DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 10-20 drawn to a method for manufacturing a display apparatus in the reply filed on 06/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/02/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,819,969 to LEE ET AL in view of US 9,502,233 to SANO ET AL.
With regard to claim 10, LEE teaches a method of manufacturing a display apparatus (col 1 ln 12-17), the method comprising: depositing a deposition material on a substrate in a first chamber (col 3 ln 66-col 4 ln 16); and cleaning the deposition material remaining in the first chamber (col 4 ln 40-65), wherein, in the cleaning the deposition material, at least one of a flow rate of a first material flowing into a second chamber connected to the first chamber, and a flow rate of a second material flowing into the second chamber is adjusted (col 5 ln 38-col 6 ln 27 and col 7 ln 14-50).
LEE teaches the chamber being cleaning is a CVD chamber but does not explicitly teach an opening rate of a pressure adjuster connected to the first chamber is adjusted, thereby maintaining pressure in the first chamber at a preset range. However, is it known in the art to maintain the pressure of a CVD chamber during cleaning by using a pressure adjusted connected to the chamber and maintaining the pressure in the chamber to a preset range by adjusting the pressure adjuster, as taught by SANO (col 8 ln 56-col 9 ln 2 and col 13 ln 34-37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method taught by LEE to include the pressure adjuster and maintaining the desired pressure in the chamber, as taught by SANO, to provide additional control on the pressure in the chamber.
With regard to claims 11 and 12, LEE modified by SANO teaches the method of claim 10. LEE further teaches the first material includes argon, and the method further comprises generating first radicals of the first element by applying energy to the first material in the second chamber (col 5 ln 55-ln 65). While LEE does not explicitly teach that first radicals are generated, the prior art processing steps are substantially similar to those instantly claimed. Thus it is reasonably expected that they would produce the same results. Thus is it reasonably expected that first radicals of the first element would be generated when the plasma is applied to the first material.
With regard to claims 13 and 14, LEE modified by SANO teaches the method of claim 11. Furthermore, LEE teaches the second material includes a second element of fluorine, and the method further comprises generating second radicals of the second element by the first radicals of the first element in the second chamber (col 5 ln 55-65).
With regard to claim 15, LEE modified by SANO teaches the method of claim 13. Furthermore, LEE teaches in the generating the second radicals of the second element, the first material and the second material are injected together at a preset ratio into the second chamber (col 5 ln 66-col 6 ln 2).
With regard to claim 16, LEE modified by SANO teaches the method of claim 13. Furthermore, LEE teaches injecting, into the first chamber, the first radicals of the first element and the second radicals of the second element, generated in the second chamber (col 5 ln 55-65).
With regard to claim 17, LEE modified by SANO teaches the method of claim 10. SANO does not teach the opening rate of the pressure adjuster is about 30 to about 35%. However, the opening rate is a result effect variable modifying the pressure and gas flow within the chamber. Since applicants did not provide any criticality regarding the recited parameter, one skilled in the art would have found obvious to optimize the opening rate through routine experimentation for optimum result, see MPEP 2144.05 II.
With regard to claim 18, LEE modified by SANO teaches the method of claim 10. Furthermore, LEE teaches the first and second materials are mixed in a 1:1 ratio (col 5 ln 66-col 6 ln 2), thus suggesting that the flow rates of the materials should be equal. Having equal flow rates reads on the instantly claimed limitation of the flow rate of the first material flowing into the second chamber is 50% or more of the flow rate of the second material flowing into the second chamber.
With regard to claim 19, LEE modified by SANO teaches the method of claim 10. Furthermore, SANO teaches maintaining the chamber at a pressure of 10 Pa to 1000 Pa (0.075-7.5 Torr). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention further modify the method of LEE/SANO to maintain the chamber pressure at 10 Pa to 1000 Pa, taught by SANO, with reasonable expectation of success to prevent contaminants from coming into the chamber and maintain the chamber at a safe, known pressure for the internal components. The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art pressure range completely encompasses the claimed range of the 1.5 to 2.5 Torr. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
With regard to claim 20, LEE modified by SANO teaches the method of claim 10. Neither LEE nor SANO explicitly teach that during maintaining the pressure in the preset range, the opening rate of the pressure adjuster is increased when a sum of the flow rate of the first material and the flow rate of the second material is increased, and the opening rate of the pressure adjuster is reduced when a sum of the flow rate of the first material and the flow rate of the second material is reduced. However, there are a finite number of options for the relationship between the opening rate of the pressure adjuster and the sum of the flow rates of the first and second materials: positive correlation, inverse correlation or no correlation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the opening rate and the sum of the flow rates have a positive correlation in that the opening rate increases as the flow rate increases and the opening rate decreases as the flow rate decreases, as a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp in order to allow for the sufficient cleaning of the chamber. Thus it would be obvious for to have a positive correlation between the opening rate and flow rate sum, in that have the opening rate and the sum of the flow rates have a positive correlation in that the opening rate increases as the flow rate increases and the opening rate decreases as the flow rate decreases in the method taught by LEE/SANO as this would allow the pressure within the chamber to stay constant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 10,211,099 to WANG ET AL; US 5,812,403 to FONG; US 12,340,979 to TAN; US 2002/0033183 to SUN ET AL; US 2015/0361547 to LIN ET AL; and US 2014/0053867 to FANG ET AL.
KATELYN W. SMITH
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749