DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12243589. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least independent claims are rejected as shown in a table below.
Instant app
Patent 12243589
Claim 11
Claim 1/10
Claim 17
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkar et al. (PGPUB 20110051507), hereinafter as Sarkar, in view of Murata (PGPUB 20110205815), hereinafter as Murata.
Regarding claim 17, Sarkar teaches a method, comprising:
during a first operation, each one of a plurality of memory cells receiving a first voltage signal (Fig 3, voltage 320) through a control line and receiving a second voltage signal through at least one of a data line or a source line (Fig 1, 105 bit line and line connected to 120);
providing a first reference voltage signal by a header unit or providing a second reference voltage signal by a footer unit;
transmitting the first reference voltage signal or the second reference voltage signal as the first voltage signal to the plurality of memory cells by a transmission unit coupled in series with the at least one of the header unit or the footer unit; and
during a second operation, at least one of the plurality of memory cells receiving a third voltage signal, wherein the third voltage signal oscillates between a positive voltage level and a negative voltage level, wherein the positive voltage level is higher than the first reference voltage signal (Fig 4, voltage 420) or the negative voltage level is lower than the second reference voltage signal (not being considered, refereeing to: MPEP 2111.04 II, contingent limitations, for a method claim, a condition method/process, only one condition need to be considered),
but not expressly transmission unit, a heater/foot units,
Murata teaches providing a first reference voltage signal (Fig. 2 VWLX) by a header unit (Fig 2, P2) or providing a second reference voltage signal by a footer unit (an option not being considered for a method claim);
transmitting the first reference voltage signal or the second reference voltage signal as the first voltage signal to the plurality of memory cells by a transmission unit (Fig. 2, P30 and P30A) coupled in series with the at least one of the header unit or the footer unit.
Since Murata and Sarkar are both from the same field of semiconductor memory device, the purpose disclosed by Murata would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Sarkar.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use circuits as in Murata into the device of Sarkar for the purpose of providing working voltages for the memory device.
Regarding claim 18, Sarkar teaches when every time period elapses, performing the second recover operation ([0026]maintenance process may be based on a predetermined time schedule).
Regarding claim 19, Sarkar teaches detecting a current change associated with at least one of the data line or the source line; and when the current change exceeds a threshold value, performing the second recover operation ([0026]based on detecting errors).
Regarding claim 20, Sarkar teaches monitoring the current change while performing the second recover operation; and
when the current change is equal to or lower than the threshold value, performing the first normal operation (Fig 6, step 660).
Conclusion
/MIN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2827