DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asnaashari et al. (US 9,697,874 “Asnaashari”) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2016/0247548 “Yamazaki”).
Regarding claim 1, Asnaashari discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a COMS logic circuit (210; fig. 2); and
a memory device (200; fig. 2) over the COMS logic circuit,
wherein the COMS logic circuit comprises a CPU (CPU; fig. 2) and a bus (260; fig. 2),
wherein the memory device comprises a memory cell (220-250; fig. 2),
wherein the memory cell comprises a first transistor, a second transistor, a third transistor (fig. 3-6), and
wherein data communication between the memory device and the CPU is performed through the bus (column/line(s): 12/36-56).
Asnaashari does not expressly disclose a capacitor, and wherein the first transistor, the second transistor, and the third transistor each comprise a channel formation region including a metal oxide.
Yamazaki discloses a capacitor (any capacitor of memory cell; fig. 1-3, 6-17), and wherein the first transistor, the second transistor, and the third transistor each comprise a channel formation region (432 [0195]) including a metal oxide (first M0 to third Mn transistors may comprise metal oxide 432; fig. 1-3, 6-17 [0192-0195]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Asnaashari is modifiable as taught by Yamazaki for the purpose of allowing a large amount of current flow to increase an on-state of a transistor, suitable for achieving high density circuits such as large-scale integration [0208+ of Yamazaki].
Regarding claim 2, Asnaashari discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the memory device is in a plurality of memory devices, and wherein the plurality of memory devices overlap with the COMS logic circuit (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Asnaashari discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the COMS logic circuit further comprises a first peripheral circuit and a second peripheral circuit (fig. 2).
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asnaashari et al. (US 9,697,874 “Asnaashari”) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2016/0247548 “Yamazaki”), and further in view of Ohmaru et al. (US 2014/0204645 “Ohmaru”).
Regarding claim 4, Asnaashari discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a COMS logic circuit (210; fig. 2); and
a memory device (200; fig. 2) over the COMS logic circuit,
wherein the COMS logic circuit comprises a CPU (CPU; fig. 2) and a bus (260; fig. 2),
wherein the memory device comprises a memory cell (220-250; fig. 2),
wherein the memory cell comprises a retention node, a first transistor, a second transistor, a third transistor (fig. 3-6),
and wherein data communication between the memory device and the CPU is performed through the bus (column/line(s): 12/36-56).
Asnaashari does not expressly disclose wherein the memory device comprises a first wiring, a second wiring, a third wiring, a fourth wiring, a fifth wiring, and a memory cell, and a capacitor,
wherein the first transistor, the second transistor, and the third transistor each comprise a channel formation region including a metal oxide,
wherein a gate of the first transistor is electrically connected to the first wiring,
wherein one of a source and a drain of the first transistor is electrically connected to the third wiring,
wherein the other of the source and the drain of the first transistor is electrically connected to the retention node,
wherein a gate of the second transistor is electrically connected to the retention node,
wherein a gate of the third transistor is electrically connected to the second wiring,
wherein the second transistor and the third transistor are electrically connected in series between the fourth wiring and the fifth wiring,
wherein a first terminal of the capacitor is electrically connected to the retention node,
wherein a second terminal of the capacitor is electrically connected to the fourth wiring.
Ohmaru discloses wherein the memory device comprises a first wiring, a second wiring, a third wiring, a fourth wiring, a fifth wiring, and a memory cell, and a capacitor (fig. 4),
wherein the first transistor (109; fig. 4), the second transistor (110; fig. 4), each comprise a channel formation region [0163],
wherein a gate of the first transistor (109) is electrically connected to the first wiring (wire for BK input; fig. 4),
wherein one of a source and a drain of the first transistor (109) is electrically connected to the third wiring (wire for storage circuit 320_(m+1) input; fig. 4),
wherein the other of the source and the drain of the first transistor (109) is electrically connected to the retention node (M2; fig. 4),
wherein a gate of the second transistor (110) is electrically connected to the retention node (M2),
wherein a gate of the third transistor (113; fig. 4) is electrically connected to the second wiring (wire for PR input; fig. 4),
the second transistor (110) and the third transistor (113) are electrically connected in series between the fourth wiring (wire for V1 input; fig. 4) and the fifth wiring (M1 wiring; fig. 4),
wherein a first terminal of the capacitor (108; fig. 4) is electrically connected to the retention node (M2),
wherein a second terminal of the capacitor (108) is electrically connected to the fourth wiring (wire for V1 input).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Asnaashari is further modifiable as taught by Ohmaru for the purpose of facilitating data accessing schemes by preventing delays of signals [0019 oh Ohmaru], to benefit, predictably, the commonly understood advantage of having a more efficient and robust operating memory device.
Yamazaki discloses wherein the memory device comprises a first wiring, a second wiring, a third wiring, a fourth wiring, a fifth wiring, and a memory cell, and a capacitor (fig. 1-3, 6-17),
wherein the first transistor, the second transistor, and the third transistor (any of transistors M0-Mn) each comprise a channel formation region (432 [0195]) including a metal oxide (M0 to Mn transistors may comprise metal oxide 432; fig. 1-3, 6-17 [0192-0195]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Asnaashari is further modifiable as taught by Yamazaki for the purpose of allowing a large amount of current flow to increase an on-state of a transistor, suitable for achieving high density circuits such as large-scale integration [0208+ of Yamazaki].
Regarding claim 5, Asnaashari discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 4, wherein the memory device is in a plurality of memory devices, and wherein the plurality of memory devices overlap with the COMS logic circuit (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Asnaashari discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 4, wherein the COMS logic circuit further comprises a first peripheral circuit and a second peripheral circuit (fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 7-9 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed invention having the following limitation, in combination with the remaining claimed limitations.
With respect to independent claim 7 (and all dependent claim(s) therefrom), the prior art fails to teach or suggest the claimed limitations, namely wherein a back gate of the first transistor is electrically connected to the sixth wiring, wherein a gate of the second transistor is electrically connected to the retention node, wherein a back gate of the second transistor is electrically connected to the seventh wiring, wherein a gate of the third transistor is electrically connected to the second wiring, wherein a back gate of the third transistor is electrically connected to the eighth wiring.
The allowable claims are supported in at least fig. 1B of the instant application.
Conclusion
/UYEN SMET/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824