Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (US 20210385477 A1).
Re claim 1, Zhao discloses an image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus (Zhao: Figs. 3 and 6; paragraph [0011]), the image decoding method comprising:
identifying a prediction mode of a current block (Zhao: paragraph [0087], each CU is analyzed to determine a prediction type for the CU, such as an inter prediction type or an intra prediction type);
identifying whether an intra prediction mode of the current block is an MIP (matrix-based intra prediction) mode, based on the prediction mode of the current block being the intra prediction mode (Zhao: paragraph [0012], prediction information indicates whether the current block is coded in affine linear weighted intra prediction (ALWIP); paragraph [0125], for each CU in intra mode, a flag indicating whether ALWIP is applied on a corresponding PU is sent in the bitstream; paragraph [0115], ALWIP can be also referred to as matrix based intra prediction (MIP));
determining a candidate intra prediction mode for the current block based on a prediction mode of a neighboring block located around the current block, based on the intra prediction mode of the current block not being the MIP mode (Zhao: paragraph [0145]);
generating a candidate intra prediction mode list of the current block based on the candidate intra prediction mode (Zhao: paragraph [0145], constructing MPM list);
determining the intra prediction mode of the current block based on the candidate intra prediction mode list (Zhao: paragraph [0145], when constructing an MPM list of a current block that is coded using a non-ALWIP intra prediction mode, a prediction mode of a neighboring block of the current block is marked as one of Planar, DC, Horizontal, or Vertical intra prediction mode);
generating prediction samples of the current block based on the intra prediction mode of the current block (Zhao: paragraphs [0115]-[0121]); and
reconstructing the current block based on the prediction samples (Zhao: Fig. 6, reconstruction unit 674 receives intra prediction result and outputs reconstructed pictures),
wherein the candidate intra prediction mode is determined to be a predetermined intra prediction mode, based on the prediction mode of the neighboring block being the MIP mode (Zhao: paragraph [0145]),
wherein the candidate intra prediction mode list is determined to have a predetermined candidate intra prediction mode, based on both a prediction mode of a first neighboring block and a prediction mode of a second neighboring block being the MIP mode (Zhao: paragraph [0145]), and
wherein, based on the intra prediction mode of the current block being the MIP mode, the intra prediction mode of the current block is determined based on information specifying an MIP intra prediction mode (Zhao: paragraph [0150]).
Re claim 2, Zhao discloses that the predetermined intra prediction mode is a planar mode (Zhao: paragraph [0145]).
Re claim 3, Zhao discloses
wherein whether the prediction mode of the neighboring block is the MIP mode is determined based on an MIP mode indicator for the neighboring block (Zhao: paragraph [0125], for each CU in intra mode, a flag indicating whether ALWIP is applied on a corresponding PU is sent in the bitstream), and
wherein the MIP mode indicator is obtained from a bitstream (Zhao: paragraph [0125], for each CU in intra mode, a flag indicating whether ALWIP is applied on a corresponding PU is sent in the bitstream).
Re claim 4, Zhao discloses that, based on a first candidate intra prediction mode determined based on the prediction mode of the first neighboring block and a second candidate intra prediction mode determined based on the prediction mode of the second neighboring block being the same and the first candidate intra prediction mode being an intra prediction mode having a greater value than a prediction mode value specifying a DC mode, the candidate intra prediction mode list is determined to include the value of the first candidate intra prediction mode (Zhao: paragraph [0108]).
Re claim 5, Zhao discloses that the predetermined candidate intra prediction mode comprises at least one of a DC mode or a vertical mode (Zhao: paragraph [0145]).
Re claim 6, Zhao discloses that the determining the intra prediction mode of the current block based on the candidate intra prediction mode list is performed by determining any one of candidate intra prediction modes included in the candidate intra prediction mode list to be an intra prediction mode of the current block based on an intra prediction mode indicator obtained from a bitstream (Zhao: paragraph [0125], for each CU in intra mode, a flag indicating whether ALWIP is applied on a corresponding PU is sent in the bitstream).
Re claim 7, Zhao discloses
determining a reference mode for determining an intra prediction mode of a chroma block corresponding to the current block (Zhao: paragraph [0114]); and
determining the intra prediction mode of the chroma block based on the reference mode (Zhao: paragraph [0114]),
wherein the current block is a luma block (Zhao: paragraphs [0155]-[0158]), and
wherein the reference mode is determined to be a planar mode based on the intra prediction mode of the current block being the MIP mode (Zhao: paragraphs [0155]-[0158]).
Re claim 8, Zhao discloses that the intra prediction mode of the chroma block is determined to be the reference mode (Zhao: paragraphs [0155]-[0158]).
Re claim 9, Zhao discloses that the reference mode is determined based on the intra prediction mode of the current block, based on the intra prediction mode of the current block not being the MIP mode (Zhao: paragraph [0145]).
Claim 10 recites the corresponding encoding method for generating the data that is decoded by the decoding method of claim 1. Encoding and decoding are understood within the art to be inverse operations. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 10. Additionally, Zhao discloses both encoding (Zhao: Figs. 4 and 5; paragraph [0011]) and decoding (Zhao: Figs. 3 and 6; paragraph [0011]). Accordingly, claim 10 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above.
Claim 11 recites the corresponding method of transmitting a bitstream generated by the method of claim 10. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 10 are applicable to claim 11. Additionally, Zhao discloses both encoding (Zhao: Figs. 4 and 5; paragraph [0011]) and decoding (Zhao: Figs. 3 and 6; paragraph [0011]). Additionally, FIG. 4 of Zhao shows a block diagram of a video encoder (403) included in an electronic device (420), wherein the electronic device (420) includes a transmitter (440) (e.g., transmitting circuitry) (Zhao: paragraph [0064]). The transmitter (440) may buffer the coded video sequence(s) as created by the entropy coder (445) to prepare for transmission via a communication channel (460), which may be a hardware/software link to a storage device which would store the encoded video data (Zhao: paragraph [0076]). The transmitter (440) may merge coded video data from the video coder (403) with other data to be transmitted, for example, coded audio data and/or ancillary data streams (sources not shown) (Zhao: paragraph [0076]). Accordingly, claim 11 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 10 above.
Contact
/CHRISTOPHER G FINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482