DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/29/2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 recites a phrase “, in the inductance of the coil;,” in the last paragraph. Examiner suggests amending the phrase to recite “in the inductance of the coil,” to restore clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kreit et al. (US 20090160789; hereinafter Kreit).
Regarding claim 1, Kreit discloses in figure(s) 1-9 a user interface device for a product inside a housing, said interface device comprising
an inductor coil (4; fig. 4) inside the housing (5),
an actuator (8,9; fig. 6) outside the housing,
an interfering member (3/1; figs. 1-2, 6), outside the housing, which is movable relative to the coil by application of a user force on the actuator (fig. 6), whereby said movement of the interfering member produces a change in the inductance of the coil (dL/dx; fig. 3), and
a sensor arrangement (µC; fig. 5) inside the housing which senses the inductance of the coil and which, in response to a predetermined change (para. 40 - inductance value is compared to another inductor so that a change in inductance ratio is measured) in the inductance, produces an output signal (electrical output; fig. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Kreit discloses in figure(s) 1-9 the user interface device of claim 1 wherein the actuator comprises or is included in a switch module (para. 64 - detector can be arranged as a combined detector and switch when the deformation also causes electrical contacts to open or close.).
Regarding claim 3, Kreit discloses in figure(s) 1-9 the user interface device of claim 2 wherein the switch module includes a switch and said output signal is produced upon closure of the switch by said application of the user force (para. 64 - switch when the deformation also causes electrical contacts to open or close. Such contacts can be combined with the detector's laminar winding and may, for example, signal maximum deflection).
Regarding claim 4, Kreit discloses in figure(s) 1-9 the user interface device of claim 1 wherein the actuator is a knob, button (1; fig. 1), or other user actuable component.
Regarding claim 5, Kreit discloses in figure(s) 1-9 the user interface device of claim 1 wherein said sensor arrangement detects said application of the user force which changes said inductance of the coil (para. 44 - user applies force along the circle. The deformation may extend over several detectors. Comparison of the readings from each of the detectors can be used to calculate the position of the applied force) before production of said output signal.
Regarding claim 8, Kreit discloses in figure(s) 1-9 the user interface device of claim 2 wherein the switch module includes a switch and a winding (para. 49 - target 3 an AC energized winding) with a first end and a second end and wherein upon closure of the switch due to application of said user force, said first end is connected to said second end (para. 64 - deformation also causes electrical contacts to open or close. Such contacts can be combined with the detector's laminar winding and may, for example, signal maximum deflection) and, due to electromagnetic coupling between the winding, the coil and the interfering member, the inductance of the coil is varied (para. 49 - changes in mutual inductance or self inductance relative to deformation).
Regarding claim 10, Kreit discloses in figure(s) 1-9 the user interface device of claim 1 wherein the product is sealed inside the housing (para. 36 - PCB substrate 5 carries the inductor 4 tracks and acts as a mechanical barrier to prevent large, plastic deformation or damage. This barrier may be strengthened by using thick, sturdy PCB 5, additional mechanical restraints or back filling with epoxy, expanded foam etc. Such constructions are advantageous in instances where the detector must withstand impact).
Regarding claim 11, Kreit discloses in figure(s) 1-9 a method of implementing a user interface for a product which is inside a housing, the method including the steps of
locating an inductor coil (4; fig. 4) inside the housing (5),
causing an interfering member (3/1; figs. 1-2, 6), outside the housing, to move relative to the coil by application of a user force to an actuator (fig. 6) outside the housing thereby to produce a change in the inductance of the coil (dL/dx; fig. 3),
monitoring (@µC; fig. 5) the inductance of the coil (fig. 3), and
in response to a predetermined change (para. 40 - inductance value is compared to another inductor so that a change in inductance ratio is measured), in the inductance of the coil;, of producing an output signal inside the housing (electrical output; fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, Kreit discloses in figure(s) 1-9 the method of claim 10 which includes the step of monitoring the inductance of the coil thereby to detect said application of the user force on the actuator (para. 44 - user applies force along the circle. The deformation may extend over several detectors. Comparison of the readings from each of the detectors can be used to calculate the position of the applied force) prior to the production of said output signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreit in view of Eisenbeis et al. (US 20160305795).
Regarding claim 6, Kreit teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the user interface device of claim 1
Kreit does not teach explicitly wherein the switch module comprises a knob and a magnet which is movable by movement of the knob, and wherein said sensor arrangement includes, inside the housing, a Hall effect sensor which detects orientation of the magnet relative to the housing.
However, Eisenbeis teaches in figure(s) 1-6 wherein the switch module comprises a knob and a magnet which is movable by movement of the knob (para. 7 - a knob attached to a multipole ring magnet, the knob rotates the multipole ring magnet above a stationary surface), and wherein said sensor arrangement includes, inside the housing, a Hall effect sensor which detects orientation of the magnet relative to the housing (paras. 7-8 - magnetic field sensor is configured to detect a magnetic field generated during the rotation of the polarity sectors of the multipole ring magnet …plurality stationary magnets configured to interact with the polarity sectors of the multipole ring magnet to generate tactile feedback in the knob rotation … plurality of magnetic field sensors are Hall effect sensors; fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kreit by having wherein the switch module comprises a knob and a magnet which is movable by movement of the knob, and wherein said sensor arrangement includes, inside the housing, a Hall effect sensor which detects orientation of the magnet relative to the housing as taught by Eisenbeis in order to provide "A rotary encoder and rotary encoder system that provides rotation detection and generates tactile feedback using a single magnetic mechanism and without relying on mechanical detects. The rotary encoder utilizes a ring magnet attached to a knob, two Hall Effect sensors that detect movement information for the processor, and magnets that are mounted to the surface of the platform" (abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Kreit teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the method of claim 10
Kreit does not teach explicitly which includes the steps of using a Hall effect sensor to detect orientation of a magnet which is outside the housing, which is attached to the actuator and which is movable by the actuator, and of producing, inside the housing, a signal which is dependent on the orientation of the magnet.
However, Eisenbeis teaches in figure(s) 1-6 which includes the steps of using a Hall effect sensor to detect orientation of a magnet which is outside the housing (para. 7 - a knob attached to a multipole ring magnet, the knob rotates the multipole ring magnet above a stationary surface), which is attached to the actuator and which is movable by the actuator, and of producing, inside the housing, a signal which is dependent on the orientation of the magnet (paras. 7-8 - magnetic field sensor is configured to detect a magnetic field generated during the rotation of the polarity sectors of the multipole ring magnet …plurality stationary magnets configured to interact with the polarity sectors of the multipole ring magnet to generate tactile feedback in the knob rotation … plurality of magnetic field sensors are Hall effect sensors; fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kreit by having which includes the steps of using a Hall effect sensor to detect orientation of a magnet which is outside the housing, which is attached to the actuator and which is movable by the actuator, and of producing, inside the housing, a signal which is dependent on the orientation of the magnet as taught by Eisenbeis in order to provide "A rotary encoder and rotary encoder system that provides rotation detection and generates tactile feedback using a single magnetic mechanism and without relying on mechanical detects. The rotary encoder utilizes a ring magnet attached to a knob, two Hall Effect sensors that detect movement information for the processor, and magnets that are mounted to the surface of the platform" (abstract).
Claim(s) 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreit in view of Messerly et al. (US 20190205001).
Regarding claim 7, Kreit teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the user interface device of claim 1
Kreit does not teach explicitly wherein the interfering member comprises at least two parts which are connected to each other upon said application of the user force, such that the effect of eddy currents in the interfering member is increased.
However, Messerly teaches in figure(s) 1-68 wherein the interfering member comprises at least two parts which are connected to each other upon said application of the user force (para. 410 - force-to-close (FTC) applied by the end- effector 6234 increases from 0 N to a peak force-to-close of ˜180 N after ˜1 Sec), such that the effect of eddy currents in the interfering member is increased (para. 376 - eddy currents 6100 induced in the target 6098 oppose the electromagnetic field 6096 and the reluctance shifts and the amplitude of the oscillator voltage 6102 drops; figs. 34,41).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kreit by having wherein the interfering member comprises at least two parts which are connected to each other upon said application of the user force, such that the effect of eddy currents in the interfering member is increased as taught by Messerly in order to provide "interactive control unit includes an interactive touchscreen display, an interface configured to couple the control unit to a surgical hub to control devices coupled to the surgical hub located outside the sterile field." (abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Kreit teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the method of claim 10
Kreit does not teach explicitly wherein the interfering member includes a first part and a second part and wherein the method includes the step of connecting the first part to the second part thereby to increase the effect of eddy currents in the interfering member as it is moved relative to the inductor coil.
However, Messerly teaches in figure(s) 1-68 wherein the interfering member includes a first part and a second part and wherein the method includes the step of connecting the first part to the second part thereby to increase the effect of eddy currents in the interfering member as it is moved relative to the inductor coil (para. 376 - eddy currents 6100 induced in the target 6098 oppose the electromagnetic field 6096 and the reluctance shifts and the amplitude of the oscillator voltage 6102 drops; figs. 34,41).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kreit by having wherein the interfering member includes a first part and a second part and wherein the method includes the step of connecting the first part to the second part thereby to increase the effect of eddy currents in the interfering member as it is moved relative to the inductor coil as taught by Messerly in order to provide "interactive control unit includes an interactive touchscreen display, an interface configured to couple the control unit to a surgical hub to control devices coupled to the surgical hub located outside the sterile field." (abstract).
Claim(s) 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreit in view of Crowley et al. (US 20210397140).
Regarding claim 9, Kreit teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the user interface device of claim 2
Kreit does not teach explicitly wherein the switch module is moulded using a compressive compound into a single sealed unit to provide a seal against the ingress of liquids.
However, Crowley teaches in figure(s) 1-11 wherein the switch module is moulded (para. 94 - electronic device 1100 may determine that the external pressure-sensing device has been exposed to moisture and switch to using pressure signals from the internal pressure-sensing device while the external pressure-sensing device dries; fig. 1) using a compressive compound into a single sealed unit to provide a seal against the ingress of liquids (para. 47 - seal 105 can include an air-permeable compressible material that inhibits water ingress; fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kreit by having using a compressive compound into a single sealed unit to provide a seal against the ingress of liquids as taught by Crowley in order to provide "A seal can be positioned between the housing and the front cover and configured to transition between an uncompressed state and a compressed state in response to an increase from a first external pressure on the front cover to a second external pressure" (abstract).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 11204661) discloses "Method Of Generating Operation Signal Of Electronic Device, And Electronic Device".
Reitsma et al. (US 20150211895) discloses "Inductive position sensing uses inductance multiplication with series connected sensor coils".
Bernstein et al. (US 20110141052) discloses "Electronic devices may use touch pads that have touch sensor arrays, force sensors, and actuators for providing tactile feedback.".
Conclusion
/AKM ZAKARIA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858