DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11, 13 and 20 recite the limitation "the knuckle assembly.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. For the purposes of examination, “the knuckle assembly” is being interpreted as “the one or more knuckle assemblies.” Claims 2-10, 12 and 14-19 are rejected as depending from a rejected claim.
Claims 14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 14 recites identical limitations to those found in claim 13 from which the claim depends. Thus, claim 14 does not constitute a further limitation of claim 13. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Claims 16 and 18 are rejected as depending from a rejected claim. For the purposes of examination, claims 16 and 18 are treated as depending from claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leiber (WO 2021/160567 A1) in view of Cheon (KR 2008-0110021 A). Note that U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 17/923,909, was a National Stage application under 35 U.S.C. §371(c) of PCT/EP2021/052977, thus the U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0001987 of U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 17/923,977 is an accurate English translation of WO 2021/160567 A1.
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 11, Leiber discloses an electric vehicle steering system, comprising:
a vehicle controller (M-ECU) configured to collect and process one or more vehicle conditions and determine a braking application instruction based on the vehicle conditions [0096-0097, 0112];
a braking controller (BM1, BM2 or ECUBM1) in cooperation with the vehicle controller and a braking system of the vehicle, configured to receive and execute the braking application instruction from the vehicle controller [0097]; and
a steering controller (EPS) in cooperation with the vehicle controller, and one or more steering actuators, configured to receive and execute the braking application instruction from the vehicle controller [0027, 0049, 0097, 0104].
Leiber does not disclose wherein the one or more steering actuators, in cooperation with one or more knuckle assemblies, is configured to control an angle of rotation of the knuckle assembly, wherein the braking application instruction comprises the angle of rotation for the one or more knuckle assemblies and wherein the braking application instruction results in the one or more knuckle assemblies being placed in a first divergent position or a second divergent position non-orthogonal to a direction of travel, thereby providing a braking force, wherein the knuckle assembly is adjustable to a range of intermediate angles between the first divergent position and the second divergent position, wherein the first divergent position is a toed-in position and the second divergent position is a toed-out position. Leiber does not explicitly disclose a steering wheel; however, Leiber teaches that the driver inputs requests through actuator element(s) 26 [0096]. Leiber also suggests that vehicles with less than fully automated driving require a steering wheel and the steering system is designed for use with electric vehicles with highly automated driving, which is a lower level of automation than fully automated driving [0001, 0007].
Cheon discloses an automobile steering system for an automobile with a steering wheel and one or more steering actuators, in cooperation with one or more knuckle assemblies (400), configured to control an angle of rotation of the knuckle assembly in response to a braking application instruction comprising the angle of rotation for the one or more knuckle assemblies and wherein the braking application instruction results in the one or more knuckle assemblies being placed in a first divergent position or a second divergent position non-orthogonal to a direction of travel, thereby providing a braking force [page 10: “the ECU (20) adjusts the inclination angle of the knuckle (400) of the CTBA type rear suspension system through the alignment adjustment signals, namely the brake pedal signal, the steering wheel angle signal, and the pulling detection part signal. The ECU (20) determines whether the automobile is braking based on the brake pedal signal, determines the direction of travel of the automobile based on the steering wheel angle signal, and determines whether the automobile is pulling based on the pulling detection part signal”] [page 11: “Figures 4a and 4b attached are operational diagrams showing the operating state of an alignment adjustment device for a rear suspension system for an automobile according to the present invention. As shown in Figure 4a, when the automobile is pushed to the left during braking, the ECU (20) receives a leftward push signal detected by the push detection unit (30) and drives the hydraulic cylinder (14) of the connecting member (10) to rotate the knuckle (400) counterclockwise to adjust the alignment. On the other hand, as illustrated in FIG. 4b, when the vehicle is driven to the right during braking, the ECU (20) receives the rightward drive signal detected by the drive detection unit (30) and drives the hydraulic cylinder (14) of the connecting member (10) to rotate the knuckle (400) clockwise to adjust the alignment”];
wherein the knuckle assembly is adjustable to a range of intermediate angles between the first divergent position and the second divergent position [as shown in Figures 1, 4a and 4b, the knuckle may assume a range of angles between the angles defined by the end positions of the hydraulic cylinder 14; page 11: “the angle adjustment amount of the knuckle (400) is set and stored in the ECU (20) as a reference value through prior testing”],
wherein the first divergent position is a toed-in position and the second divergent position is a toed-out position [as shown in Figures 1, 4a and 4b the knuckle assembly can be placed in a toed-in or toed-out position].
Cheon teaches that “[a]ccordingly, in order to solve the problem of the vehicle drifting to one side due to deviation in the rear toe value during high-speed braking, the present invention separates the connecting member (10) connected to the knuckle (400) into two plate shapes, and the variable plate part (12) on the side fixed to the wheel is made to rotate left and right by the ECU (20). In particular, the ECU (20), which receives the brake pedal signal, steering wheel angle signal, and drift detection signal, compares and judges with a preset reference value to adjust the inclination angle of the wheel (inclination angle of the knuckle), thereby making it easy to adjust the alignment of the rear suspension system” [pages 11-12].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric vehicle steering system disclosed by Leiber to contain at least one knuckle assembly of the type disclosed by Cheon whose angle of rotation may be controlled in a direction non-orthogonal to a direction of travel of the vehicle in a toed-in or toed-out position when a braking application instruction is received because, as taught by Cheon, rotation of the knuckle compensates for deviation of a rear toe value of the wheel during high-speed braking so that drift of the vehicle to one side is prevented. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to combine the steering wheel of the automobile disclosed by Cheon with the steering system disclosed by Leiber because the angle of rotation depends at least on a steering wheel angle signal, and because a steering wheel is required for levels of automation lower than fully automated driving.
Regarding claim 2, Leiber further discloses wherein the one or more vehicle conditions include one or more of vehicle speed, vehicle acceleration, vehicle yaw rate, vehicle steering angle, and wheel slip [0111]; and
wherein each vehicle condition is received from one or more sensors or determined from a signal received from one or more sensors [0111, 0117].
Regarding claim 4, Leiber further discloses the system included in a module configured to be attached to a platform for an electric vehicle [0001, 0072, as shown in Figure 3].
Regarding claim 6, Leiber further discloses wherein the one or more sensors include a wheel speed sensor, a brake pedal position sensor, and/or a vehicle stability control sensor [0108, 0112].
Regarding claim 10, Leiber further discloses wherein the steering controller is further configured to execute steering adjustments in cooperation with an autonomous or semi-autonomous driving system [0084].
Claim(s) 3, 13-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leiber (WO 2021/160567 A1) in view of Cheon (KR 2008-0110021 A) and further in view of Chen (CN 115420249 A). Note that U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 17/923,909, was a National Stage application under 35 U.S.C. §371(c) of PCT/EP2021/052977, thus the U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0001987 of U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 17/923,977 is an accurate English translation of WO 2021/160567 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Leiber, as modified by Cheon, discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose a tire assembly in cooperation with each of the one or more knuckle assemblies.
Chen discloses a steering system comprising a tire assembly (10) in cooperation with each of one or more knuckle assemblies (12) [0044, as shown in Figures 2 and 3].
Chen teaches that it is known in the art to provide tires assemblies with tire pressure monitoring systems in cars [0005]. Chen teaches that tires function as a serviceable part that wears out, and is used to encase a wheel rim [0003, 0011, 0044].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the tire disclosed by Chen with the wheels disclosed by Leiber to form a tire assembly in cooperation with the one or more knuckle assemblies to predictably provide a wear surface for vehicle travel that encases and protects wheel rims.
Regarding claims 13-14, 17 and 20, Leiber discloses an electric vehicle steering system, comprising:
a vehicle controller (M-ECU) configured to collect and process one or more vehicle conditions and determine a braking application instruction based on the vehicle conditions [0096-0097, 0112], wherein the one or more vehicle conditions include one or more of vehicle speed, vehicle acceleration, vehicle yaw rate, vehicle steering angle, and wheel slip, and wherein each vehicle condition is received from one or more sensors or determined from a signal received from one or more sensors [0111, 0117];
a braking controller (BM1, BM2 or ECUBM1) in cooperation with the vehicle controller and a braking system of the vehicle, configured to receive and execute the braking application instruction from the vehicle controller [0097]; and
a steering controller (EPS) in cooperation with the vehicle controller, and one or more steering actuators, configured to receive and execute the braking application instruction from the vehicle controller [0027, 0049, 0097, 0104].
Leiber does not disclose wherein the one or more steering actuators, in cooperation with one or more knuckle assemblies, is configured to control an angle of rotation of the knuckle assembly, wherein the braking application instruction comprises the angle of rotation for the one or more knuckle assemblies and wherein the braking application instruction results in the one or more knuckle assemblies being placed in a first divergent position or a second divergent position non-orthogonal to a direction of travel, thereby providing a braking force, wherein the knuckle assembly is adjustable to a range of intermediate angles between the first divergent position and the second divergent position, wherein the first divergent position is a toed-in position and the second divergent position is a toed-out position. Leiber does not explicitly disclose a steering wheel; however, Leiber teaches that the driver inputs requests through actuator element(s) 26 [0096]. Leiber also suggests that vehicles with less than fully automated driving require a steering wheel and the steering system is designed for use with electric vehicles with highly automated driving, which is a lower level of automation than fully automated driving [0001, 0007].
Cheon discloses an automobile steering system for an automobile with a steering wheel and one or more steering actuators, in cooperation with one or more knuckle assemblies (400), configured to control an angle of rotation of the knuckle assembly in response to a braking application instruction comprising the angle of rotation for the one or more knuckle assemblies and wherein the braking application instruction results in the one or more knuckle assemblies being placed in a first divergent position or a second divergent position non-orthogonal to a direction of travel, thereby providing a braking force [page 10: “the ECU (20) adjusts the inclination angle of the knuckle (400) of the CTBA type rear suspension system through the alignment adjustment signals, namely the brake pedal signal, the steering wheel angle signal, and the pulling detection part signal. The ECU (20) determines whether the automobile is braking based on the brake pedal signal, determines the direction of travel of the automobile based on the steering wheel angle signal, and determines whether the automobile is pulling based on the pulling detection part signal”] [page 11: “Figures 4a and 4b attached are operational diagrams showing the operating state of an alignment adjustment device for a rear suspension system for an automobile according to the present invention. As shown in Figure 4a, when the automobile is pushed to the left during braking, the ECU (20) receives a leftward push signal detected by the push detection unit (30) and drives the hydraulic cylinder (14) of the connecting member (10) to rotate the knuckle (400) counterclockwise to adjust the alignment. On the other hand, as illustrated in FIG. 4b, when the vehicle is driven to the right during braking, the ECU (20) receives the rightward drive signal detected by the drive detection unit (30) and drives the hydraulic cylinder (14) of the connecting member (10) to rotate the knuckle (400) clockwise to adjust the alignment”];
wherein the knuckle assembly is adjustable to a range of intermediate angles between the first divergent position and the second divergent position [as shown in Figures 1, 4a and 4b, the knuckle may assume a range of angles between the angles defined by the end positions of the hydraulic cylinder 14; page 11: “the angle adjustment amount of the knuckle (400) is set and stored in the ECU (20) as a reference value through prior testing”],
wherein the first divergent position is a toed-in position and the second divergent position is a toed-out position [as shown in Figures 1, 4a and 4b the knuckle assembly can be placed in a toed-in or toed-out position].
Cheon teaches that “[a]ccordingly, in order to solve the problem of the vehicle drifting to one side due to deviation in the rear toe value during high-speed braking, the present invention separates the connecting member (10) connected to the knuckle (400) into two plate shapes, and the variable plate part (12) on the side fixed to the wheel is made to rotate left and right by the ECU (20). In particular, the ECU (20), which receives the brake pedal signal, steering wheel angle signal, and drift detection signal, compares and judges with a preset reference value to adjust the inclination angle of the wheel (inclination angle of the knuckle), thereby making it easy to adjust the alignment of the rear suspension system” [pages 11-12].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric vehicle steering system disclosed by Leiber to contain at least one knuckle assembly of the type disclosed by Cheon whose angle of rotation may be controlled in a direction non-orthogonal to a direction of travel of the vehicle in a toed-in or toed-out position when a braking application instruction is received because, as taught by Cheon, rotation of the knuckle compensates for deviation of a rear toe value of the wheel during high-speed braking so that drift of the vehicle to one side is prevented. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to combine the steering wheel of the automobile disclosed by Cheon with the steering system disclosed by Leiber because the angle of rotation depends at least on a steering wheel angle signal, and because a steering wheel is required for levels of automation lower than fully automated driving.
Leiber, as modified by Cheon, does not explicitly disclose a tire assembly in cooperation with each of the one or more knuckle assemblies.
Chen discloses a steering system comprising a tire assembly (10) in cooperation with each of one or more knuckle assemblies (12) [0044, as shown in Figures 2 and 3].
Chen teaches that it is known in the art to provide tires assemblies with tire pressure monitoring systems in cars [0005]. Chen teaches that tires function as a serviceable part that wears out, and is used to encase a wheel rim [0003, 0011, 0044].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the tire disclosed by Chen with the wheels disclosed by Leiber to form a tire assembly in cooperation with the one or more knuckle assemblies to predictably provide a wear surface for vehicle travel that encases and protects wheel rims.
Regarding claim 15, Leiber further discloses the system included in a module configured to be attached to a platform for an electric vehicle [0001, 0072, as shown in Figure 3].
Regarding claim 16, Leiber further discloses wherein the one or more sensors include a wheel speed sensor, a brake pedal position sensor, and/or a vehicle stability control sensor [0108, 0112].
Regarding claim 19, Leiber further discloses wherein the steering controller is further configured to execute steering adjustments in cooperation with an autonomous or semi-autonomous driving system [0084].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leiber (WO 2021/160567 A1) in view of Cheon (KR 2008-0110021 A) and further in view of Yamakado (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0145498). Note that U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 17/923,909, was a National Stage application under 35 U.S.C. §371(c) of PCT/EP2021/052977, thus the U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0001987 of U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 17/923,977 is an accurate English translation of WO 2021/160567 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Leiber, as modified by Cheon, discloses the system of claim 1 but does not disclose wherein the one or more knuckle assemblies comprise one or more front knuckle assemblies and one or more rear knuckle assemblies; and wherein the one or more front knuckle assemblies may be placed in the first divergent position or the second divergent position and the one or more rear knuckle assemblies may be placed in the first divergent position or the second divergent position.
Yamakado discloses a motion control system of a vehicle including one or more knuckle assemblies comprising one or more front knuckle assemblies (1103, 1104) and one or more rear knuckle assemblies (1123, 1124); and
wherein the one or more front knuckle assemblies may be placed in a first divergent position or a second divergent position and the one or more rear knuckle assemblies may be placed in the first divergent position or the second divergent position [as shown in Figure 1b].
Yamakado teaches that placing the front knuckle assemblies in a first divergent position and the rear knuckle assemblies in a second divergent position enhances the start of a vehicle turning around and enables a transition to steady turning [0101, 0110-0111].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set one or more front and rear knuckle assemblies in the steering system disclosed by Leiber to first and second divergent positions in opposing directions as disclosed by Yamakado if the vehicle is starting to turn around to enhance the turning process by providing a transition to a stable turning state.
Claim(s) 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leiber (WO 2021/160567 A1) in view of Cheon (KR 2008-0110021 A) and further in view of Koibuchi (JP 2003-159966 A). Note that U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 17/923,909, was a National Stage application under 35 U.S.C. §371(c) of PCT/EP2021/052977, thus the U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0001987 of U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 17/923,977 is an accurate English translation of WO 2021/160567 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Leiber, as modified by Cheon discloses the system of claim 2, wherein Cheon further discloses wherein the steering controller adjusts the angle of rotation of the one or more knuckle assemblies to improve vehicle stability [as discussed in reference to claim 1 above, Cheon adjusts the inclination angle of the knuckle 400 to address a situation where the car pulls to one side while turning]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the knuckle assembly and control disclosed by Cheon with the system disclosed by Leiber for the reasons specified in reference to claim 1 above.
Leiber, as modified by Cheon, does not disclose wherein the vehicle controller is further configured to determine the vehicle steering angle based on the vehicle’s yaw rate and vehicle speed.
Koibuchi discloses a control device for a vehicle configured to determine the vehicle steering angle based on the vehicle’s yaw rate and vehicle speed [0077, 0083].
Koibuchi teaches that real-time determination of the steering angle based on the vehicle operating range ensures stable driving motion of the vehicle [0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the vehicle steering angle as disclosed by Koibuchi in the system disclosed by Leiber to ensure stable driving motion of the vehicle in a vehicle operating range requiring responsive control.
Regarding claim 9, Leiber, as modified by Cheon, discloses the system of claim 2 wherein Leiber further discloses the braking controller and the steering controller in communication with each other as discussed above but does not disclose a feedback loop between the braking controller and the steering controller, wherein the braking application instruction is dynamically adjusted based on real-time changes in vehicle wheel slip.
Koibuchi discloses a feedback loop between a braking controller (50) and a steering controller (62), wherein a braking application instruction is dynamically adjusted based on real-time changes in vehicle wheel slip [0079, 0082-0083].
Koibuchi teaches that adjusting braking based on real-time changes in vehicle slip ensures an optimal distribution of braking forces to each wheel of the vehicle [0122].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feedback process as disclosed by Koibuchi in the system disclosed by Leiber to ensure optimal distribution of braking force to each vehicle wheel so that a total target braking force is reached.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leiber (WO 2021/160567 A1) in view of Cheon (KR 2008-0110021 A) and further in view of Gaither (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0134161). Note that U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 17/923,909, was a National Stage application under 35 U.S.C. §371(c) of PCT/EP2021/052977, thus the U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0001987 of U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 17/923,977 is an accurate English translation of WO 2021/160567 A1.
Regarding claim 12, Leiber, as modified by Cheon, discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above but does not disclose wherein the braking application instruction is based on predictive vehicle conditions determined using an artificial intelligence module in communication with the vehicle controller, wherein the artificial intelligence module determines vehicle conditions at least based on historical driving patterns.
Gaither discloses determining a braking application instruction based on predictive vehicle conditions determined using an artificial intelligence module in communication with a vehicle controller, wherein the artificial intelligence module determines vehicle conditions at least based on historical driving patterns [0026, 0043, 0054-0055, 0060, 0083-0084, as shown in Figure 2 the brake wear module, which may be an artificial intelligence module, receives brake wear data from a vehicle controller based on historical driving patterns and an adjusted deceleration pattern based on future expectations on how the brakes are expected to wear; the friction brakes receive a braking instruction based on the output of the brake wear module].
Gaither teaches that historical driving patterns may degrade brakes over time, which can change how the brake pedal feels when depressed by the driver [0017]. Changes in brake feel can reduce driver confidence and may lead to dangerous driving conditions [0017].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to compensate for the brake wear using the historical and predictive data in the system disclosed by Leiber by providing the braking application instruction produced by the artificial intelligence module disclosed by Gaither to the system to align the expected brake feel with a feel expected by the driver.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leiber (WO 2021/160567 A1) in view of Cheon (KR 2008-0110021 A) in view of Chen (CN 115420249 A) and further in view of Koibuchi (JP 2003-159966 A). Note that U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 17/923,909, was a National Stage application under 35 U.S.C. §371(c) of PCT/EP2021/052977, thus the U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0001987 of U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 17/923,977 is an accurate English translation of WO 2021/160567 A1.
Regarding claim 18, Leiber, as modified by Cheon and Chen, discloses the system of claim 14 wherein Leiber further discloses the braking controller and the steering controller in communication with each other as discussed above but does not disclose a feedback loop between the braking controller and the steering controller, wherein the braking application instruction is dynamically adjusted based on real-time changes in vehicle wheel slip.
Koibuchi discloses a feedback loop between a braking controller (50) and a steering controller (62), wherein a braking application instruction is dynamically adjusted based on real-time changes in vehicle wheel slip [0079, 0082-0083].
Koibuchi teaches that adjusting braking based on real-time changes in vehicle slip ensures an optimal distribution of braking forces to each wheel of the vehicle [0122].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feedback process as disclosed by Koibuchi in the system disclosed by Leiber to ensure optimal distribution of braking force to each vehicle wheel so that a total target braking force is reached.
Conclusion
should be directed to JOSHUA CAMPBELL whose telephone number is (571) 272-8215. The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM.
Lindsay M. Low can be reached on (571) 272-1196. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-
direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR
CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA CAMPBELL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/JACOB M AMICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747