Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Ikeda et al. (2024/0014007).
Regarding Claim 1, Ikeda et al. (2024/0014007) discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium for a plasma processing device that executes plasma processing by supplying source power to a plasma generation source and supplying bias power to a stage on which a substrate to be processed is placed, the non-transitory computer readable medium including a control program in the form of computer executable program code for causing a computer to perform the following method:
observing (voltage monitor, [0051]) a peak-to-peak voltage (Vpp) between the source power (a source power supply, [0007]) and the bias power (RF bias power supply 117) (fig. 1); and
adjusting (control unit 123 controls based on an input setting by an input unit parameters….”, paragraphs [0054] to [0059], [0097], [0099]) the source power supplied to the plasma generation source (a source power supply for generating plasma, [0007]), the bias power (RF bias power supply 117) supplied to the stage (sample stage 110), a direct-current voltage (from DC power supply 116) applied to an outer peripheral member (outside member of the stage 110) disposed around the stage (sample stage 110) (fig. 1), and
an impedance (impedance) of a filter circuit (matching box) connected between a source of the direct-current voltage (DC power supply 116) and the outer peripheral member (outside member of the stage 110), the source power (a source power supply, [0007]), the bias power (RF bias power supply 117), the direct- current voltage (from 116) and the impedance being adjustment parameters (in accordance with an increase or decrease of the plasma impedance, RF bias matching, any timing. Paragraph [0136]) for controlling a fluctuation width (Vpp fluctuation) of the observed peak-to-peak voltage (Vpp increases or decreases, paragraph [0136]).
Regarding Claim 2, Ikeda discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises causing the computer (control unit 123) to collectively adjust the source power, the bias power, the direct- current voltage, and the impedance (fig. 1) ([0054] to [0059]).
Regarding Claim 10, Ikeda discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium for a plasma processing device that executes plasma processing by supplying source power (plasma generation source power supply) (paragraph [0005]) to a plasma generation source (plasma generation) and supplying bias power to a stage (sample stage 110) on which a substrate (wafer 111) to be processed is placed, the non- transitory computer readable medium including a control program in the form of computer executable program code for causing a computer to:
observe (voltage monitor, paragraph [0051]) a peak-to-peak voltage (Vpp) between the source power (a source power supply, paragraph [0007]) and the bias power (RF bias power supply 117) (Fig. 1); and
adjust (control unit 123 controls based on an input setting by an input unit parameters….”, paragraphs [0054] to [0059], [0097], [0099]) at least one selected from the following group:
the source power (plasma generation source power supply, paragraphs [0005], [0007]) supplied to the plasma generation source,
the bias power (RF bias power supply 117) supplied to the stage (sample stage 110) (fig. 1),
a direct-current voltage (DC power supply 116) applied to an outer peripheral member (outside member of the stage 110) disposed around the stage (110), and
an impedance (impedance) of a filter circuit (matching circuit) connected between a source of the direct-current voltage (DC power supply 116) and the outer peripheral member (outer member of the stage 110), the at least one selected from the group being an adjustment parameter (in accordance with an increase or decrease of the plasma impedance, [0136]) for controlling a fluctuation width (Vpp fluctuation) of the observed peak-to-peak voltage (Vpp increases or decreases, paragraph [0136]).
Regarding Claim 15, Ikeda discloses a plasma processing device comprising:
a stage (110) configured to allow a substrate (wafer 111) to be processed to be placed thereon;
an outer peripheral member (outside member of the stage 110) disposed around the stage (110);
a first power source configured to supply source power to a plasma generation source (a source power supply for generating plasma, paragraph [0007]);
a second power source (RF bias power supply 117) configured to supply bias power to the stage (110);
a third power source (DC power supply 116) configured to apply a direct-current voltage to the outer peripheral (member outside member of the stage 110);
a controller (control unit 123) configured to:
observe (voltage monitor, paragraph [0051]) a peak-to-peak voltage (Vpp) between the source power and the bias power (RF bias power supply 117); and
adjust (control unit 123 controls based on an input setting by an input unit parameters….”, paragraphs [0054] to [0059], [0097], [0099]) the source power supplied to the plasma generation source (a source power supply for generating plasma, paragraph [0007]), the bias power (RF bias power supply 117) supplied to the stage (110), the direct-current voltage (DC power supply 116) applied to the outer peripheral member (outside member of the stage 110) disposed around the stage (110), and
an impedance (impedance) of a filter circuit (matching box) connected between the third power source and the outer peripheral member, the source power, the bias power, the direct-current voltage and the impedance being adjustment parameters (in accordance with an increase or decrease of the plasma impedance, RF bias matching, any timing. See paragraph [0136]) for controlling a fluctuation width (Vpp fluctuation) of the observed peak-to-peak voltage (Vpp increases or decreases, paragraph [0136]).
Regarding Claim 16, Ikeda discloses a plasma processing device comprising:
a stage (110) configured to allow a substrate (wafer 111) to be processed to be placed thereon;
an outer peripheral (member outside member of the stage 110) disposed around the stage (110);
a first power source configured to supply source power to a plasma generation source (a source power supply for generating plasma, paragraph [0007]);
a second power source (RF bias power supply 117) configured to supply bias power to the stage (110);
a third power source (DC power supply 116) configured to apply a direct-current voltage to the outer peripheral member (outside member of the stage 110);
a controller (control unit 123) configured to:
observe (voltage monitor, paragraph [0051]) a peak-to-peak voltage (Vpp) between the source power and the bias power (RF bias power supply 117); and
adjust (control unit 123 controls based on an input setting by an input unit parameters….”, paragraphs [0054] to [0059], [0097], [0099]) at least one selected from the following group:
the source power supplied to the plasma generation source, the bias power (RF bias power supply 117) supplied to the stage (110), the direct-current voltage (DC power supply 116) applied to the outer peripheral member (outside member of the stage 110) disposed around the stage (110), and
an impedance (impedance) of a filter circuit (matching box) connected between the third power source and the outer peripheral member (outside member of the stage 110), the at least one selected from the group being an adjustment parameter (in accordance with an increase or decrease of the plasma impedance, RF bias matching, any timing. See paragraph [0136]) for controlling a fluctuation width (Vpp fluctuation) of the observed peak-to- peak voltage (Vpp increases or decreases, paragraph [0136]).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (2024/0014007).
Regarding Claim 3, Ikeda discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 1, further comprising instructing the computer (123) to adjust the source power and the bias power, the direct-current voltage and the impedance (paragraphs [0054] to [0059]) but does not explicitly disclose independently of adjusting the direct-current voltage and the impedance.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have independently adjusted the DC voltage and impedance in Ikeda in order to achieve the precise parameters control.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (2024/0014007) in view of Suzuki et al. (2022/0367156).
Regarding Claim 4, Ikeda discloses the control unit (123) controls the sample stage temperature (paragraph [0057]) but does not but explicitly disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: observing a temperature of the stage; and adjusting adjust a set temperature of a cooling medium for cooling the stage according to the observed temperature of the stage.
However, Suzuki et al. (2022/0367156) discloses the steps of observing a temperature of the stage (temperature sensor that detects temperature of the sample stage 108 for the temperature adjustment, paragraph [0057]); and the step of adjusting adjusts a set temperature of a cooling medium (coolant for cooling flows) for cooling the stage according to the observed temperature of the stage (temperature adjustment) (paragraph [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a temperature adjustment in Ikeda in order to obtain the suitable temperature of the wafer as taught by Suzuki.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (2024/0014007) in view of Or et al. (2009/0218324).
Regarding Claim 8, Ikeda discloses the control unit 123 controls the coil current (paragraph [0057]) but does not explicitly disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises causing the application of a direct-current pulse voltage to the stage, observing a value of a current flowing through the stage, and adjusting a parameter including the direct-current pulse voltage as the adjustment parameters.
However, Or et al. (2009/0218324) disclose a monitoring circuit, a conductive coil, or a potentiometer, detecting current passing through power delivery conduit 208 to the substrate support 228 and adjusts power output of power supply 258 (paragraph [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the steps of monitoring the current flow to the stage and adjusting the power output in Ikeda to regulate the current flow in order to reach the suitable or desired range of current output as taught by Or.
Claim(s) 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (2024/0014007) in view of Kwon et al. (2024/0021420).
Regarding Claim 9, as discussed above, Ikeda essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: outputting data including adjusted parameters to an outside.
However, Kwon et al. (2024/0021420) discloses a plasma parameter extraction to output the data including parameters to an outside (140) (figs. 1A, 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized (or modified) the control unit of Ikeda as a monitoring device to output the data in order to allow the operator to review and analyze as taught by Kwon.
Regarding Claim 11, Ikeda discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer executable program code configured to instruct a computer to perform the following method:
acquiring data (voltage monitor, paragraph [0051]) indicating a peak-to-peak voltage (Vpp) between a source power (a source power supply, paragraph [0007]) supplied to a plasma generation source of a plasma processing device and a bias power (RF bias power supply 117, fig. 1) supplied to a stage (outer member of the stage 110) on which a substrate (wafer 111) to be processed is placed;
controlling at least one parameter selected from the following group:
the source power (a source power supply for generating plasma, paragraph [0007]) supplied to the plasma generation source, the bias power supplied to the stage (110), a direct-current voltage (DC power supply 116) applied to an outer peripheral member (outside member of the stage 110) disposed around the stage (110), and
an impedance (impedance) of a filter circuit (matching box) connected between a source of the direct-current voltage (DC power supply 116) and the outer peripheral member (outside member of the stage 110), the at least one parameter being a parameter (in accordance with an increase or decrease of the plasma impedance, RF bias matching, any timing. See paragraph [0136]) for controlling a fluctuation width (Vpp fluctuation) of the peak-to-peak voltage (Vpp) based on the acquired data; and
As discussed above, Ikeda essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose calculating the parameter, outputting the data.
However, Kwon et al. (2024/0021420) discloses a plasma parameter extraction to output the data including parameters (figs. 1A, 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized (or modified) the control unit of Ikeda as a monitoring device to calculate the measurement data and output the data based the acquired data in order to allow the operator to review and analyze as taught by Kwon.
Regarding Claim 12, Ikeda discloses a control method for a plasma processing device that executes plasma processing by supplying source power (a source power supply for generating plasma, paragraph [0007]) to a plasma generation source and supplying bias power to a stage (110) on which a substrate (wafer 111) to be processed is placed, the control method comprising a controller (control unit 123) with a computer readable program stored therein that upon execution of the computer readable program by the processor configures the controller to perform performing the following processing:
observing (voltage monitor, paragraph [0051]) a peak-to-peak voltage (Vpp) between the source power (a source power supply, paragraph [0007]) and the bias power (RF bias power supply 117, fig. 1); and
adjusting (control unit 123 controls based on an input setting by an input unit parameters….”, paragraphs [0054] to [0059], [0097], [0099]) the source power (a source power supply for generating plasma, paragraph [0007]) supplied to the plasma generation source, the bias power (RF bias power supply 117) supplied to the stage (110), a direct-current voltage (DC power supply 117) applied to an outer peripheral member (outside member of the stage 110) disposed around the stage (110), and
an impedance (impedance) of a filter circuit (matching box) connected between a source of the direct-current voltage (DC power supply 116) and the outer peripheral member (outside member of the stage 110), the source power, the bias power, the direct-current voltage and the impedance being adjustment parameters (in accordance with an increase or decrease of the plasma impedance, RF bias matching, any timing. Paragraph [0136]) for controlling a fluctuation width (Vpp fluctuation) of the observed peak-to-peak voltage (Vpp).
As discussed above, Ikeda essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the control unit having a processor and a memory.
However, processor and memory are well known elements in a computerized system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized that the control unit in Ikeda inherently comprises a processor and a memory in order to process the data and control the voltage.
Further, Kwon (2024/0021420) teaches the measurement device comprising memory and processor to communicate and control the plasma generation system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a processor and a memory in the control unit of Ikeda in order to process the data and control the voltage as taught by Kwon.
Regarding Claim 13, Ikeda discloses a control method for a plasma processing device that executes plasma processing by supplying source power (a source power supply for generating plasma, paragraph [0007]) to a plasma generation source and supplying bias power (RF bias power supply 117) to a stage (110) on which a substrate (wafer 111) to be processed is placed, the control method comprising a controller (control unit 123) with a computer readable program stored therein that upon execution of the computer readable program by the processor configures the controller to perform performing the following processing:
observing (voltage monitor, paragraph [0051]) a peak-to-peak voltage (Vpp) between the source power and the bias power (RF bias power supply 117, fig. 1); and
adjusting an adjustment parameter (in accordance with an increase or decrease of the plasma impedance, RF bias matching, any timing. See paragraph [0136]; control unit 123 controls based on an input setting by an input unit parameters….”, paragraphs [0054] to [0059], [0097], [0099]) for controlling a fluctuation width (Vpp fluctuation) of the observed peak-to-peak voltage (Vpp) of at least one selected from the following group: the source power (a source power supply for generating plasma, paragraph [0007]) supplied to the plasma generation source, the bias power (RF bias power) supplied to the stage (110), a direct-current voltage (from DC power supply 116) applied to an outer peripheral member (outside member of the stage 110) disposed around the stage (110), and
an impedance (impedance) of a filter circuit (matching box) connected between a source (DC power supply 116) of the direct-current voltage and the outer peripheral member (outside member of the stage 110).
As discussed above, Ikeda essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the control unit having a processor and a memory.
However, processor and memory are well known elements in a computerized system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized that the control unit in Ikeda inherently comprises a processor and a memory in order to process the data and control the voltage.
Further, Kwon (2024/0021420) teaches the measurement device comprising memory and processor to communicate and control the plasma generation system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a processor and a memory in the control unit of Ikeda in order to process the data and control the voltage as taught by Kwon.
Regarding Claim 14, Ikeda discloses an information processing method comprising a controller (control unit 123) with a computer readable program stored therein that upon execution of the computer readable program by the processor configures the controller to perform the following processing:
acquiring data (voltage monitor, paragraph [0051]) indicating a peak-to-peak voltage (Vpp) between a source power (a source power supply for generating plasma, paragraph [0007]) supplied to a plasma generation source of a plasma processing device and a bias power supplied to a stage (110) on which a substrate (wafer 111) to be processed is placed;
analyzing at least one parameter (control unit 123 controls based on an input setting by an input unit parameters….”, paragraphs [0054] to [0059], [0097], [0099]) selected from the following group: the source power supplied to the plasma generation source (a source power supply for generating plasma, paragraph [0007]), the bias power (RF bias power supply 117) supplied to the stage, a direct-current voltage (DC power supply 116) applied to an outer peripheral (member outside member of the stage 110) disposed around the stage, and
an impedance (impedance) of a filter circuit (matching box) connected between a source of the direct-current voltage and the outer peripheral member (outside member of the stage 110), the at least one parameter being a parameter (in accordance with an increase or decrease of the plasma impedance, RF bias matching, any timing. See paragraph [0136]) for controlling a fluctuation width (Vpp fluctuation) of the peak-to-peak voltage (Vpp) based on the acquired data; and
As discussed above, Ikeda essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the control unit having a processor and a memory.
However, processor and memory are well known elements in a computerized system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized that the control unit in Ikeda inherently comprises a processor and a memory in order to process the data and control the voltage.
Further, Kwon (2024/0021420) teaches the measurement device comprising memory and processor to communicate and control the plasma generation system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a processor and a memory in the control unit of Ikeda in order to process the data and control the voltage as taught by Kwon.
As discussed above, Ikeda essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose calculating the parameter, outputting the data.
However, Kwon et al. (2024/0021420) discloses a plasma parameter extraction to output the data including parameters (figs. 1A, 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized (or modified) the control unit of Ikeda as a monitoring device to calculate the measurement data and output the data based the acquired data in order to allow the operator to review and analyze as taught by Kwon.
Regarding Claim 17, Ikeda discloses an information processing device comprising:
a controller (control unit 123), wherein it is configured to: acquire data indicating a peak-to-peak voltage (Vpp) between a source power supplied to a plasma generation source (a source power supply for generating plasma, paragraph [0007]) of a plasma processing device and a bias power (RF bias power supply 117) supplied to a stage (110) on which a substrate (wafer 111) to be processed is placed,
analyzing at least one parameter (control unit 123 controls based on an input setting by an input unit parameters….”, paragraphs [0054] to [0059], [0097], [0099]) selected from the following group:
the source power supplied to the plasma generation source, the bias power supplied to the stage (110), a direct-current voltage applied to an outer peripheral member (outside member of the stage 110) disposed around the stage (110), and
an impedance (impedance) of a filter circuit (matching box) connected between a source of the direct-current voltage and the outer peripheral member (outside member of the stage 110), the at least one parameter being a parameter (in accordance with an increase or decrease of the plasma impedance, RF bias matching, any timing. See paragraph [0136]) for controlling a fluctuation width (Vpp fluctuation) of the peak-to-peak voltage (Vpp increases or decreases, paragraph [0136]).
As discussed above, Ikeda essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose calculating the parameter, outputting the data.
However, Kwon et al. (2024/0021420) discloses a plasma parameter extraction to output the data including parameters (figs. 1A, 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized (or modified) the control unit of Ikeda as a monitoring device to calculate the measurement data and output the data based the acquired data in order to allow the operator to review and analyze as taught by Kwon.
Allowable subject matter
Claims 5-7, 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845