DETAILED ACTION
As per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
In responding to this Office action, the applicant is requested to include specific references (figures, paragraphs, lines, etc.) to the drawings/specification of the present application and/or the cited prior arts that clearly support any amendments/arguments presented in the response, to facilitate consideration of the amendments/arguments.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 9, and 16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, and 14, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12230350 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed language is a more succinct version of the patented language and the scope of the claims are not patentable different.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dono, US 20030164510 A1.
As to claim 2, Dono discloses a method of operating a volatile memory device (see Fig 4) comprising a repair circuit (see Fig 4 Refs 110A and 110B), the method comprising:
receiving, at the volatile memory device, a control signal (see Fig 4 Reds In and In’) from a memory controller (see Fig 4 Refs 12, 16, 17, 18, and 21), the control signal to indicate a repair mode of operation (see Fig 4 Ref 17 and Para [0102]) for the memory controller; receiving, at the repair circuit of the volatile memory device, an indication (see Fig 5A Ref In and Para [0098]) of a malfunctioning memory address (see Para [0098]) in the volatile memory device; and enabling an address matching register of the repair circuit (see Fig 5 Ref LATCH and Para [0105]) in the volatile memory device, wherein the address matching register corresponds to the malfunctioning memory address (see Para [0105]).
As to claim 3, Dono discloses the method of claim 2, wherein
the control signal is further to indicate that subsequent control signals sent from the memory controller when in the repair mode of operation refer to programming the address matching register of the repair circuit in the volatile memory device (see Para [0091]).
As to claim 4, Dono discloses the method of claim 2, wherein
the volatile memory device comprises primary data storage elements (see Fig 4 Ref 11) and redundant data storage elements (see Fig 4 Refs 11a-1, 11a-2, and 11b).
As to claim 5, Dono discloses the method of claim 4, wherein
the indication of the malfunctioning memory address in the volatile memory device comprises an indication of a row address of the primary data storage elements (see Para [0098]).
As to claim 6, Dono discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising:
receiving, at the repair circuit of the volatile memory device, a set pulse signal (see Fig 5A Ref Err) from the memory controller, wherein
the set pulse signal is generated in response to a memory access instruction (see Para [0152]).
As to claim 7, Dono discloses the method of claim 6, wherein
the memory access instruction comprises at least one of a read instruction, a write instruction, or a row activate instruction (see Para [0018]).
As to claim 8, Dono discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising:
rerouting the memory access instruction directed to the malfunctioning memory address to a corresponding one of the redundant data storage elements (see Para [0026]).
As to claim 9, Dono discloses a volatile memory device (see Fig 4) comprising:
a plurality of data storage elements (see Fig 4 Ref 11); and a programmable repair circuit (see Fig 4 Refs 110A and 110B) coupled to the plurality of data storage elements, the programmable repair circuit to perform operations comprising:
receiving a control signal (see Fig 4 Reds In and In’) from a memory controller (see Fig 4 Refs 12, 16, 17, 18, and 21), the control signal to indicate a repair mode of operation (see Fig 4 Ref 17 and Para [0102]) for the memory controller; receiving an indication (see Fig 5A Ref In and Para [0098]) of a malfunctioning memory address (see Para [0098]) in the volatile memory device; and enabling an address matching register of the programmable repair circuit (see Fig 5 Ref LATCH and Para [0105]) in the volatile memory device, wherein the address matching register corresponds to the malfunctioning memory address (see Para [0105]).
As to claim 10, Dono discloses volatile memory device of claim 9.
Claim 10 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 3.
All the limitations of claim 10 have already been disclosed by Dono in claim 3 above.
As to claim 11, Dono discloses volatile memory device of claim 9.
Claim 11 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 4.
All the limitations of claim 11 have already been disclosed by Dono in claim 4 above.
As to claim 12, Dono discloses volatile memory device of claim 11.
Claim 12 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 5.
All the limitations of claim 12 have already been disclosed by Dono in claim 5 above.
As to claim 13, Dono discloses volatile memory device of claim 11.
Claim 13 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 6.
All the limitations of claim 13 have already been disclosed by Dono in claim 6 above.
As to claim 14, Dono discloses volatile memory device of claim 13.
Claim 14 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 7.
All the limitations of claim 14 have already been disclosed by Dono in claim 7 above.
As to claim 15, Dono discloses volatile memory device of claim 13.
Claim 15 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 8.
All the limitations of claim 15 have already been disclosed by Dono in claim 8 above.
As to claim 16, Dono discloses a system (see Fig 4) comprising:
a memory controller (see Fig 4 Refs 12, 16, 17, 18, and 21); a volatile memory device (see Fig 4 Ref 11) coupled to the memory controller, wherein
the volatile memory device comprises: a plurality of data storage elements (see Fig 4 Ref 11); and a programmable repair circuit (see Fig 4 Refs 110A and 110B) coupled to the plurality of data storage elements,
the programmable repair circuit to perform operations comprising: receiving a control signal (see Fig 4 Reds In and In’) from a memory controller, the control signal to indicate a repair mode of operation (see Fig 4 Ref 17 and Para [0102]) for the memory controller; receiving an indication (see Fig 5A Ref In and Para [0098]) of a malfunctioning memory address (see Para [0098]) in the volatile memory device; and enabling an address matching register of the programmable repair circuit (see Fig 5 Ref LATCH and Para [0105]) in the volatile memory device, wherein the address matching register corresponds to the malfunctioning memory address (see Para [0105]).
As to claim 17, Dono discloses volatile memory device of claim 16.
Claim 17 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 3.
All the limitations of claim 17 have already been disclosed by Dono in claim 3 above.
As to claim 18, Dono discloses volatile memory device of claim 16.
Claim 18 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 4.
All the limitations of claim 18 have already been disclosed by Dono in claim 4 above.
As to claim 19, Dono discloses volatile memory device of claim 18.
Claim 19 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 5.
All the limitations of claim 19 have already been disclosed by Dono in claim 5 above.
As to claim 20, Dono discloses volatile memory device of claim 18.
Claim 19 recites substantially the same limitations as claims 6 and 7.
All the limitations of claim 19 have already been disclosed by Dono in claims 6 and 7 above.
As to claim 21, Dono discloses volatile memory device of claim 20.
Claim 21 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 8.
All the limitations of claim 21 have already been disclosed by Dono in claim 8 above.
Conclusion
/JEROME LEBOEUF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824 - 08/17/2026