DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending in this application. Amended claims 1, 4-5, 9, 13 are noted.
The amendment dated 06/18/2026 has been entered and carefully considered. The examiner appreciates the amendment to the claims. In view of said amendments, a portion of the 112 rejection and the prior art rejection have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1 line 2, from which claims 2-8 depend, the term “low friction coating” is deemed a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The same issue applies to line 4 and elsewhere. In addition, the same issue applies to independent claim 9, from which claims 10-15 depend, and elsewhere.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 108842133 (see English Translation) in view of Liu et al. (2022/0063035) and Yoshida et al. (2007/0218660).
CN’133 teaches a method for forming a patterned electrostatic chuck (title) in which a patterned organic gel mask is used to form a DLC film layer on a ceramic substrate using ion beam technology (abstract). However, the reference fails to teach embossments.
Liu teaches a electrostatic chuck with embossments that comprise diamond-like carbon (title). Specifically, the embossments are made of multiple deposited layers (abstract). The diamond like carbon are deposited using a mask (0027). It would have been obvious to use embossments in the electrostatic chuck in CN’133 depending on the desired used of the final product with the expectation of success because Liu teaches of using diamondlike embossments in an electrostatic chuck.
With respect to the newly added limitation of a plurality of embossments extending upwards from a flat top surface, Yoshida teaches a diamond film formation method (title) in which diamond is formed on the mask and the surface (0071-0072) in which a material 1a extends from the support table 11 (0068 and Figure 10). To utilize embossments that extend from a top flat surface in CN’133 would have been obvious with the expectation of success because Yoshida teaches of extending a material on a support table.
Regarding claim 2, CN’133 teaches a diffusion layer (abstract).
Regarding claim 3, CN’133 teaches DLC (abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches CVD (0021).
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches plasma enhanced CVD (0021).
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches a mask with multiple openings (0027).
Regarding claim 7, the applicant requires optimizing spread. Liu teaches a pattern of multiple embossments with multiple openings (0027), which would vary the spread.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 108842133 (see English Translation) and Liu et al. (2022/0063035) and Yoshida et al. (2007/0218660) and further in view of JP 2009-105386 (see English Translation). The combination of CN’133/Liu/Yoshida fails to teach the aperture configuration.
JP’386 teaches an electrostatic chuck apparatus (title) having a surface embossment pattern (abstract) in which there is an inclined angle and a vertical angle (p.5 last full paragraph). It would have been obvious to utilize angles in the aperture in the combination with the expectation of success because JP’386 teaches of using angles in the embossment pattern.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-15 are allowed over the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant first argues that the term low friction coating is not an indefinite term because it is defined as one which generates fewer particles and/or creates a smoother surface (p.5 second paragraph).
The examiner disagrees. The examiner questions how a coating which generates fewer particles and a smooth surface can be defined as a low friction coating. For example, the examiner is unable to ascertain how generating fewer particles defines what low friction is. More importantly, what is the difference between a coating and a low friction coating? How can one skilled in the art tell the difference. For example, if a coating generates 10 particles and a low friction coating generates 5 particles, one skilled in the art can determine how low friction is being defined. At the present time, the term is still indefinite and the rejection is being maintained.
Applicant argues that the embossments are part of the electrostatic chuck and not being deposited (pp.6-7).
The examiner agrees and notes the citation of Yoshida which teaches material 1a extends from the support table 11 (0068 and Figure 10).
Applicant next argues that a shadow mask is not taught (p.7 second paragraph).
The examiner disagrees. Liu teaches of depositing diamond like carbon using a mask (0027).
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not deemed persuasive.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRET P CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718 07/18/2026