DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chia et al. (U.S. PGPUB. 2014/0196848 A1).
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 10:
Regarding claim 10, Chia et al. teach a shutter disc for use in a physical vapor deposition (PVD) processing chamber, comprising: a body, comprising: a center region comprising a center of the body and a cross-sectional wave shape, and an outer region comprising an outer edge of the body that is planar. (Figs. 1-4; Paragraphs 0016-0033; Annotated Figure Below)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 11:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the cross-section wave shape extends between the center and the outer region.
Regarding claim 11, Chia et al. teach wherein the cross-section wave shape extends between the center and the outer region. (See Figs. 1, 2)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 12:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein a plurality of concentric crest portions of wave shapes extend between the center and the outer edge.
Regarding claim 12, Chia et al. teach wherein a plurality of concentric crest portions of wave shapes extend between the center and the outer edge. (See Annotated Figure above)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 13:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein a plurality of concentric trough portions of wave shapes extend between the center and the outer edge.
Regarding claim 13, Chia et al. teach wherein a plurality of concentric trough portions of wave shapes extend between the center and the outer edge. (Figs. 1, 2, Annotated Figure above)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chia et al. (U.S. PGPUB. 2014/0196848 A1).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 15:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein a thickness of the body at the center region is in a range from 1.7 millimeters to 2.0 millimeters.
Regarding claim 15, From Fig. 2 and the measurement 250 it appears that the center region can range from 1.5 mm to 7.6 mm. (Paragraph 0019; See Fig. 2 above; at 0.06 inches or 1.5 mm the center region is about 3 times this. 4.5 mm)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 16:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein a thickness of the body at the outer region is in a range from 4.5 millimeters to 5.5 millimeters.
Regarding claim 16, From Fig. 2 and the measurement 250 it appears that the outer region can range from 1.5 mm to 7.6 mm. (Paragraph 0019; See Fig. 2 above; at 0.06 inches or 1.5 mm the center region is about 3 times this. 4.5 mm)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Chia et al. is that it allows for improving pasting uniformity. (Paragraph 0005)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Chia et al. because it allows for improving the pasting uniformity.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8, 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,827,970. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 8-20 teach the required shutter disk and deposition tool of the claims. Specifically:
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 1:
Regarding claim 1, Claims 8 and 9 of U.S. Pat. 11,827,970 teach a shutter disc for use in a physical vapor deposition (PVD) processing chamber, comprising: a body, comprising: a portion having a top surface with a cross-sectional wave-shape and a backside surface with a corresponding cross-sectional wave-shape, the cross-sectional wave-shape comprising: a plurality of concentric crest portions, and a plurality of concentric trough portions.
DEPENDENT CLAIM 8:
Regarding claim 8, Claim 12 of U.S. Pat. 11,827,970 teaches further comprising a diameter in a range from 305 millimeters to 310 millimeters.
DEPENDENT CLAIM 9:
Regarding claim 9, Claim 13 of U.S. Pat. 11,827,970 teaches wherein a thickness of the body between the top surface and the backside surface is in a range from 1.7 millimeters to 2.0 millimeters.
Claims 2, 4, 5, 7, 10-13, 15-18, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,827,970 in view of Chia et al. (U.S. PGPUB. 2014/0196848 A1).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 2:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the body further comprises a planar section at an outer region of the body.
Chia et al. teach a shutter disc with a planar section at an outer region of the body. (See Figs. 1, 2; Annotated Fig. above)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 4:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the cross-sectional wave-shape extends between a center of the shutter disc and the planar section.
Regarding claim 4, Chia et al. teach wherein the cross-sectional wave-shape extends between a center of the shutter disc and the planar section. (See Figs. 1, 2; Annotated Fig. above)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 5:
The difference not yet discussed is further comprising an interior recess.
Regarding claim 5, Chia et al. teach wherein the shutter disc comprises an interior recess. (See Fig. 2)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 7:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein a depth of the interior recess is included in a range from 2.5 millimeters to 3.5 millimeters.
Regarding claim 7, Chia et al. teach the depth of the interior recess is in a range of from 2.5 millimeters to 3.5 millimeters. (Paragraph 0022)
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 10:
Regarding claim 10, Claims 8 and 9 of U.S. Pat. 11,827,970 teach a shutter disc for use in a physical vapor deposition (PVD) processing chamber, comprising: a body, comprising a center region comprising a center of the body (inherent).
The difference between claims 8, 9 of U.S. Pat. 11,827,970 and pending claim 10 is that a center region comprising a center of the body and a cross-sectional wave shape, and an outer region comprising an outer edge of the body that is planar is not discussed.
Chia et al. teach a center region comprising a center of the body and a cross-sectional wave shape, and an outer region comprising an outer edge of the body that is planar. (See Figs. 1, 2; Annotated Fig. above)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 11:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the cross-section wave shape extends between the center and the outer region.
Regarding claim 11, Chia et al. teach wherein the cross-section wave shape extends between the center and the outer region. (See Figs. 1, 2; Annotated Fig. above)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 12:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein a plurality of concentric crest portions of wave shapes extend between the center and the outer edge.
Regarding claim 12, Chia et al. teach wherein a plurality of concentric crest portions of wave shapes extend between the center and the outer edge. (See Annotated Figure above)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 13:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein a plurality of concentric trough portions of wave shapes extend between the center and the outer edge.
Regarding claim 13, Chia et al. teach wherein a plurality of concentric trough portions of wave shapes extend between the center and the outer edge. (Figs. 1, 2, Annotated Figure above)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 15:
Regarding claim 15, Claim 13 of U.S. Pat. 11,827,970 teach wherein a thickness of the body at the center region is in a range from 1.7 millimeters to 2.0 millimeters.
DEPENDENT CLAIM 16:
Regarding claim 16, Claim 15 of U.S. Pat. 11,827,970 teach wherein a thickness of the body at the outer region is in a range from 4.5 millimeters to 5.5 millimeters.
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 17:
Regarding claim 17, Claims 17-20 of U.S. Pat. 11,827,970 teach a deposition tool comprising: a substrate support component; and a shutter disc included on the substrate support component, the shutter disc inherently comprises a center region.
The differences between Claims 17-20 of U.S. Pat. 11,827,970 and the pending claim 17 is that a center region comprising a top surface with a cross-sectional wave-shape and a backside surface with a corresponding cross-sectional wave-shape; and an outer region comprising a planar surface is not discussed.
Chia et al. teach a center region comprising a center of the body and a cross-sectional wave shape, and an outer region comprising an outer edge of the body that is planar. (See Figs. 1, 2; Annotated Fig. above)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 18:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein a peak-to-peak width between two crests of the cross-sectional wave-shape is in a range from 30 millimeters to 31 millimeters.
Regarding claim 18, Chia et al. teach wherein the peak to peak width of the plurality of concentric crest portions is in a range of 30.0 mm to 31.0 mm where 1 inch is close to this range. (Paragraph 0019 - 1 inch) A prima facie case of obviousness exists where ranges are close. See MPEP 2144.05 – A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.").
DEPENDENT CLAIM 20:
Regarding claim 20, Claim 20 of U.S. Pat. 11,827,970 teach wherein the backside surface comprises a plurality of concentric wave shapes.
The motivation for utilizing the feature of Chia et al. is that it allows for improving pasting uniformity. (Paragraph 0005)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Chia et al. because it allows for improving the pasting uniformity.
Claims 1-3, 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,215,414. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of U.S. Pat. 12,215,414 teach the required shutter disk and deposition tool of the claims. Specifically:
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 1:
Regarding claim 1, Claims 1, 14-16, 19 of U.S. Pat. 12,215,414 teach a shutter disc for use in a physical vapor deposition (PVD) processing chamber, comprising: a body, comprising: a portion having a top surface with a cross-sectional wave-shape and a backside surface with a corresponding cross-sectional wave-shape, the cross-sectional wave-shape comprising: a plurality of concentric crest portions, and a plurality of concentric trough portions.
DEPENDENT CLAIM 2:
Regarding claim 2, Claim 3 of U.S. Pat. 12,215,414 teach wherein the body further comprises a planar section at an outer region of the body.
DEPENDENT CLAIM 3:
Regarding claim 3, Claim 4 of U.S. Pat. 12,215,414 teach wherein a thickness of the body in the planar section is greater than a thickness of the body in the portion having the top surface with the cross-sectional wave-shape and the backside surface with the corresponding cross-sectional wave-shape.
DEPENDENT CLAIM 5:
Regarding claim 5, Claim 6 of U.S. Pat. 12,215,414 teaches an interior recess.
Claims 4, 7, 8, 10-14, 16-18, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,215,414 in view of
DEPENDENT CLAIM 4:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the cross-sectional wave-shape extends between a center of the shutter disc and the planar section.
Regarding claim 4, Chia et al. teach wherein the cross-sectional wave-shape extends between a center of the shutter disc and the planar section. (See Figs. 1, 2; Annotated Fig. above)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 7:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein a depth of the interior recess is included in a range from 2.5 millimeters to 3.5 millimeters.
Regarding claim 7, Chia et al. teach the depth of the interior recess is in a range of from 2.5 millimeters to 3.5 millimeters. (Paragraph 0022)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 8:
The difference not yet discussed is further comprising a diameter in a range from 305 millimeters to 310 millimeters.
Regarding claim 8, Chia et al. teach a diameter in a range of from 305 millimeters to 310 millimeters. (Paragraph 0033)
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 10:
Regarding claim 10, Claims 1, 14-16, 19 of U.S. Pat. 12,215,414 teach a shutter disc for use in a physical vapor deposition (PVD) processing chamber, comprising: a body, comprising: a center region comprising a center of the body and a cross-sectional wave shape, and an outer region comprising an outer edge of the body that is planar.
The difference between claims 1, 14-16, 19 of U.S. Pat. 12,215,414 and pending claim 10 is that a center region comprising a center of the body and a cross-sectional wave shape, and an outer region comprising an outer edge of the body that is planar is not discussed.
Chia et al. teach a center region comprising a center of the body and a cross-sectional wave shape, and an outer region comprising an outer edge of the body that is planar. (See Figs. 1, 2; Annotated Fig. above)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 11:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the cross-section wave shape extends between the center and the outer region.
Regarding claim 11, Chia et al. teach wherein the cross-section wave shape extends between the center and the outer region. (See Figs. 1, 2; Annotated Fig. above)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 12:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein a plurality of concentric crest portions of wave shapes extend between the center and the outer edge.
Regarding claim 12, Chia et al. teach wherein a plurality of concentric crest portions of wave shapes extend between the center and the outer edge. (See Annotated Figure above)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 13:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein a plurality of concentric trough portions of wave shapes extend between the center and the outer edge.
Regarding claim 13, Chia et al. teach wherein a plurality of concentric trough portions of wave shapes extend between the center and the outer edge. (Figs. 1, 2, Annotated Figure above)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 14:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein a thickness of the body at the outer region is thicker than a thickness of the body at the center region.
Regarding claim 14, Claim 4 of U.S. Pat. 12,215,414 teach wherein a thickness of the body in the planar section is greater than a thickness of the body in the portion having the top surface with the cross-sectional wave-shape and the backside surface with the corresponding cross-sectional wave-shape.
DEPENDENT CLAIM 16:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein a thickness of the body at the outer region is in a range from 4.5 millimeters to 5.5 millimeters.
Regarding claim 16, Claim 7 of U.S. Pat. 12, 215,414 teach wherein a thickness of the body at the outer region is in a range from 4.5 millimeters to 5.5 millimeters.
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 17:
Regarding claim 17, Claims 7-13 of U.S. Pat. 12,215,414 teach a deposition tool comprising: a substrate support component; and a shutter disc included on the substrate support component, the shutter disc inherently comprises a center region.
The differences between Claims 7-13 of U.S. Pat. 12,215,414 and the pending claim 17 is that a center region comprising a top surface with a cross-sectional wave-shape and a backside surface with a corresponding cross-sectional wave-shape; and an outer region comprising a planar surface is not discussed.
Chia et al. teach a center region comprising a center of the body and a cross-sectional wave shape, and an outer region comprising an outer edge of the body that is planar. (See Figs. 1, 2; Annotated Fig. above)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 18:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein a peak-to-peak width between two crests of the cross-sectional wave-shape is in a range from 30 millimeters to 31 millimeters.
Regarding claim 18, Claim 12 of U.S. Par. 12,215,414 teach wherein a peak-to-peak width between two crests of the cross-sectional wave-shape is in a range from 30 millimeters to 31 millimeters.
DEPENDENT CLAIM 20:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the backside surface comprises plurality of concentric wave shapes.
Regarding claim 20, Claim 11 of U.S. Pat. 12,215,414 teach wherein the backside surface comprises a plurality of concentric wave shapes.
The motivation for utilizing the feature of Chia et al. is that it allows for improving pasting uniformity. (Paragraph 0005)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Chia et al. because it allows for improving the pasting uniformity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 is indicated as being allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach the claimed subject including wherein the interior recess comprises a diameter in a range from 270 millimeters to 280 millimeters.
Claim 19 is indicated as being allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach the claimed subject matter including wherein a width of the planar surface is in a range from 28.7 millimeters to 29.7 millimeters.
Conclusion
/RODNEY G MCDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794
RM
December 17, 2025