DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations include the second positioning module in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 28-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
A computer-readable medium as recited in claim 28 can be a compact disc or a carrier wave covers a non-statutory embodiment, see MPEP 2106.03, Eligibility Step 1. The Examiner recommends rewriting the claims as a non-transitory computer readable medium. Claims 29-33 depend therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15, 17, 19-24, 26-31, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. [US 7,253,576] in view of Butler [US 2009/0201477].
For claims 13, 21, 22, 28 and 29, Yuan teaches a stage apparatus (see Figs. 2 and 3), associated method and a computer-readable medium comprising instructions therein, the instructions, when executed by one or more processors, configured to cause the one or more processors to perform the method (control system 24 embodied as a processer for performing the function, see col. 6 lines 35-40), comprising an object holder (208) configured to hold an object (200), a positioner comprising a first positioning module (horizontal actuators 216) and a second positioning module (204), wherein the first positioning module comprises an actuator (216) configured to position the object holder, and the second positioning module is configured to position the object holder and the first positioning module based on an object holder set point (set point position from command, see Fig. 3) representing a desired movement of the object holder during positioning with the second positioning module (position signal sent to controlling first stage movement, see Fig. 3), a processing unit (see Fig. 3) configured to determine a corrected object holder set point based on relative displacement between the second positioning module and the object holder position caused by a gap distance of the first positioning module during positioning with the second positioning module (gap distance signal and second stage position incorporated into the control of the first stage, see Fig. 3 and col. 10 lines 10-55).
Yang fails to teach a piezo or electrostrictive actuator or deformation of the first positioning module.
Butler teaches a piezo or electrostrictive actuator or deformation of the first positioning module (ultra short stroke actuators 9 have a relative high stiffness and are for instance piezo-elements which lengthen or shorten when actuate, see [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the piezo actuators that deform as taught by Butler in the fine stage control as taught by Yang in order to provide higher precision and smaller footprint.
For claims 14, 23, and 30, Yang teaches the corrected object holder set point represents a correction for the object holder set point, wherein the second positioning module is configured to position the object holder and the first positioning module based on the corrected object holder set point (gap distance signal and second stage position incorporated into the control of the first stage, see Fig. 3 and col. 10 lines 10-55).
For claims 15, 24, and 31, Yang teaches the corrected object holder set point represents a correction for the movement of the object holder during positioning with the second positioning module (gap distance signal and second stage position incorporated into the control of the first stage, see Fig. 3 and col. 10 lines 10-55).
For claims 17, 26, and 33, Yang teaches the apparatus is a lithographic apparatus (see Fig. 1), a metrology apparatus, a particle beam apparatus, an electron beam apparatus, an electron beam inspection apparatus, or an inspection apparatus.
For claim 19, Yang teaches a device manufacturing method (see Figs. 1, 9A, and 9B) comprising transferring a pattern from a patterning device onto a substrate using a lithographic apparatus comprising the stage apparatus according to claim 13.
For claim 20 and 27, Yang fails to teach the second positioning module comprises at least a piezo or electrostrictive actuator.
Butler teaches the second positioning module comprises at least a piezo or electrostrictive actuator. (ultra short stroke actuators 9 have a relative high stiffness and are for instance piezo-elements which lengthen or shorten when actuate, see [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the piezo actuators that deform as taught by Butler in the stage control as taught by Yang in order to provide higher precision and smaller footprint.
Claims 16, 25, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Butler as applied to claims 13, 21, and 28 above, and further in view of Fleming [US 2011/0193510].
For claims 16, 25, and 32, Yang teaches the corrected object holder set point band on a gap distance of an actuator (see Fig. 3), and Butler teaches the first piezo or electrostrictive actuator (see [0046]) but fails to teach the set point is based on at least a stiffness of at least the first piezo or electrostrictive actuator.
Fleming teaches the set point is based on at least a stiffness of at least the first piezo or electrostrictive actuator (change in length based on stiffness, see [0139]-[0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the distance using a stiffness constant as taught by Fleming in the feedback control as taught by Yang and Butler in order to determine the desired extension of a specific piezoelectric actuator.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Butler [US 2011/0001951] teaches a control system for long-stroke and short-stroke actuators of a wafer holder.
/Steven H Whitesell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759