DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ranganathan et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0296667 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Ranganathan et al. discloses a die testing structure, comprising:
a cold plate (see cold plate 130 shown in Fig. 1A), wherein the cold plate comprises:
a plurality of sensors (para 0069, lines 1-10);
a plurality of heaters (para 0039, lines 5-19), wherein each heater is located below a corresponding sensor (para 0069, lines 1-10); and
a vacuum channel with a plurality of vacuum sub-channels located between each sensor (para 0047, lines 10-14);
wherein the plurality of sensors, the plurality of heaters, and the plurality of vacuum sub-channels form a plurality of testing locations configured to receive a plurality of dies (para 0053, lines 1-11).
With respect to claim 2, Ranganathan et al. discloses the die testing structure of claim 1, wherein the vacuum sub-channels are configured to secure the dies to the cold plate via suction forces (para 0047, lines 10-14).
With respect to claim 3, Ranganathan et al. discloses the die testing structure of claim 1, further comprising a multiple singulated die holder configured to hold the plurality of dies in testing locations (para 0047, lines 10-14), wherein the multiple singulated die holder is configured to be positioned on the cold plate and includes vacuum sub-channels positioned to secure dies in each testing location via suction forces (para 0047, lines 10-14; ).
With respect to claim 4, Ranganathan et al. discloses the die testing structure of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of die grooves to accommodate dies during testing (para 0053, lines 1-11).
With respect to claim 5, Ranganathan et al. discloses the die testing structure of claim 4, wherein the plurality of die grooves are located within the cold plate (see cold plate 130 see Fig. 1A).
With respect to claim 6, Ranganathan et al. discloses the die testing structure of claim 4, further comprising a multiple singulated die holder located between the cold plate and the dies (see cold plate 130 see Fig. 1A; para 0053, lines 1-11), wherein the plurality of die grooves are formed within the multiple singulated die holder (para 0039, lines 5-19).
With respect to claim 7, Ranganathan et al. discloses the die testing structure of claim 4, further comprising a high thermal conductivity layer and a low thermal conductivity layer (see thermal active interposer 120 shown in Fig. 1A, coupled to the backside or top of device 110), wherein the plurality of die grooves are formed within the low thermal conductivity layer and the high thermal conductivity layer is located within each of the plurality of die grooves (claim 1, lines 8-14).
With respect to claim 8, Ranganathan et al. discloses the die testing structure of claim 7, further comprising a substrate, wherein the low thermal conductivity layer is located above the substrate (para 0034, lines 1-11).
With respect to claim 9, Ranganathan et al. discloses the die testing structure of claim 7, wherein the high thermal conductivity layer has a thermal conductivity of at least 80 W/m*K (see thermal active interposer 120 shown in Fig. 1A, coupled to the backside or top of device 110).
With respect to claim 10, Ranganathan et al. discloses the die testing structure of claim 7, wherein the low thermal conductivity layer has a thermal conductivity of at most 0.05 W/m*K (see thermal active interposer 120 shown in Fig. 1A, coupled to the backside or top of device 110).
With respect to claim 11, Ranganathan et al. discloses a die holder, comprising:
a low thermal conductivity layer (para 0034, lines 1-11) and
a plurality of grooves located within the low thermal conductivity layer (para 0040, lines 8-19), wherein each die groove includes a high thermal conductivity layer (para 0056, lines 4-19), and each die groove is configured to receive an die located above each high thermal conductivity layer (para 0034, lines 1-11).
With respect to claim 12, Ranganathan et al. discloses the multiple singulated die holder of claim 11, further comprising a plurality of vacuum sub-channels (para 0047, lines 10-14), each vacuum sub-channel is configured to be connected to a vacuum source (para 0049, lines 1-11), wherein each die groove is connected to one of the plurality of vacuum sub-channels (para 0060, lines 1-8).
With respect to claim 13, Ranganathan et al. discloses the multiple singulated die holder of claim 11, further comprising a cold plate (para 0060, lines 1-5), wherein the low thermal conductivity layer is located within the cold plate (see cold plate 130 see Fig. 1A).
With respect to claim 14, Ranganathan et al. discloses the multiple singulated die holder of claim 11, further comprising a substrate located between a cold plate and the low thermal conductivity layer (see substrate 410 shown in Fig. 4 and cold plate 130 shown in Fig. 1A).
With respect to claim 15, Ranganathan et al. discloses the multiple singulated die holder of claim 11, wherein the high thermal conductivity layer has a thermal conductivity of at least 80 W/m*K (para 0053, lines 1-11).
With respect to claim 16, Ranganathan et al. discloses the multiple singulated die holder of claim 11, wherein the low thermal conductivity layer has a thermal conductivity of at most 0.05 W/m*K (para 0053, lines 1-11).
With respect to claim 17, Ranganathan et al. discloses a method for forming a singulated die holder, comprising: forming a low thermal conductivity layer (para 0053, lines 1-11); patterning the low thermal conductivity layer to form a plurality of die grooves (see substrate 410 shown in Fig. 4 and cold plate 130 shown in Fig. 1A); forming a high thermal conductivity layer in each of the plurality of die grooves (para 0054, lines 1-11); and forming a plurality of vacuum sub-channels, wherein each vacuum sub-channel is connected to each die groove (see substrate 410 shown in Fig. 4 and cold plate 130 shown in Fig. 1A).
With respect to claim 18, Ranganathan et al. discloses the method of claim 17, wherein forming the high thermal conductivity layer further comprises: thinning the high thermal conductivity layer to be co-planar with the low thermal conductivity layer (para 0035, lines 1-6).
With respect to claim 19, Ranganathan et al. discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising applying a second low thermal conductivity layer above the low thermal conductivity layer and high thermal conductivity layer (para 0053, lines 1-11).
With respect to claim 20, The method of claim 19, further comprising patterning the second low thermal conductivity layer such that the second low thermal conductivity layer is above the low thermal conductivity layer and the high thermal conductivity layer is located in the die grooves (see substrate 410 shown in Fig. 4 and cold plate 130 shown in Fig. 1A).
Conclusion
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858