DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 3 and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,266,392. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each and every limitation claimed herein has in fact been claimed and patented. Namely:
Pending claim 2 corresponds to patented claim 1.
Pending claim 3 corresponds to patented claim 6.
Pending claim 5 corresponds to patented claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 – 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Slesazeck et al. (US Pat Pub 11,205,467).
Regarding claim 2, Slesazeck et al. disclose a semiconductor device (for example figs. 1 – 15 and all related texts) comprising:
a cell (for example fig. 6a. See also col. 13, lines 62 – 65) comprising a capacitor (ferroelectric capacitor C1), a first transistor(T4), and a second transistor (T3), wherein the capacitor comprises a first electrode (connected to node n1), a second electrode (connected to plateline PL), and a ferroelectric layer between the first electrode and the second electrode (see col. 4, lines 12 – 31),
wherein one of a source and a drain of the first transistor is electrically connected to the first electrode of the capacitor and a gate of the second transistor (source of T4 connects to gate of T3 and first electrode of C1 at node n1, fig. 6a),
wherein the other of the source and the drain of the first transistor is electrically connected to a first wiring (source of T4 connects to bit line BL),
wherein one of a source and a drain of the second transistor is electrically connected to the first wiring (source of T3 also connects to bit line BL),
wherein data is written to the cell through the first wiring (which is bit line BL, through which data is written to the ferroelectric capacitor C1, fig. 6a), and
wherein the data retained in the cell is read through the first wiring (data is also read through bit line BL. See further col. 14, lines 10 – 18).
Regarding claim 3, Slesazeck et al. also disclose the semiconductor device according to the semiconductor device according to claim 2 (fig. 6a and all related texts), wherein the other of the source and the drain of the second transistor (T3) is electrically connected to a second wiring (drain of T3), and wherein the second wiring is supplied with a constant potential (which is ground potential as shown in fig. 6a).
Regarding claim 4, Slesazeck et al. also disclose the semiconductor device according to the semiconductor device according to claim 2 (fig. 6a and all related texts) wherein a gate of the first transistor (T4) is electrically connected to a third wiring (which is word line WL), and wherein the second electrode of the capacitor is electrically connected to a fourth wiring (which is plate line PL).
Regarding claim 5, Slesazeck et al. also disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein the first transistor comprises a metal oxide in a channel formation region (considered inherent given the T4 and T3 of fig. 6a are MOSFET type transistors, i.e. the terminals are referred to as source/drain/gate. See further “n-channel” transistors, col. 1, lines 53 – 63).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior arts of record fail to teach or reasonably suggest the semiconductor device according to claim 2 above, further comprising, in combination, the features and limitations additionally claimed at least in claim 6 or 7.
Conclusion
/LY D PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2827 August 26, 2026