DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 3/2/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Precursor ligands dmap, dmamp, emamp etc. are used in para 0016, but are not defined until para 0071. These abbreviations should be defined at their first use.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6 and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haukka et al. (US 2015/0299848 A1).
As to claim 1, Haukka et al. teaches a method for selectively depositing material comprising metal on a substrate by a cyclic deposition process (abstract, Fig. 2), the method comprising: providing a substrate in a reaction chamber (210 Fig. 2), wherein the substrate comprises a first surface comprising a first material (para 0012), and a second surface comprising a second material (para 0013); and providing a metal aminoalkoxide precursor (para 0328) into the reaction chamber in vapor phase to deposit a material comprising a metal on the first surface relative to the second surface (para 0324),wherein the metal aminoalkoxide precursor comprises an amino group and an alkoxide group (aminoalkoxide, by definition para 0324), and wherein the first material comprises a noble metal (para 0012).
As to claims 2-3, the metal is a transition metal of those claimed in para 0328, for example.
As to claim 6, a metal aminoalkoxide precursor will have at least one aminoalkoxide ligand by definition.
As to claims 11-13, the material deposited is a transition metal of those claimed and a material deposited of elemental metal in paras 0325-0328.
As to claim 14, the noble metal is of that claimed in para 0012.
As to claim 15, the second surface comprises that claimed in para 0014.
As to claim 16, the deposition temperature is as claimed in para 0053.
As to claim 17, the resistivity of a deposited film is a physical property that depends on its method of deposition. As Haukka et al. teaches the claimed method as discussed above, the resistivity as claimed naturally occurs.
As to claim 18, the deposition process is as claimed in paras 0008, claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haukka et al. in view of Kim et al. (US 2008/0171890 A1).
Haukka et al. does not teach the specific precursors but does teach Ni aminoalkoxide in general as discussed above. Kim et al. teaches aminoalkoxide precursors for depositing Ni films (para 0002), including those claimed (Figs. 1-6, Examples) to deposit films with less contaminants and with precursors that are less toxic (para 0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Haukka et al. to include the claimed precursors as taught by Kim et al. in order to deposit films with less contaminants and with precursors that are less toxic.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20140220733 teaches a similar precursor with a selective deposition process.
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718