DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-15 (Invention I) in the reply filed on June 2, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: emission apparatus in claims 1, 4, 6, 10, and 13; positioning apparatus in claims 6, 7, and 12; and ion implantation system in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Perel et al. (7,078,712).
As for claim 1, Perel in an in-situ monitoring of an ion implanter discloses/suggests the following: a workpiece characterization system (FIG. 3: 300) comprising: a workpiece support having a support surface configured to selectively support a semiconductor workpiece thereon (FIG. 3: 352 with 308), wherein the semiconductor workpiece comprises a workpiece surface having one or more attributes (FIG. 3: 308 with col. 2: lines 30-45: noting the attributes as having particles, scratches, features, feature damage); an emission apparatus configured to emit a coherent light beam onto the workpiece surface and to scatter the coherent light beam from the workpiece surface to define a scattered light beam distribution based, at least in part, on the one or more attributes (FIG. 3: 322); a receiver apparatus configured to sense the scattered light beam distribution (FIG. 3: 328 with 360 treating a scattering pattern as a scattered light beam distribution: col. 4, lines 45-65 and col. 8, lines 5-20); and a controller configured to determine one or more characteristics of the semiconductor workpiece based, at least in part, on the scattered light beam distribution (FIG. 3: 329 with 330: treating characteristics and attributes as related: with col. 2: lines 30-45: noting the attributes as having particles, scratches, features, feature damage)
As for claims 2-3, Perel discloses/suggests everything as above (see claim 1). In addition, Perel discloses/suggests the following: wherein the one or more characteristics of the semiconductor workpiece comprise one or more of an orientation of the semiconductor workpiece with respect to the workpiece support and a physical condition of the semiconductor workpiece (claim 2) (physical condition: col. 2: lines 30-45: noting the attributes as having particles, scratches, features, feature damage) and wherein the one or more characteristics of the semiconductor workpiece comprise one or more of a plurality of features defined on the workpiece surface, a location of the plurality of features on the workpiece surface, a condition of the plurality of features, and a contaminant on the workpiece surface (claim 3)(condition of the plurality of features and a contaminant on the workpiece surface: col. 2: lines 30-45: noting the attributes as having particles, scratches, features, feature damage).
As for claim 15, Perel discloses/suggests everything as above (see claim 1). In addition, Perel discloses/suggests the following wherein the receiver apparatus comprises one or more of a laser sensor or an image sensor (col. 8, lines 5-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perel et al. (7,078,712).
As for claim 14, Perel discloses/suggests everything as above (see claim 1). Perel is silent concerning wherein the emission apparatus comprises a laser having a predetermined wavelength selected from a range between approximately 400nm and approximately 700nm. Nevertheless, the examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art of defect detection to use a laser with the visible wavelength range in order to view the scattering of defects.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: please refer to the attached PTO-892.
Fax/Telephone Numbers
The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 10:00 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
supervisor, Kara Geisel, can be reached at 571-272-2416. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GORDON J STOCK JR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877