DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogahara (US 5,958,265).
Regarding claim 1:
Ogahara teaches a placing table (substrate holder) comprising a first surface (brim part, 21) located at an outer side than a substrate (10) [fig 1 & col 7, lines 10-24 and col 8, lines 4-19]; and a second surface (substrate holding surface 20) on which the substrate (10) is placed, wherein a first path is (51) formed to correspond to the first surface (brim part, 21) [fig 1 & col 7, lines 10-24 and col 7-8, lines 61-19].
Regarding claim 7:
Ogahara teaches a ring member (characteristic correction ring, 9) is placed on the first surface (brim part, 21) to surround the substrate (10) [fig 1 & col 7, lines 10-24 and col 8, lines 4-19].
Regarding claim 8:
Ogahara teaches the first surface (brim part, 21) is an outer top surface of an electrostatic chuck (2), configured to attract the ring member (electrostatically attracted to the brim part, 21) [fig 1 & col 7, lines 10-24 and col 8, lines 4-19].
Regarding claim 9:
Ogahara teaches the second surface (substrate holding surface 20) is an inner top surface of the electrostatic chuck (2), configured to attract the substrate (10) [fig 1 & col 7, lines 10-24].
Regarding claim 10:
Ogahara teaches the electrostatic chuck (2) comprises a first heater (electrode, 92) which is disposed between the first surface (21) and the first path (51) and configured to control a temperature of the ring member (9) [fig 1 & col 8, lines 4-10].
Regarding claim 11:
Ogahara teaches the electrostatic chuck (2) comprises a second heater (electrode, 61) which is disposed in parallel with the second surface (21) and configured to control a temperature of the substrate (10) [fig 1 & col 8, lines 4-10].
Regarding claim 12:
Ogahara teaches the first path (5) is formed at an outer side than an edge of the substrate (see fig 1) [fig 1 & col 7, lines 10-24].
Regarding claim 13:
Ogahara teaches a substrate processing apparatus (plasma processing system) comprising a chamber (process chamber) configured to perform a plasma processing or a heat treatment therein (forms plasma to perform a desired process on a substrate) [col 6, lines 4-20]; and a placing table (substrate holder) configured to place a substrate (10) on an electrostatic chuck (2) within the chamber (process chamber) [fig 1 & col 6, lines 4-20 and col 7, lines 10-24], wherein the placing table (substrate holder) comprises: a first surface (brim part, 21) located at an outer side than a substrate (10) [fig 1 & col 7, lines 10-24 and col 8, lines 4-19]; and a second surface (substrate holding surface 20) on which the substrate (10) is placed, wherein a first path is (51) formed to correspond to the first surface (brim part, 21) [fig 1 & col 7, lines 10-24 and col 7-8, lines 61-19].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogahara (US 5,958,265) as applied to claims 1 and 7-13 above, and further in view of Yamamoto et al (US 2014/0209245).
The limitations of claims 1 and 7-13 have been set forth above.
Regarding claims 2-4:
Ogahara does not specifically disclose when a vertical distance between the first surface and the first path is h and a horizontal distance from a boundary between the first surface and the second surface to the first path is d, d is larger than h (d>h); wherein a second path is formed to correspond to the second surface, and when a width of the second path in a horizontal direction is w1 and a width of the first path in the horizontal direction is w2, w1 is larger than w2 (w1>w2); and wherein when a horizontal distance from the first path to the second path is d', d' is larger than d (d'>d).
Yamamoto teaches when a vertical distance between the first surface (7d) and the first path (2f) is h and a horizontal distance from a boundary between the first surface and the second surface (13a) to the first path (2f) is d, d is larger than h (d>h) (see fig 3) [fig 3 & 0066]; wherein a second path (2e) is formed to correspond to the second surface (6d), and when a width of the second path (2e) in a horizontal direction is w1 and a width of the first path (2f) in the horizontal direction is w2, w1 is larger than w2 (w1>w2) (see fig 3) [fig 3 & 0066]; and wherein when a horizontal distance from the first path (2f) to the second path (2e) is d', d' is larger than d (d'>d) (see fig 3) [fig 3 & 0066].
Ogahara and Yamamoto are analogous inventions in the field of plasma processing apparatuses. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the placing table of Ogahara with first and second paths arranged as claimed, as in Yamamoto, to allow for independent control of the temperature of the substrate and the ring member thereby allowing for the generation of a uniform sheath field [Yamamoto – 0014].
Regarding claims 14-15:
Ogahara does not specifically disclose when a vertical distance between the first surface and the first path is h and a horizontal distance from a boundary between the first surface and the second surface to the first path is d, d is larger than h (d>h); and a chiller unit, wherein a second path is formed to correspond to the second surface, and the chiller unit is configured to supply a heat exchange medium into the first path and the second path.
Yamamoto teaches when a vertical distance between the first surface (7d) and the first path (2f) is h and a horizontal distance from a boundary between the first surface and the second surface (13a) to the first path (2f) is d, d is larger than h (d>h) (see fig 3) [fig 3 & 0066]; and a chiller unit (cooling unit), wherein a second path (2e) is formed to correspond to the second surface (6d), and the chiller unit (cooling unit) is configured to supply a heat exchange medium (coolants) into the first path (2f) and the second path (2e) [fig 3 & 0059].
Ogahara and Yamamoto are analogous inventions in the field of plasma processing apparatuses. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the placing table of Ogahara with first and second paths arranged as claimed, as in Yamamoto, to allow for independent control of the temperature of the substrate and the ring member thereby allowing for the generation of a uniform sheath field [Yamamoto – 0014].
Claims 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogahara (US 5,958,265) in view of Yamamoto et al (US 2014/0209245) as applied to claims 2-4 and 14-15 above, and further in view of Iwasaki (US 2006/0219360).
The limitations of claims 2-4 and 14-15 have been set forth above.
Regarding claim 5:
Modified Ogahara does not specifically teach the first path and the second path are connected to a chiller unit, which is allowed to supply a heat exchange medium into the first path and the second path, in parallel.
Iwasaki teaches the first path (24) and the second path (22) are connected to a chiller unit (chiller unit, 14), which is allowed to supply a heat exchange medium into the first path (24) and the second path (22), in parallel (connected in parallel) [fig 4 & 0077].
Modified Ogahara and Iwasaki are analogous inventions in the field of plasma processing apparatuses. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first and second paths of modified Ogahara to be connected in parallel, as in Iwasaki, to obtain a desired temperature distribution wherein the temperature of the central region is comparatively higher than that of the peripheral region [Iwasaki – 0079].
Regarding claim 6:
Modified Ogahara does not specifically teach the first path and the second path are connected to a chiller unit, which is allowed to supply a heat exchange medium into the first path and the second path, in series.
Iwasaki teaches the first path (24) and the second path (22) are connected to a chiller unit (chiller unit, 14), which is allowed to supply a heat exchange medium into the first path (24) and the second path (22), in series (connected in series) [fig 6 & 0080].
Modified Ogahara and Iwasaki are analogous inventions in the field of plasma processing apparatuses. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first and second paths of modified Ogahara to be connected in series, as in Iwasaki, to obtain a desired uniform temperature distribution [Iwasaki – 0082].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Choi (US 2006/0118243), Maeda et al (US 2010/0326957), and Kitagawa (US 2015/0373783) teach a first and second path [fig 3, 2, and 4, respectively].
This is a CON of applicant's earlier Application No. 16/987,674. All claims are identical to the claims filed 08/07/2020 and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application (see Non-Final Rejection dated 02/16/2022). Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benjamin Kendall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896