DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,210,291 B2, issued to Peng et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of application 19/009546 are directed to the same invention of the claims of US 12, 210,291 B2. In this instance the claims of application 19/009546 are broader than those of US 12, 210,291 B2. As such, the claims of application 19/009546 are met by the claim of US 12, 210,291 B2.
Claims 1-15 are met by claims 1-15 of US 12, 210,291 B2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hsu et al. [WO 2020/002143 A1].
Regarding claim 1, Hsu et al. discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions therein, the instructions (Fig. 20, paragraphs [0240]-[0246]), when executed by a computer system, configured to cause the computer system to at least:
execute a calibrated model configured to receive patterning system aberration data (as shown in Fig. 3, see also paragraphs [0122]-[0125]),
the model calibrated with patterning system aberration calibration data and corresponding patterning process impact calibration data (as shown in Fig. 3, see also paragraphs [0122], [0123] and [0126]); and
determine, based on the model, new patterning process impact data for the received patterning system aberration data (as shown in Fig. 3, see also paragraphs [0126], [0127] and [0131]),
wherein the model comprises a hyperdimensional function configured to correlate the received patterning system aberration data with the new patterning process impact data in a simplified form without calculation of an aerial image representation (as shown in Fig. 3, see also paragraphs [0127]-[0130]).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Hsu et al. discloses wherein the model is calibrated by providing patterning system aberration calibration data to a base model to obtain a prediction of the patterning process impact calibration data, and using the patterning process impact calibration data as feedback to update one or more configurations of the base model, wherein the one or more configurations are updated based on a comparison between the patterning process impact calibration data and the prediction of the patterning process impact calibration data (as shown in Fig. 3, see also paragraphs [0127]-[0131]), wherein the patterning system aberration calibration data are simulated based on associated pupil shapes and layer-specific patterning device designs (paragraph [0194], see also Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 3, Hsu et al. discloses wherein the model comprises a linear or quadratic algorithm or a combination thereof (paragraphs [0192] and [0197]).
Regarding claim 5, Hsu et al. discloses wherein the new patterning process impact data comprises a cost function for a corresponding patterning system aberration, s(Z), the patterning system aberration defined by the received patterning system aberration data, wherein the cost function s(Z) is indicative of an impact on the patterning process caused by the corresponding patterning system aberration (paragraphs [0135]-[0137]).
Regarding claim 8, Hsu et al. discloses wherein the new patterning process impact data from the model is configured to be used to determine a set of patterning process control metrics (Fig. 3, paragraph [0123]), the set of patterning process control metrics configured to be determined by a linear solver (paragraphs [0192] and [0197]).
Regarding claim 10, Hsu et al. discloses wherein the set of patterning process control metrics comprises one or more lithography metrics, and wherein the new patterning process impact data is indicative of an impact, by a corresponding patterning system aberration, on one or more selected from: a critical dimension, a pattern placement error, an edge placement error, critical dimension asymmetry, a best focus shift, or a defect count associated with a patterning process (paragraphs [0123], [0135]-[0137], see also Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. in view of Akhssay et al. [US 7,262,831 B2].
Regarding claims 6, 7 and 11, Hsu et al. discloses the medium, as applied above.
Hsu et al. does not teach wherein the new patterning process impact data from the model is configured to be provided to a second model to enable dynamic in-situ aberration control of a patterning system, wherein the second model is a projection optics correction model, wherein the patterning system comprises a scanner, and wherein dynamic in-situ control of the scanner comprises generating a corrected scanner control parameter recipe for a given scanner aberration to optimize a set of lithography performance metrics, wherein the model is calibrated such that the new patterning process impact data is configured to facilitate enhanced control of an effect from heating of one or more mirrors and/or lenses of the patterning system.
However, Akhssay et al. discloses a lithographic projection apparatus that includes a measurement system for measuring changes in projection system aberrations with time, and a predictive control system for predicting variation of projection system aberrations with time on the basis of model parameters and for generating a control signal for compensating a time-varying property of the apparatus wherein the new patterning process impact data from the model is configured to be provided to a second model to enable dynamic in-situ aberration control of a patterning system, wherein the second model is a projection optics correction model, wherein the patterning system comprises a scanner, and wherein dynamic in-situ control of the scanner comprises generating a corrected scanner control parameter recipe for a given scanner aberration to optimize a set of lithography performance metrics, wherein determining the set of patterning process control metrics comprises performing a singular value decomposition on a cost function Hessian (Col. 24 line 33 – Col. 25 line 27, see also Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a second model for dynamic in-situ aberration control for generating corrected scanner control parameters, as taught by Akhssay et al. in the system of Hsu et al. because such a modification provides adjustments to the projection system of lithographic projection apparatus to compensate for the effect of lens aberrations in such a manner as to correct for predictive errors based on imprecisely known aberrations and to reduce the throughput loss caused by unnecessary alignment step (Col. 7 lines 31-36 of Akhssay et al.).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. in view of Tsiatmas et al. [EP 3 444 674 A1].
Regarding claim 9, Hsu et al. discloses the medium, as applied above.
Hsu et al. does not teach wherein determining the set of patterning process control metrics comprises performing a singular value decomposition on a cost function Hessian.
However, Tsiatmas et al. discloses determining the set of patterning process control metrics comprises performing a singular value decomposition on a cost function Hessian (paragraphs [0150]-[0155], see also Fig. 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a step of performing a singular value decomposition on a cost function Hessian as taught by Tsiatmas et al. in the system of Hsu et al. because such a modification provides fine tuning of the processing parameter (paragraph [0155] of Tsiatmas et al.).
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. in view of Ye et al. [EP 2 028 546 A2].
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Hsu et al. discloses the medium, as applied above.
Hsu et al. does not teach wherein the new patterning process impact data from the model is configured to be provided to a cost function to facilitate determination of costs associated with individual patterning process metrics and/or costs associated with individual patterning process variables, and wherein the costs associated with individual patterning process metrics and/or costs associated with individual patterning process variables are configured to be used to facilitate co-optimization of multiple scanners, wherein the model comprises one or more critical feature components configured to model scanner to scanner variation for critical features of a patterning process; and one or more regulation components configured to model generic performance across scanners for non-critical features of the patterning process.
However, Ye et al. discloses a model-based tuning method for tuning a lithography system wherein the new patterning process impact data from the model is configured to be provided to a cost function to facilitate determination of costs associated with individual patterning process metrics and/or costs associated with individual patterning process variables, and wherein the costs associated with individual patterning process metrics and/or costs associated with individual patterning process variables are configured to be used to facilitate co-optimization of multiple scanners, wherein the model comprises one or more critical feature components configured to model scanner to scanner variation for critical features of a patterning process; and one or more regulation components configured to model generic performance across scanners for non-critical features of the patterning process (paragraphs [0030]-[0038] and [0044]-[0046], see also Figs. 1 and 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a cost function configured to co-optimize multiple scanners with respect to critical feature components as taught by Ye et al. in the system of Hsu et al. because such a modification provides fine tuning of the processing parameter (paragraphs [0044]-[0046] of Ye et al.).
Regarding claim 14, Hsu et al. discloses wherein the cost function comprises two or more selected from: a first component associated with critical features of a patterning process, a second component associated with non-critical features of a patterning process, and/or a third component associated with physical functional limitations of one or more scanners (paragraphs [0135]-[0137], see also Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Hsu et al. discloses wherein the co-optimization comprises using lens actuators as variables, and a gradient based non-linear optimizer to co-determine actuator positions for multiple scanners (paragraphs [0216]-[0238], Figs. 18 and 19).
Conclusion
/DEORAM PERSAUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882