Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 20 February 2026 was previously acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the aforementioned reply.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2006/0032586 to Choi et al.
Regarding claim 1: Choi et al. disclose an apparatus capable of manufacturing a display device, the apparatus comprising: a chamber (102); a susceptor (138) positioned inside the chamber and configured to support (i.e. capable of supporting) a display substrate; and a spray portion (118) positioned to spray (i.e. capable of spraying) a deposition material toward the susceptor, the susceptor having a surface roughness of about 19 µm (~748 microinch) to about 23 µm (~905 microinch) (see, e.g., paras. 50-60, esp. para. 53).
With respect to claim 3, the susceptor comprises a first metal layer (202, see, e.g., paras. 50-60) and a first metal oxide layer (210, see, e.g., paras. 50-60) disposed in the first metal layer.
With respect to claim 4, the first metal layer comprises aluminum (see, e.g., paras. paras. 50-60).
With respect to claim 5, the first metal oxide layer comprises a same metal element as that of the first metal layer (e.g., aluminum).
With respect to claim 6, an oxygen content of the first metal oxide layer is higher than an oxygen content of the first metal layer (i.e. aluminum oxide will have a higher oxygen content than aluminum) (see, paras. 50-60).
With respect to claim 7, the first metal oxide layer comprises an oxide aluminum (see, paras. 50-60).
With respect to claim 8, the first metal layer comprises aluminum and the first metal oxide layer comprises aluminum oxide (see, e.g., paras. 50-60).
With respect to claim 9, a thickness of the first metal oxide layer is about 7
µ
m (i.e. ~276 microinches) to about 10 µm (~396 microinches) (see, e.g., para. 60).
With respect to claim 10, the first metal layer and the first metal oxide layer from a single body, see, Figs. 1-4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. as applied to claims 1 and 3-10 above and further in view above of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2005/0253285 to Kuibuira et al.
Choi et al. disclose the apparatus substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, Choi et al. fails to explicitly disclose the susceptor has a flatness of about 200 µm to about 500 µm.
Kuibira et al. disclose providing a susceptor having a flatness of about 200 µm (~0.2 mm) to about 500 µm (~0.5 mm) for the purpose of preventing gaps between a substrate/workpiece and the susceptor that prevent uniform transfer of heat and lead to variations in temperature in the substrate/workpiece (see, e.g., para. 72). Examiner also notes that the courts have ruled where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Choi et al. the susceptor having a flatness of about 200 µm (~0.2 mm) to about 500 µm (~0.5 mm) in order to prevent gaps between the substrate/workpiece and the susceptor that prevent uniform transfer of heat and lead to variations in temperature in the substrate/workpiece as taught by Kuibira et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that the prior art does not teach the claimed range with the required specificity and that criticality has been provided as evidence of the same.
First, Examiner notes that Applicant appears to be using the procedure for evaluating claimed ranges that overlap or touch prior art ranges and a rejection has been made based on obviousness. In the instant case, the relied upon prior art range encompasses the claimed range and thus the claimed range is anticipated thereby and Applicant’s arguments regarding lack of obviousness and presences of “criticality” are unpersuasive.
Additionally, turning to the facts of the case with respect to criticality, even though not applicable to the anticipate rejection of claim 1, Examiner notes that Applicant’s arguments and evidence are directed to a method of using the claimed apparatus to perform a method to produce a product, wherein the method and product are not features of the claimed invention, which is an apparatus. Therefore, in the instant case the potential evidence is considered to be most relevant to how the apparatus is intended to be used, rather than actual inherent features the apparatus. Note: the apparatus is not limited to use with a particular method of use or product made therein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2008/0217291 discloses optimizing the surface characteristics of a susceptor.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716