DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made that the instant application claims priority from KR10-2024-0037786, filed on 3/19/2024.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a cooling member” in line 11 in claim 1; “a cooling member” in line 11 in claim 9; and “a cooling member” in line 18 in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation “wherein the second light passing through the second aperture does not reach the lens part” in lines 1-2 of claim 4 is vague and indefinite. Claim 1 recites “a second aperture that is disposed between the first aperture and the lens part, absorbs a portion of the first light and transmits a second light” in lines 9-10 and claim 2 recites “wherein the first lens part includes: a first lens that receives the second light” in lines 1-2. Therefore, the scope of the language “wherein the second light passing through the second aperture does not reach the lens part” is unclear as the second aperture is required to transmit the second light (according to claim 1) and the first lens of the lens part is required to receive the second light (according to claim 2). It is unclear if claim 4 is meant to be interpreted as requiring a portion of the second light passing through the first aperture does not reach the lens part or if the limitation is intended to mean a part of the second light passing through the second aperture does not reach the support member of the lens part. Thus, the metes and bounds of the scope of claim 4 are indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is being interpreted as meaning a part of the second light passing through the second aperture does not reach the support member of the lens part. Thus, claim 4 is rejected as being indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 12, the limitation “wherein the second light passing through the second aperture does not reach the lens part” in lines 1-2 is vague and indefinite. Claim 9 recites “a second aperture that is disposed between the first aperture and the lens part, reflects a portion of the first light, and transmits a second light” in lines 9-10, and claim 10 recites “wherein the lens part includes: a first lens that receives the second light” in lines 1-2. Therefore, the scope of the language “wherein the second light passing through the second aperture does not reach the lens part” is unclear as the second aperture is required to transmit the second light (according to claim 9) and the first lens of the lens part is required to receive the second light (according to claim 10). It is unclear if claim 12 is meant to be interpreted as requiring a portion of the second light passing through the first aperture does not reach the lens part, or if the limitation is intended to mean a part of the second light passing through the second aperture does not reach the support member of the lens part. Thus, the metes and bounds of the scope of claim 12 are indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is being interpreted as meaning a part of the second light passing through the second aperture does not reach the support member of the lens part. Thus, claim 12 is rejected as being indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9, 13-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (US PGPub 2003/0227607, Kato hereinafter) in view of Hishitani et al. (US PGPub 2024/0036344, Hishitani hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Kato discloses an illumination optical system (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0122], [0124]-[0125], illumination optical system IL) comprising:
a mirror part that converges light (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, para. [0124]-[0127], elliptical mirror 2 focuses light);
a light source part that is disposed at a first focus of the mirror part and emits the light (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0124]-[0127], light source 1 is disposed at the first focal point of elliptical mirror 2);
a first aperture that is disposed at a second focus different from the first focus of the mirror part, blocks a portion of the light converged at a plane of the second focus, and transmits a light (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0126], [0140], [0241], [0302], shutter 4, 104 is at the second focal point of the elliptical mirror 2 and transmits light through the aperture);
a lens part spaced apart from the mirror part with the first aperture interposed between the mirror part and the lens part (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137]-[0138], [0257], [0261], [0263], [0292], [0302], condenser lens system 15b, 117b is arranged with shutter 4, 104 between the condenser lens and the mirror 2);
a second aperture that is disposed between the first aperture and the lens part, blocks a portion of the first light, and transmits a second light (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137], [0257], [0260], [0262], [0292], [0302], aperture stop 13b, 116b is arranged between the shutter 4, 104 and the condenser lens system 15b, 117b). Kato does not appear to explicitly describe the first aperture absorbs a portion of the light, the second aperture absorbs a portion of the first light, and a cooling member that compensates for a temperature of the second aperture.
Hishitani discloses a first aperture absorbs a portion of the light, and transmits a light (Figs. 1-19, paras. [0126], [0146], [0165], [0175], [0181], the first member 251a, 251b includes an absorption part 255a, 255b that absorbs light and transmits light on the optical axis);
a second aperture that is disposed between the first aperture and the lens part, absorbs a portion of the first light, and transmits a second light (Figs. 1-3, 11-12, 17-19, paras. [0058]-[0061], [0159]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], second member 252b includes light absorbing part 43b that absorbs a portion of the light transmitted by first member 251b and transmits a second portion of light along the optical axis J35. The second member 252b is between first member 251b and lens 232); and
a cooling member that compensates for a temperature of the second aperture (Figs. 1-19, paras. [0136], [0145], [0162]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], [0184], cooling channels 259b, 256b cool the first member 251b and the second member 252b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a first aperture absorbs a portion of the light, and transmits a light, a second aperture that is disposed between the first aperture and the lens part, absorbs a portion of the first light, and transmits a second light, and a cooling member that compensates for a temperature of the second aperture as taught by Hishitani in the first aperture and the second aperture in the illumination optical system as taught by Kato since including the first aperture absorbs a portion of the light, the second aperture absorbs a portion of the first light, and a cooling member that compensates for a temperature of the second aperture is commonly used to suppress leakage of light and to suppress the temperature rise and associated damage in the light shielding device and other nearby elements in the optical path of the illumination system (Hishitani, paras. [0005]-[0006], [0098], [0099], [0101]-[0102], [0141]-[0142]).
Regarding claim 7, Kato as modified by Hishitani discloses wherein the mirror part defines an opening through which the light exits and has a shape of a portion of an ellipse (Kato, Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, para. [0124]-[0127], elliptical mirror 2 focuses light), and
the first aperture and the second aperture are sequentially disposed along a direction parallel to an optical axis of the lens part (Kato, Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137], [0257], [0260], [0262], [0292], [0302], aperture stop 13b, 116b is arranged following he shutter 4, 104 along the optical axis, and as modified by Hishitani, Figs. 1-3, 11-12, 17-19, paras. [0058]-[0061], [0159]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], second member 252b follows first member 251b in the optical axis of lens 232).
Regarding claim 8, Kato as modified by Hishitani discloses wherein the cooling member further compensates for a temperature of the first aperture (Hishitani, Figs. 1-19, paras. [0136], [0145], [0162]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], [0184], cooling channels 259b, 256b cool the first member 251b and the second member 252b).
Regarding claim 9, Kato discloses an illumination optical system (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0122], [0124]-[0125], illumination optical system IL) comprising:
a mirror part that converges light (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, para. [0124]-[0127], elliptical mirror 2 focuses light);
a light source part that is disposed at a first focus of the mirror part and emits the light (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0124]-[0127], light source 1 is disposed at the first focal point of elliptical mirror 2);
a first aperture that is disposed at a second focus different from the first focus of the mirror part, blocks a portion of the light converged at a plane of the second focus, and transmits a first light (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0126], [0140], [0241], [0302], shutter 4, 104 is at the second focal point of the elliptical mirror 2 and transmits light through the aperture);
a lens part spaced apart from the mirror part with the first aperture interposed between the mirror part and the lens part (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137]-[0138], [0257], [0261], [0263], [0292], [0302], condenser lens system 15b, 117b is arranged with shutter 4, 104 between the condenser lens and the mirror 2);
a second aperture that is disposed between the first aperture and the lens part, blocks a portion of the first light, and transmits a second light (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137], [0257], [0260], [0262], [0292], [0302], aperture stop 13b, 116b is arranged between the shutter 4, 104 and the condenser lens system 15b, 117b). Kato does not appear to explicitly describe the first aperture reflects a portion of the light, the second aperture reflects a portion of the first light, and a cooling member that compensates for a temperature of the second aperture.
Hishitani discloses a first aperture reflects a portion of the light and transmits a first light (Figs. 1-3, 11-12, 17-19, paras. [0058]-[0061], [0156]-[0160], [0168]-[0171], [0173]-[0174], [0180], [0182]-[0183], the first member 251b includes reflection surface 421b and the first member 251b transmits light along the optical path);
a second aperture that is disposed between the first aperture and the lens part, reflects a portion of the first light, and transmits a second light (Figs. 1-3, 11-12, 17-19, paras. [0058]-[0061], [0156]-[0160], [0168]-[0171], [0173]-[0174], [0180], [0182]-[0183], second member 252b includes introductory reflection surface 41b and reflection surface 421b and reflects a portion of the light transmitted by first member 251b and transmits a second portion of light along the optical axis J35. The second member 252b is between first member 251b and lens 232); and
a cooling member that compensates for a temperature of the second aperture (Figs. 1-19, paras. [0136], [0145], [0162]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], [0184], cooling channels 259b, 256b cool the first member 251b and the second member 252b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a first aperture reflects a portion of the light and transmits a first light, a second aperture that is disposed between the first aperture and the lens part, reflects a portion of the first light, and transmits a second light, and a cooling member that compensates for a temperature of the second aperture as taught by Hishitani in the first aperture and the second aperture in the illumination optical system as taught by Kato since including a first aperture reflects a portion of the light and transmits a first light, a second aperture that is disposed between the first aperture and the lens part, reflects a portion of the first light, and transmits a second light, and a cooling member that compensates for a temperature of the second aperture is commonly used to suppress leakage of light and suppress the temperature rise and associated damage in the light shielding device and other nearby elements in the optical path of the illumination system (Hishitani, paras. [0005]-[0006], [0098], [0099], [0101]-[0102], [0141]-[0142]).
Regarding claim 13, Kato as modified by Hishitani discloses wherein the mirror part defines an opening through which the light exits and has a shape of a portion of an ellipse (Kato, Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, para. [0124]-[0127], elliptical mirror 2 focuses light), and
the first aperture and the second aperture are sequentially disposed along a direction parallel to an optical axis of the lens part (Kato, Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137], [0257], [0260], [0262], [0292], [0302], aperture stop 13b, 116b is arranged following he shutter 4, 104 along the optical axis, and as modified by Hishitani, Figs. 1-3, 11-12, 17-19, paras. [0058]-[0061], [0159]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], second member 252b follows first member 251b in the optical axis of lens 232).
Regarding claim 14, Kato as modified by Hishitani discloses wherein the cooling member further compensates for a temperature of the first aperture (Hishitani, Figs. 1-19, paras. [0136], [0145], [0162]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], [0184], cooling channels 259b, 256b cool the first member 251b and the second member 252b).
Regarding claim 15, Kato discloses an exposure apparatus (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, abstract, exposure apparatus), comprising:
an illumination optical system that illuminates a mask with light emitted from a light source part (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0122], [0124]-[0125], illumination optical system IL illuminates the mask M with light from light source 1); and
a projection optical system that projects an image of a pattern of the mask onto a substrate (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, para. [0122], the projection optical system PL projects an image of the mask M onto plate P),
wherein the illumination optical system comprises:
a mirror part that converges light, defines an opening through which the light exits, and has a shape of a portion of an ellipse (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, para. [0124]-[0127], elliptical mirror 2 focuses light);
the light source part that is disposed at a first focus of the mirror part and emits the light (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0124]-[0127], light source 1 is disposed at the first focal point of elliptical mirror 2);
a first aperture that is disposed at a second focus different from the first focus of the mirror part, blocks a portion of the light converged at a plane of the second focus, and transmits a first light (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0126], [0140], [0241], [0302], shutter 4, 104 is at the second focal point of the elliptical mirror 2 and transmits light through the aperture);
a lens part spaced apart from the mirror part with the first aperture interposed between the mirror part and the lens part (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137]-[0138], [0257], [0261], [0263], [0292], [0302], condenser lens system 15b, 117b is arranged with shutter 4, 104 between the condenser lens and the mirror 2);
a second aperture that is disposed between the first aperture and the lens part, blocks a portion of the first light, and transmits a second light (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137], [0257], [0260], [0262], [0292], [0302], aperture stop 13b, 116b is arranged between the shutter 4, 104 and the condenser lens system 15b, 117b). However, Kato does not appear to explicitly describe a cooling member thermally connected to the second aperture.
Hishitani discloses a first aperture that blocks a portion of the light and transmits a first light (Figs. 1-3, 11-12, 17-19, paras. [0058]-[0061], [0159]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], second member 252b includes light absorbing part 43b that absorbs a portion of the light transmitted by first member 251b and transmits a second portion of light along the optical axis J35. The second member 252b is between first member 251b and lens 232);
a second aperture that is disposed between the first aperture and the lens part, blocks a portion of the first light, and transmits a second light (Figs. 1-3, 11-12, 17-19, paras. [0058]-[0061], [0159]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], second member 252b includes light absorbing part 43b that absorbs a portion of the light transmitted by first member 251b and transmits a second portion of light along the optical axis J35. The second member 252b is between first member 251b and lens 232); and
a cooling member thermally connected to the second aperture (Figs. 1-19, paras. [0117], [0135]-[0136], [0145], [0162]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], [0184], cooling channels 256a, 259a cool the first member 251 and the second member 252a or cooling channels 259b, 256b cool the first member 251b and the second member 252b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a cooling member thermally connected to the second aperture as taught by Hishitani in the exposure apparatus as taught Kato since including a cooling member thermally connected to the second aperture is commonly used to suppress the temperature rise and associated damage in the light shielding device and other nearby elements in the optical path of the illumination system (Hishitani, paras. [0005]-[0006], [0098], [0099], [0101]-[0102], [0141]-[0142]).
Regarding claim 18, Kato as modified by Hishitani discloses wherein the first aperture and the second aperture are sequentially disposed along a direction parallel to an optical axis of the lens part (Kato, Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137], [0257], [0260], [0262], [0292], [0302], aperture stop 13b, 116b is arranged following he shutter 4, 104 along the optical axis, and as modified by Hishitani, Figs. 1-3, 11-12, 17-19, paras. [0058]-[0061], [0159]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], second member 252b follows first member 251b in the optical axis of lens 232).
Regarding claim 19, Kato as modified by Hishitani discloses wherein the cooling member is thermally connected to the first aperture, and the cooling member further compensates for a temperature of the first aperture (Hishitani, Figs. 1-19, paras. [0117], [0135]-[0136], [0145], [0162]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], [0184], cooling channels 256a, 259a cool the first member 251 and the second member 252a or cooling channels 259b, 256b cool the first member 251b and the second member 252b).
Regarding claim 20, Kato as modified by Hishitani discloses wherein the cooling member compensates for a temperature of the second aperture (Hishitani, Figs. 1-19, paras. [0136], [0145], [0162]-[0163], [0174], [0184], cooling channel 259a cools the second member 252a or cooling channel 256b in the second member 252b cools the second member 252b).
Claims 2-4, 10-12, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato as modified by Hishitani, as applied to claims 1, 9, and 15 above, and further in view of Holderer et al. (US PGPub 2011/0025992, Holderer hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Kato as modified by Hishitani discloses wherein the lens part includes: a first lens that receives the second light (Kato, Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137]-[0138], [0257], [0261], [0263], [0292], [0302], condenser lens system 15b, 117b receives light from the aperture stop 13b, 116b, and as modified by Hishitani, Figs. 1-3, 11-12, 17-19, paras. [0058]-[0061], [0159]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], second member 252b transmits light to the optical axis of lens 232), but Kato as modified by Hishitani does not appear to explicitly describe a support member supporting the first lens.
Holderer discloses wherein the lens part includes: a first lens that receives the second light (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0035]-[0036], [0055]-[0056], [0057]-[0062], lens 101, 201, 320, 340, 350, 370, 395 receive and transmit light);
a support member supporting the first lens (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0035]-[0036], [0055]-[0056], [0057]-[0062], lens 101 is supported by holder element 110, lens 201 is supported by holder element 210, lens 320 is supported by holder element 321, lens 340 is supported by holder element 341, lens 350 is supported by holder element 353, lens 370 is supported by holder element 371, lens 395 is supported by holder element 396).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a support member supporting the first lens as taught by Holderer in the lens part in the illumination optical system as taught by Kato as modified by Hishitani since including a support member supporting the first lens is commonly used to stably hold the lens in the optical system while dissipating heat to improve imaging properties of the optical system (Holderer, paras. [0003]-[0004], [0008], [0011]).
Regarding claim 3, Kato as modified by Hishitani in view of Holderer discloses wherein the second aperture absorbs the portion of the first light traveling from the second focus toward the support member (Kato, Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137], [0257], [0260], [0262], [0292], [0302], aperture stop 13b, 116b is arranged between the shutter 4, 104 and the condenser lens system 15b, 117b, as modified by Hishitani, Figs. 1-3, 11-12, 17-19, paras. [0058]-[0061], [0159]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], second member 252b includes light absorbing part 43b that absorbs a portion of the light transmitted by first member 251b toward lens 232, and Holderer, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0057]-[0062], aperture member 330 absorbs stray light towards lenses 340, 350, 370, 395).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Kato as modified by Hishitani in view of Holderer discloses wherein the second light passing through the second aperture does not reach the lens part (Kato, Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137], [0139], [0257], [0260]-[0262], [0292], [0302], [0304], beam splitter 14b, half mirror 127b is arranged between aperture stop 13b, 116b such that light passing through the aperture does not reach condenser lens system 15b, 117b, as modified by Hishitani, Figs. 1-3, 11-12, 17-19, paras. [0058]-[0061], [0159]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], second member 252b includes light absorbing part 43b that absorbs a portion of the light transmitted by first member 251b toward lens 232, in view of Holderer, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0035]-[0036], [0055]-[0056], [0057]-[0062], lens 101 is supported by holder element 110, lens 201 is supported by holder element 210, lens 320 is supported by holder element 321, lens 340 is supported by holder element 341, lens 350 is supported by holder element 353, lens 370 is supported by holder element 371, lens 395 is supported by holder element 396).
Regarding claim 10, Kato as modified by Hishitani discloses wherein the lens part includes: a first lens that receives the second light (Kato, Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137]-[0138], [0257], [0261], [0263], [0292], [0302], condenser lens system 15b, 117b receives light from the aperture stop 13b, 116b, and as modified by Hishitani, Figs. 1-3, 11-12, 17-19, paras. [0058]-[0061], [0159]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], second member 252b transmits light to the optical axis of lens 232), but Kato as modified by Hishitani does not appear to explicitly describe a support member supporting the first lens.
Holderer discloses wherein the lens part includes: a first lens that receives the second light (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0035]-[0036], [0055]-[0056], [0057]-[0062], lens 101, 201, 320, 340, 350, 370, 395 receive and transmit light);
a support member supporting the first lens (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0035]-[0036], [0053]-[0056], [0057]-[0062], lens 101 is supported by holder element 110, lens 201 is supported by holder element 210, lens 320 is supported by holder element 321, lens 340 is supported by holder element 341, lens 350 is supported by holder element 353, lens 370 is supported by holder element 371, lens 395 is supported by holder element 396).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a support member supporting the first lens as taught by Holderer in the lens part in the illumination optical system as taught by Kato as modified by Hishitani since including a support member supporting the first lens is commonly used to stably hold the lens in the optical system while dissipating heat to improve imaging properties of the optical system (Holderer, paras. [0003]-[0004], [0008], [0011]).
Regarding claim 11, Kato as modified by Hishitani in view of Holderer discloses wherein the second aperture reflects the portion of the first light traveling from the second focus toward the support member (Kato, Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137], [0257], [0260], [0262], [0292], [0302], aperture stop 13b, 116b is arranged between the shutter 4, 104 and the condenser lens system 15b, 117b, as modified by Hishitani, Figs. 1-3, 11-12, 17-19, paras. [0058]-[0061], [0156]-[0160], [0168]-[0171], [0173]-[0174], [0180], [0182]-[0183], second member 252b includes introductory reflection surface 41b and reflection surface 421b and reflects a portion of the light transmitted by first member 251b and transmits a second portion of light along the optical axis J35 toward lens 232, and in view of Holderer, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0053], [0055]-[0056], [0057]-[0062], holder element 110 includes a reflection layer, lens 201 is supported by holder element 210, lens 320 is supported by holder element 321, lens 340 is supported by holder element 341, lens 350 is supported by holder element 353, lens 370 is supported by holder element 371, lens 395 is supported by holder element 396).
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, Kato as modified by Hishitani in view of Holderer discloses wherein the second light passing through the second aperture does not reach the lens part (Kato, Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137], [0139], [0257], [0260]-[0262], [0292], [0302], [0304], beam splitter 14b, half mirror 127b is arranged between aperture stop 13b, 116b such that light passing through the aperture does not reach condenser lens system 15b, 117b, as modified by Hishitani, Figs. 1-3, 11-12, 17-19, paras. [0058]-[0061], [0156]-[0160], [0168]-[0171], [0173]-[0174], [0180], [0182]-[0183], second member 252b includes introductory reflection surface 41b and reflection surface 421b and reflects a portion of the light transmitted by first member 251b and transmits a second portion of light along the optical axis J35. The second member 252b is between first member 251b and lens 232, in view of Holderer, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0053], [0055]-[0056], [0057]-[0062], holder element 110 includes a reflection layer, lens 201 is supported by holder element 210, lens 320 is supported by holder element 321, lens 340 is supported by holder element 341, lens 350 is supported by holder element 353, lens 370 is supported by holder element 371, lens 395 is supported by holder element 396).
Regarding claim 16, Kato as modified by Hishitani discloses wherein the lens part includes: a first lens that receives the second light (Kato, Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137]-[0138], [0257], [0261], [0263], [0292], [0302], condenser lens system 15b, 117b receives light from the aperture stop 13b, 116b, and as modified by Hishitani, Figs. 1-3, 11-12, 17-19, paras. [0058]-[0061], [0159]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], second member 252b transmits light to the optical axis of lens 232), but Kato as modified by Hishitani does not appear to explicitly describe a support member supporting the first lens.
Holderer discloses wherein the lens part includes: a first lens that receives the second light (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0035]-[0036], [0055]-[0056], [0057]-[0062], lens 101, 201, 320, 340, 350, 370, 395 receive and transmit light);
a support member supporting the first lens (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0035]-[0036], [0055]-[0056], [0057]-[0062], lens 101 is supported by holder element 110, lens 201 is supported by holder element 210, lens 320 is supported by holder element 321, lens 340 is supported by holder element 341, lens 350 is supported by holder element 353, lens 370 is supported by holder element 371, lens 395 is supported by holder element 396).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a support member supporting the first lens as taught by Holderer in the lens part in the exposure apparatus as taught by Kato as modified by Hishitani since including a support member supporting the first lens is commonly used to stably hold the lens in the optical system while dissipating heat to improve imaging properties of the optical system (Holderer, paras. [0003]-[0004], [0008], [0011]).
Regarding claim 17, Kato as modified by Hishitani in view of Holderer discloses wherein the second aperture blocks the portion of the first light traveling from the second focus toward the support member (Kato, Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137], [0257], [0260], [0262], [0292], [0302], aperture stop 13b, 116b is arranged between the shutter 4, 104 and the condenser lens system 15b, 117b, as modified by Hishitani, Figs. 1-3, 11-12, 17-19, paras. [0058]-[0061], [0159]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], second member 252b includes light absorbing part 43b that absorbs a portion of the light transmitted by first member 251b toward lens 232, and Holderer, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0057]-[0062], aperture member 330 absorbs stray light towards lenses 340, 350, 370, 395).
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato as modified by Hishitani in view of Holderer as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Nishi et al. (US Patent No. 5,894,341, Nishi hereinafter).
Regarding claim 6, Kato as modified by Hishitani in view of Holderer does not appear to explicitly describe further comprising: a fly-eye lens part spaced apart from the second aperture with the first lens interposed between the fly-eye lens part and the second aperture.
Nishi discloses a fly-eye lens part spaced apart from the second aperture with the first lens interposed between the fly-eye lens part and the second aperture (Fig. 1, col. 11, lines 10-30, lines 36-65, col. 12, lines 1-30, col. 14, lines 43-63, col. 15, lines 30-50, second fly-eye lens 14 is spaced apart from the aperture of variable stop 10 with relay lens 12 interposed between the fly-eye lens 14 and the variable stop 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a fly-eye lens part spaced apart from the second aperture with the first lens interposed between the fly-eye lens part and the second aperture as taught by Nishi in the illumination optical system as taught by Kato as modified by Hishitani in view of Holderer since including a fly-eye lens part spaced apart from the second aperture with the first lens interposed between the fly-eye lens part and the second aperture is commonly used to improve illumination efficiency to achieve an illumination distribution on the reticle plane with high uniformity (Nishi, col. 14, lines 43-63).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious wherein the light source part includes a mercury lamp that emits ultraviolet light, and wherein a first diameter of the first aperture and a second diameter of the second aperture satisfy and equation in which:
0.83
d
f
2
f
1
≤
D
1
≤
D
2
≤
d
f
2
f
1
≤
D
3
wherein d is a distance (mm) between electrodes of the light source part, f-1 is a distance between the first focus and an intersection where an imaginary straight line connecting the first focus and the second focus and the mirror part meet, f2- is a distance between the second focus and the intersection, and D1 is the first diameter (mm), D2 is the second diameter (mm), and D3 is a diameter (mm) of the first lens. These limitations in combination with all of the other limitations of the parent claims would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten.
Kato discloses a mirror part that converges light (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, para. [0124]-[0127], elliptical mirror 2 focuses light); a light source part that is disposed at a first focus of the mirror part and emits the light (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0124]-[0127], light source 1 is disposed at the first focal point of elliptical mirror 2); a first aperture that is disposed at a second focus different from the first focus of the mirror part, blocks a portion of the light converged at a plane of the second focus, and transmits a light (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0126], [0140], [0241], [0302], shutter 4, 104 is at the second focal point of the elliptical mirror 2 and transmits light through the aperture); a lens part spaced apart from the mirror part with the first aperture interposed between the mirror part and the lens part (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137]-[0138], [0257], [0261], [0263], [0292], [0302], condenser lens system 15b, 117b is arranged with shutter 4, 104 between the condenser lens and the mirror 2); a second aperture that is disposed between the first aperture and the lens part, blocks a portion of the first light, and transmits a second light (Figs. 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 26, paras. [0135], [0137], [0257], [0260], [0262], [0292], [0302], aperture stop 13b, 116b is arranged between the shutter 4, 104 and the condenser lens system 15b, 117b). Kato fails to describe or render obvious wherein a first diameter of the first aperture and a second diameter of the second aperture satisfy and equation in which:
0.83
d
f
2
f
1
≤
D
1
≤
D
2
≤
d
f
2
f
1
≤
D
3
wherein d is a distance (mm) between electrodes of the light source part, f-1 is a distance between the first focus and an intersection where an imaginary straight line connecting the first focus and the second focus and the mirror part meet, f2- is a distance between the second focus and the intersection, and D1 is the first diameter (mm), D2 is the second diameter (mm), and D3 is a diameter (mm) of the first lens.
Hishitani discloses a first aperture that is disposed at a second focus different from the first focus of the mirror part, absorbs a portion of the light, and transmits a light (Figs. 1-19, paras. [0126], [0146], [0165], [0175], [0181], the first member 251a, 251b includes an absorption part 255a, 255b that absorbs light and transmits light on the optical axis); a second aperture that is disposed between the first aperture and the lens part, absorbs a portion of the first light, and transmits a second light (Figs. 1-3, 11-12, 17-19, paras. [0058]-[0061], [0159]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], second member 252b includes light absorbing part 43b that absorbs a portion of the light transmitted by first member 251b and transmits a second portion of light along the optical axis J35. The second member 252b is between first member 251b and lens 232); and a cooling member that compensates for a temperature of the second aperture (Figs. 1-19, paras. [0136], [0145], [0162]-[0166], [0173]-[0174], [0180], [0184], cooling channels 259b, 256b cool the first member 251b and the second member 252b). Hishitani does not describe or render obvious wherein a first diameter of the first aperture and a second diameter of the second aperture satisfy and equation in which:
0.83
d
f
2
f
1
≤
D
1
≤
D
2
≤
d
f
2
f
1
≤
D
3
wherein d is a distance (mm) between electrodes of the light source part, f-1 is a distance between the first focus and an intersection where an imaginary straight line connecting the first focus and the second focus and the mirror part meet, f2- is a distance between the second focus and the intersection, and D1 is the first diameter (mm), D2 is the second diameter (mm), and D3 is a diameter (mm) of the first lens.
Holderer discloses wherein the lens part includes: a first lens that receives the second light (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0035]-[0036], [0055]-[0056], [0057]-[0062], lens 101, 201, 320, 340, 350, 370, 395 receive and transmit light); a support member supporting the first lens (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0035]-[0036], [0055]-[0056], [0057]-[0062], lens 101 is supported by holder element 110, lens 201 is supported by holder element 210, lens 320 is supported by holder element 321, lens 340 is supported by holder element 341, lens 350 is supported by holder element 353, lens 370 is supported by holder element 371, lens 395 is supported by holder element 396). Holderer does not describe or render obvious wherein a first diameter of the first aperture and a second diameter of the second aperture satisfy and equation in which:
0.83
d
f
2
f
1
≤
D
1
≤
D
2
≤
d
f
2
f
1
≤
D
3
wherein d is a distance (mm) between electrodes of the light source part, f-1 is a distance between the first focus and an intersection where an imaginary straight line connecting the first focus and the second focus and the mirror part meet, f2- is a distance between the second focus and the intersection, and D1 is the first diameter (mm), D2 is the second diameter (mm), and D3 is a diameter (mm) of the first lens.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882