DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/17/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 06/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the first substrate of the second substrate" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osawa (JP2021157934A - corresponding U.S PG Pub 20230013572A1 used for citations), Hauru (U.S PG Pub 20210403760A1), and Fountain (U.S PG Pub 20200035641A1).
Regarding claim 1, Osawa, drawn to the art of bonding/annealing [0066] a first and second substrate (101 and 102 respectively) (Figure 2), discloses the first and second substrate having regions 101b and 102b, each region having an insulating film (125) and a conductive film (electrodes 121 & 122 & 127 – figure 2 & 9 & 13B), and wherein an adhesive is applied to region 101b (figure 8A) [0066], and wherein annealing is performed between the first and second substrate in a vacuum atmosphere [0068] at an elevated temperature [0066].
Osawa has not explicitly disclosed a first operation (processing step of polishing) and a second operation (applying an ionic liquid and bonding using the ionic liquid), however, the above are known from Fountain and Hauru, respectively, as explained below.
Hauru, drawn also to the art of joining substrates with ionic liquids (Abstract), discloses a process of applying an ionic liquid to both surfaces of the substrates and then heating the substrates and compressing them to bond them with an ionic liquid (claim 23 & 27 & 39).
It would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the method of Osawa, with using an ionic liquid to bond the substrates, as disclosed by Hauru, to arrive at the instant invention, in order to be able to bond substrates with no chemical or synthetic polymer remaining in the product [0019].
Regarding the first operation step, Fountain, drawn also to the art of processing dies and wafers for hybrid bonding (Title; Abstract; [0008]), discloses the need to perform chemical-mechanical polishing on the wafer or die surface prior to bonding in order to planarize the bonding surface (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the method of Osawa and Hauru, with the step of performing polishing, as disclosed by Fountain, to arrive at the instant invention in order to planarize the bonding surface.
Regarding claim 2, Osawa as modified by Hauru and Fountain discloses the instant limitations (see Fountain section above).
Regarding claim 3, Osawa as modified by Hauru and Fountain, discloses the instant limitations. Hauru has disclosed that the ionic liquid is applied to at least the one of the surfaces, which implies that the ionic liquid can be applied to both substrates, i.e. both surfaces (claims 23 & 27 & 39 of Hauru).
Regarding claim 4, Osawa discloses annealing the first and second substrate at an elevated temperature and under vacuum i.e. compressing and heating to bond the substrates [0066 & 0068]. Hauru has also disclosed compressing and heating the substrates to bond them (see claims 23 & 27 & 39 of Hauru).
Regarding claim 5, Osawa as modified by Hauru and Fountain, discloses the instant limitations. Hauru discloses gelling of the ionic liquid (claim 38) and wherein heating involves liquefying or melting the ionic liquid (claim 39).
It would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the method of Osawa, with the step of gelling and liquefying the ionic liquid, as disclosed by Hauru, to arrive at the instant invention, in order to be able to bond substrates with no chemical or synthetic polymer remaining in the product [0019].
Regarding claim 6, Osawa discloses annealing being performed in a vacuum atmosphere [0068].
Regarding claim 7, Osawa has disclosed that the conductive films are the same material [0040].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osawa (JP2021157934A - corresponding U.S PG Pub 20230013572A1 used for citations), Hauru (U.S PG Pub 20210403760A1), Fountain (U.S PG Pub 20200035641A1), and further in view of Singh (U.S PG Pub 20140335698A1).
Regarding claim 8, neither Osawa, Hauru, nor Fountain, have explicitly disclosed the ionic liquid being THTDP-DcO, however, this limitation is known from Singh.
Singh, drawn also to the art of a manufacturing process of semiconductor substrates with electrodes [0002], discloses an ionic liquid being used as protective layer on a surface of the assembly, and discloses the ionic liquid to be THTDP-DcO [0023].
It would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the method of Osawa, Hauru, and Fountain, with the ionic liquid being THTDP-DcO, as disclosed by Singh, to arrive at the instant invention, in order to be able to form a solid protective layer [0023].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US-20230226571-A1, US-20160013088-A1, US-10851181-B2 – all drawn to bonding methods.
/ABHISHEK A PATWARDHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746