DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 10, is indefinite because “the peripheral area” lacks antecedent basis. This should be “the periphery are”
Claim 3, lines 1 and 2, both occurrences of “the cooling grooves” should be “the curved grooves”.
Claim 3, line 2, is indefinite because “close” lacks basis for comparison. How “close”?
Claim 4, line 2, is indefinite because “curve grooves” should be “curved grooves”.
Claim 15, line 3, is indefinite because “insect” should be “intersect”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pavloff (U.S. PGPUB. 2009/0090620 A1).
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 1:
Regarding claim 1, Pavloff teaches a target, comprising: a center area including a center; a periphery area extends around the center area; an edge spaced apart from the center area, the edge extends around the periphery area and the center area; a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface; and a plurality of curved grooves that extend into the first surface of the target, each respective curved groove of the plurality of curved grooves terminates before reaching the second surface, the plurality of curved grooves are curved and extend from the center to the edge by extending across the center area and the peripheral area, and each respective groove of the plurality of grooves converges with other respective grooves of the plurality of grooves at the center, the plurality of curved grooves are configured to, in operation, overlap an orbital pattern of at least one magnet when depositing a material onto a semiconductor substrate present within a substrate process chamber. (Figs. 2, 3, 6; Paragraphs 0016-0031)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 2:
Regarding claim 2, Pavloff teaches wherein the plurality of grooves are in an impeller shaped formation. (See Fig. 3)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 3:
Regarding claim 3, Pavloff teaches wherein a first density of the cooling grooves in close within the center area is greater than a second density of the cooling grooves within the periphery area. (See Fig. 3)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 4:
Regarding claim 4, Pavloff teaches a plurality of first circular grooves that intersect the plurality of curve grooves. (See Fig. 3)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 5:
Regarding claim 5, Pavloff teaches wherein the plurality of first circular grooves includes: a first group of the plurality of first circular grooves that are concentric with each other; and a second group of the plurality of first circular grooves that are concentric with each other and are spaced apart from the first group of the plurality of first circular grooves. (See Fig. 3)
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 16:
Regarding claim 16, Pavloff teaches a method, comprising: depositing a material from a target onto a semiconductor substrate in a semiconductor substrate process chamber, (Paragraphs 0035, 0048) the depositing including: moving a first magnet within a cooling space (Fig. 6, Paragraphs 0014, 0022-0028, 0042-0045); circulating coolant in the cooling space to expose a top surface of the target to the coolant circulated through the cooling space, the top surface delimits the cooling space and includes a plurality of curved grooves that are exposed to the coolant circulated through the cooling space (Paragraphs 0004,0046); and depositing a film of the material on the semiconductor substrate (Paragraphs 0035, 0048).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 17:
Regarding claim 17, Pavloff teaches wherein the moving the first magnet within the cooling space includes rotating the magnet within the cooling space. (Fig. 6, Paragraphs 0014, 0022-0028, 0042-0045)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 18:
Regarding claim 18, Pavloff teaches moving a second magnet within the cooling space. (Fig. 6, Paragraphs 0014, 0022-0028, 0042-0045)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pavloff (U.S. PGPUB. 2009/0090620 A1) in view of Maass (U.S. Pat. 5,284,564).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 19:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein moving the second magnet within the cooling space includes rotating the second magnet around the first magnet.
Maass teach rotating a second magnet around a first magnet. (See Fig. 3; Column 3 lines 39-68; Column 4 lines 1-4)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 20:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the plurality of curved grooves includes at least one of at least one first circular groove based on a first orbital pattern of the first magnet, at least one second circular groove based on a second orbital pattern of the second magnet, and respective curved grooves of the plurality of curved grooves that define an impeller shape.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of references teach the claimed subject matter including the impeller shape. (See Pavloff Fig. 3)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Maass is that it allows for achieving uniform coating. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Pavloff by utilizing the features of Maass because it allows for achieving uniform coating.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-14 allowed.
Claims 6-8 (due to the dependence on claim 1 rejected under 112 2nd paragraph) and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 6-8 are indicated as being allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach the claimed subject matter including further comprising a plurality of second circular grooves that intersect the plurality of curved grooves, the first group of the plurality of first circular grooves, and the second group of the plurality of first circular grooves.
Claims 9-14 are allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach a plurality of first circular grooves that extend into the first surface of the target, each respective first circular groove of the plurality of first circular grooves is concentric with each other; a plurality of second circular grooves that extend into the first surface of the target, the plurality of second circular grooves are concentric with each other and are eccentric relative to the respective first circular grooves of the plurality of first circular grooves, and wherein: the plurality of first circular grooves are configured to, in operation, overlap at least one respective orbital pattern of at least one of a first magnet or a second magnet when depositing a material onto a semiconductor substrate present within a semiconductor substrate process chamber, and the plurality of second circular grooves are configured to, in operation, overlap at least one respective orbital pattern of at least one of the first magnet or the second magnet when depositing the material onto the semiconductor substrate present within the semiconductor substrate process chamber.
Claim 15 is indicated as being allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach the claimed subject matter including further comprising a plurality of third circular grooves that are concentric about the center of the center area, and at least one of the plurality of third circular grooves intersect at least one of the plurality of first circular grooves and intersect at least one of the plurality second circular grooves.
Conclusion
/RODNEY G MCDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794
RM
December 18, 2025