragraphs [0029], [0035]-[0039], [0065] and [0069] teaches the cleaning methods of the reticle and the various forces that are imparted on the reticle in the process).
Chien et al. does not teach determining a threshold amount of stress to be applied to the surface of the particle to remove the particle; signaling, to a reticle cleaning device, a movement operation to apply the threshold amount of stress to the surface of the reticle; receiving an indication of an amount of stress applied by the reticle cleaning device on the reticle; determining that the amount of stress exceeds the threshold amount of stress; and signaling, to the reticle cleaning device and based on the amount of stress exceeding the threshold amount of stress, a cease movement operation to cease movement of the reticle cleaning device.
However, Van Goch et al. discloses a method wherein data associated with a patterning device is detected and performing an action from a plurality of actions when a determination not to proceed is made (Abstract). Specifically, Van Goch et al. discloses determining a threshold amount of stress to be applied to the surface of the particle to remove the particle; signaling, to a reticle cleaning device, a movement operation to apply the threshold amount of stress to the surface of the reticle; receiving an indication of an amount of stress applied by the reticle cleaning device on the reticle; determining that the amount of stress exceeds the threshold amount of stress; and signaling, to the reticle cleaning device and based on the amount of stress exceeding the threshold amount of stress, a cease movement operation to cease movement of the reticle cleaning device (paragraphs [0067]-[0076], see also Figs. 5 and 6 teaches detecting reticle contamination and deformation (stress) and stopping when a threshold amount is exceeded).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide detecting when the amount of stress exceeds a threshold amount in a reticle cleaning operation, as taught by Van Goch et al. in the method of Chien et al. because such a modification provides improved inspection techniques and protection for patterning devices of a lithographic apparatus before exposing a substrate (paragraph [0005] of Van Goch et al.).
Regarding claims 2-7, 9-17, 19 and 20, Chien et al. in view of Van Goch et al. discloses wherein the indication is received via a stress sensor of the reticle cleaning device, wherein the cease movement operation is signaled to an actuator of the reticle cleaning device, further comprising: determining the threshold based on the at least one of the material of the reticle or the material of the particle on the reticle, further comprising: receiving an indication of at least one of the material of the reticle or the material of the particle on the reticle, further comprising: signaling, to the reticle cleaning device, a movement operation to move the reticle cleaning device toward the particle on the reticle, further comprising: receiving an indication of the particle on the reticle, wherein the movement operation is signaled based on receiving the indication of the particle on the reticle, further comprising: determining controls for moving the reticle cleaning device to the surface of the reticle, wherein the movement operation is based on the controls, wherein the controls include a height relative to the reticle to which the reticle cleaning device is to be moved to contact the particle, further comprising: determining the height based on a height of the particle, wherein the height is a preconfigured height, further comprising: determining the threshold amount of stress based on at least one of a material of the reticle or a material of the particle, further comprising: receiving an indication of at least one of the material of the reticle or the material of the particle, wherein the reticle cleaning device comprises a contact surface and at least one of a loader or a support member, and wherein the movement operation is for the at least one of the loader or the support member to position the contact surface above the particle, further comprising: signaling, to the reticle cleaning device, a cease movement operation, further comprising: determining that an amount of stress applied by the reticle cleaning device on the reticle exceeds a threshold, wherein the cease movement operation is signaled based on determining that the amount of stress exceeds the threshold (in the combination of Chien et al. and Van Goch et al., as shown in Figs. 1-8, see also paragraphs [0029], [0035]-[0039], [0065] and [0069] of Chien et al. and paragraphs [0067]-[0076], see also Figs. 5 and 6 of Van Goch et al.).
Conclusion
/DEORAM PERSAUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882