DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 recite the limitation "the function" in lines 10, 12, and 12, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
All claims that are not specifically addressed are rejected due to a dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 12-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohanek et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2013/0249677) and Williams et al. (U.S. Patent 6,469,634).
Regarding Claims 1, 8, and 15, Kohanek discloses a method (as well as a system comprising a memory [Figure 2, item 205] and at least one processor [Figure 2, item 200] coupled to the memory and configured to perform operations for determining functionality and capabilities of a device in a media system [paragraph 0023] as required by Claim 8; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium [paragraph 0023] having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations for determining functionality and capabilities of a device in a media system as required by Claim 15) of automatically determining functionality and capabilities of a device in a media system comprising:
sending, by a media device (Figure 1, item 100), a first operational command to a target device (Figure 1, item 104, paragraphs 0024 and 0036);
determining at least one of a match between information received from the target device in response to the operational command and valid response information, or a mismatch in response to the operational command and the valid response information (paragraphs 0036-0037 and 0040; i.e., determining that the response received from the target device [e.g., STB 104] is a valid response, or alternatively determining that no response is received [the “mismatch in response to the operational command and the valid response information”]), wherein:
when the match between the information received from the target device in response to the operational command and the valid response information is determined, a second operational command is sent to the target device that causes the target device to perform the function (paragraph 0041; i.e., communications [the “second operational command”] with the target device 104 can continue after the media device 100 is successfully paired with the target device 104), or
when the mismatch in response to the operational command and the valid response information is determined, each operational command of a plurality of operational commands is incrementally sent to the target device (paragraphs 0036 and 0040; i.e., different device codes or RF protocols can be attempted in order to pair the media device 100 with the target device 104 if the initial attempt is unsuccessful) until:
a mismatch between additional information received from the target device in response to each operational command of the plurality of operational commands and the valid response information is determined (paragraph 0036; i.e., if no valid codes can be found to pair the controlling device 100 and target device 104, the process is terminated), or
a match between additional information received from the target device in response to at least one operational command of the plurality of operational commands and the valid response information is determined (paragraphs 0036-0037 and 0040; i.e., if a successful code or RF protocol is found, a match is determined and the controlling device 100 and target device 104 can subsequently communicate with each other).
Kohanek does not expressly disclose determining a mismatch between the information received from the target device in response to the operational command and the valid response information (Kohanek instead appears to only determine a mismatch if no response is received from the target device 104); and
determining a mismatch between additional information received from the target device.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., remote control techniques), Williams teaches determining a mismatch between the information received from the target device (Figure 1, item 130) in response to the operational command and the valid response information (Column 8, lines 1-12); and
determining a mismatch between additional information received from the target device (Figure 3, items 310-320, Column 8, lines 22-37; i.e., if the initial command is unsuccessful [e.g., by receiving an invalid/unexpected response], the hardware system 110 attempts another code command to transmit to the target device 130 in a continuous loop 310-320).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Williams’ teachings of remote control techniques with the teachings of Kohanek, for the purpose of making the decision as to whether the command that was sent to the target device was correct faster. More specifically, by analyzing the feedback response from the target device, the controlling device would be able to immediately identify whether it had sent a valid command rather than waiting to not receive the feedback response.
Regarding Claims 2, 9, and 16, Kohanek discloses wherein the sending the first operational command to the target device comprises sending the first operational command via at least one of a wired interface between the media device and the target device or a wireless interface between the media device and the target device (paragraph 0022; i.e., IR or RF wireless communications).
Regarding Claims 5, 12, and 19, Kohanek discloses wherein the second operational command is sent to the target device via at least one of a wired interface between the media device and the target device or a wireless interface between the media device and the target device (paragraph 0022; i.e., IR or RF wireless communications).
Regarding Claims 6 and 13, Kohanek discloses wherein the second operational command is sent to the target device via an infrared signal from a remote control device associated with the media device (paragraphs 0022 and 0036).
Regarding Claims 7, 14, and 20, Kohanek discloses wherein the function comprises at least one of: displaying content, transitioning from first state to a second state, or adjusting a volume level of the target device (paragraph 0021; i.e., displaying content on a television).
Claims 3, 4, 10, 11, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohanek and Williams as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Arling et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2014/0222862).
Regarding Claims 3, 10, and 17, Kohanek and Williams do not expressly disclose wherein at least one of the first operational command or the second operational command comprises a Consumer Electronics Control (CEC) command.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., remote control techniques), Arling teaches wherein at least one of the first operational command or the second operational command comprises a Consumer Electronics Control (CEC) command (paragraph 0018).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Arling’s teachings of remote control techniques with the teachings of Kohanek and Williams, for the purpose of rapidly and conveniently configuring the control device to communicate with the target device (i.e., by using CEC command procedures in place of codes).
Regarding Claims 4, 11, and 18, Arling teaches wherein at least one of the first operational command or each operational command of the plurality of operational commands comprise an Extended Display Identification Data (EDID) command (paragraph 0018).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because each reference discloses a method for automatic determination of display device functionality.
/FAISAL M ZAMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175