DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Due to amendments, the 35 USC 102 rejections and objections to the specification have been withdrawn. Regarding the 35 USC 103 rejections, Applicant's arguments filed 6/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that there is not a reasonable expectation for success in combining the precursors of Kim with the method of Haukka. However, Haukka teaches general aminoalkoxide compounds in para 0328 that are suitable for selective deposition processes. Kim teaches specific aminoalkoxide compounds including those claimed (Figs. 1-6, Examples) to deposit films with less contaminants and with precursors that are less toxic (para 0004). Because the compounds are both from the same class of compounds, they can be expected to have a reasonable expectation of success in selective deposition, or at least, it would be obvious to try the compounds of Kim in Haukka. Including the precursors of Kim in Haukka is obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options with his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Therefore, these rejections are maintained. New grounds of rejection are due to amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 9-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haukka et al. (US 2015/0299848 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2008/0171890 A1).
As to claims 1-5 , 7, 9-10 Haukka et al. teaches a method for selectively depositing material comprising metal on a substrate by a cyclic deposition process (abstract, Fig. 2), the method comprising: providing a substrate in a reaction chamber (210 Fig. 2), wherein the substrate comprises a first surface comprising a first material (para 0012), and a second surface comprising a second material (para 0013); and providing a metal aminoalkoxide precursor (para 0328) into the reaction chamber in vapor phase to deposit a material comprising a metal on the first surface relative to the second surface (para 0324),wherein the metal aminoalkoxide precursor comprises an amino group and an alkoxide group (aminoalkoxide, by definition para 0324), and wherein the first material comprises a noble metal (para 0012).
Haukka et al. does not teach the specific precursors but does teach Ni aminoalkoxide in general as discussed above. Kim et al. teaches aminoalkoxide precursors for depositing Ni films (para 0002), including those claimed (Figs. 1-6, Examples) to deposit films with less contaminants and with precursors that are less toxic (para 0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Haukka et al. to include the claimed precursors as taught by Kim et al. in order to deposit films with less contaminants and with precursors that are less toxic.
In addition, including the precursors of Kim in Haukka is obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options with his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claims 11-13, the material deposited is a transition metal of those claimed and a material deposited of elemental metal in Haukka paras 0325-0328.
As to claim 14, the noble metal is of that claimed in Haukka para 0012.
As to claim 15, the second surface comprises that claimed in Haukka para 0014.
As to claim 16, the deposition temperature is as claimed in Haukka para 0053.
As to claim 17, the resistivity of a deposited film is a physical property that depends on its method of deposition. As Haukka et al. teaches the claimed method as discussed above, the resistivity as claimed naturally occurs.
As to claim 18, the deposition process is as claimed in Haukka paras 0008, claim 25.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718